Brewster McCloud Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 20, 2013
A wacko funny pic.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
July 30, 2012
I can't say that I regret watching Brewster McCloud, but I also can't say that I'd sit through it again.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
August 24, 2010
There is something delightful in the absurdity and chaos of the movie that kept my interest even as I struggled to pinpoint exactly what it was that I was watching.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 23, 2010
The film is so odd and freewheeling that it probably should have become a cult classic, if not for the fact that it has been so hard to find on video.
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
July 14, 2010
Anyone who cherishes Robert Altman's work definitely needs to see this defiantly kooky comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Variety Staff
June 9, 2008
A sardonic fairy tale for the times, extremely well cast and directed.
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
Altman's unexpected follow-up to MASH is pitched fairly successfully between escapist fantasy and satirical comment on the same.
Top Critic
Vincent Canby
New York Times
May 9, 2005
It's imitation hip.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 23, 2004
We get the sense of a live intelligence, rushing things ahead on the screen, not worrying whether we'll understand.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
December 12, 2003
Altman's best movie. No s---.
| Original Score: 5/5

May 24, 2003
30 years on, the swipes at materialism seem mild, and the narrative -- if it can be called that -- introduces ideas and actions which go unexplained.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 5, 2002
Weird, weirdly poetic early Altman
| Original Score: 4/5
Shane Burridge
August 15, 2001
Altman's running joke through this movie is that it is a birdwatching film
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
January 1, 2000
One of Robert Altman's most charming exercises in cabaret humor and off-the-cuff modernism.
Emanuel Levy
December 18, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
October 30, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
November 14, 2003
| Original Score: 5/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
October 21, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 7, 2011
Page 1 of 1