Bulgarian Lovers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bulgarian Lovers Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ January 7, 2008
Cute, but could have easily stood out had the writing not taken such a formulaic route. Excellent directing.
½ April 8, 2007
Para los que sabemos el precio de la compañía cuando nos sentimos criticamente solos esta película nos parece muy familiar. Forma parte de mi coleccion personal. Además que el bulgaro está como quiere!
July 29, 2011
A blend of comedy, thriller, and love story. The love story is what I liked best since Dritan Biba (Kyrl) is gorgeous and Fernando Guillen Cuervo (Daniel) is well cast as the empathetic older man. It's believable that Biba is bisexual given his roots and that Cuervo is seeking younger men from Bulgaria as a challenge.

The comedy is provided by Biba's overweight friends especially Gildo (well played by Pepon Nieto). When Kyrl says that there's 3 people he's loved. Nieto whispers "These 3 people took care of him." Another funny line is when Cuervo confesses "I'd give my life to you" and Biba replies, matter of factly, "I'd also give YOUR life to ME." Some of the humor is too forced though. The director Eloy de la Iglesia has some weird shots which are distracting to the drama so the comedy and drama don't really mesh.

The movie ends like a thriller but the plot is convoluted. What I really liked about the movie was showing Bulgarians (immigrants) trying to make Madrid their new home. The wedding sequence was very entertaining. The movie ends well, depending on your perspective, with an "All About Eve" finale.
April 1, 2011
mixed reviews. curious.
½ December 9, 2009
Like a poor version of Almodovar, but watchable.
½ September 6, 2009
Si no fuera por algunas escenas sería un fiasco! pero resulta interesante y algo divertida, igual no la recomiendo!
½ January 26, 2009
la soledad, el deseo nos pueden llevar a hacer cosas insospechadas y que decimos hacerlas en nombre del amor
December 16, 2008
Mala, malísima. Recurro a la explicación de Bryan Ferrera sobre las causas por las que visioné esta peli: Nice amounts of male nudity throughout the film (for those of you who watch movies for that sort of stuff)...

Ciertamente, Dritan Biba está bastante bien. Una pena que no le acompañe nada.
½ September 20, 2008
The leads were fairly good, though the story is very predictable. Nice amounts of male nudity throughout the film (for those of you who watch movies for that sort of stuff)...
½ January 7, 2008
Cute, but could have easily stood out had the writing not taken such a formulaic route. Excellent directing.
December 15, 2007
Pretty boring. Had a potential storyline with good aspects to it, but it all needed to be told in a much more entertaining way for what it is.
September 23, 2007
young good-looking foreigners in a west-european country, sounds familiar?
½ April 8, 2007
Para los que sabemos el precio de la compañía cuando nos sentimos criticamente solos esta película nos parece muy familiar. Forma parte de mi coleccion personal. Además que el bulgaro está como quiere!
December 9, 2006
Yeah, i'd like to see this, i think!
June 18, 2006
[b]Review coming soon...[/b]
:rotten: [size=4]4.50/10[/size]
Page 1 of 1