Opening

45% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
50% The Quiet Ones Apr 25
91% Locke Apr 25
81% The Machine Apr 25

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $26.6M
47% Rio 2 $22.5M
52% Heaven Is for Real $21.5M
20% Transcendence $11.2M
7% A Haunted House 2 $9.1M
62% Draft Day $5.9M
41% Divergent $5.8M
71% Oculus $5.2M
77% Noah $5.0M
13% God's Not Dead $4.8M

Coming Soon

71% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
—— Walk Of Shame May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16
—— X-Men: Days of Future Past May 23

Premieres Tonight

—— The Boondocks: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— 2 Broke Girls: Season 3
100% Archer: Season 5
86% Bates Motel: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
83% Bones: Season 9
83% Castle: Season 6
47% The Following: Season 2
10% Friends With Better Lives: Season 1
—— Metal Hurlant Chronicles: Season 1
—— Mike & Molly: Season 4
59% Star-Crossed: Season 1
45% The Tomorrow People: Season 1
—— Warehouse 13: Season 5

Discuss Last Night's Shows

38% Believe: Season 1
71% The Bletchley Circle: Season 2
—— Californication: Season 7
83% Call the Midwife: Season 3
61% Crisis: Season 1
—— Devious Maids: Season 2
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% The Good Wife: Season 5
86% Mad Men: Season 7
—— The Mentalist: Season 6
—— Mr. Selfridge: Season 2
—— Nurse Jackie: Season 6
71% Once Upon a Time: Season 3
50% Salem: Season 1
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1
48% Turn: Season 1
100% Veep: Season 3

Come Early Morning Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

July 21, 2012
"Come Early Morning" starts with Lucy(Ashley Judd), a building contractor, taking the walk of shame but not so much that she insists on paying for the motel room. In talking to Doll(Candyce Hinkle), she finds out her dad(Scott Wilson) is back in town. Seeing a chance at reconciliation, she accompanies him to the new church he is attending. When that old time religion does not stick, Lucy is back to the old grind at the local honky tonk where she gets into a fight with a fellow patron that Cal(Jeffrey Donovan), who is new in town, helps to break up and then takes a liking to her.

Without much of a story to speak of, "Come Early Morning" has to rely on the charms of its rough hewn subjects to engage the audience with the study of a character who is haunted by the past mistakes of her family, leading her to act impulsively, sometimes without the help of alcohol. Wrapping that all up, the movie is perfunctory in its conclusions but thankfully not its resolution. In this case, I would have to say that the country music and the religion add regional flavor instead of acting as stereotypes. Regardless, the movie is helped by a good cast that also includes Diane Ladd, Stacy Keach and Ray McKinnon, of which Ashley Judd fares best in a thoroughly lived in performance.
John B

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2013
Allegedly this is the ultimate art film of the country hillbilly woman. What it reminds us is that some lives are too boring to put on the screen even in the name of art.
Laura C

Super Reviewer

November 2, 2010
This film manages to capture loneliness, pain and despair in a way that felt utterly real. It actually hurt me to watch, but ultimately it was catharctic. A brilliant performance by Judd and gratifiying to see her in role that is worthy of her talent.
Written and directed by Joey Lauren Adams, perhaps it takes women writing and directing the roles they wish to see for women, just completely fleshed-out characters which I know I crave to see.
MagnusMagica
MagnusMagica

Super Reviewer

May 11, 2009
"You got no say over your heart, Lucy. And If you think you do, you'd best not let yours roam too far."
A good, low-key drama written and directed by Joey Lauren Adams.
With some good acting by Ashley Judd, Scott Wilson, Jeffrey Donovan and Laura Prepon.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

April 19, 2007
This is definitely a great treat. An actual film directed by Joey Lauren Adams.

This is definitely something new for fans of Ashley Judd, and it's great seeing her branching out in the selection of movie roles.
poohtiger
poohtiger

Super Reviewer

March 29, 2007
A solid drama with Ashley Judd giving a standout performance. It will remind you of her other film Ruby in Paradise. In this one, she plays Lucy, a woman who drinks too much and sleeps with a lot of different guys. She also has family issues to deal with including her dad who doesn't want to see her. A really good and emotional film with an effective directing debut by actress Joey Lauren Adams. Don't pass on this one.
July 23, 2008
This is an ok movie for a first and only time wtaching type deal. Ashly Judd plays a good role. Her Character you could tell has a real bad self esteem issue and you can see it has a lot to do with her father. Not something I will probably see again but not to terrible.
March 24, 2008
As weird as this seems...I can relate to her character. Not what I expected when I went to watch this one.
October 12, 2007
There's something captivating about Ashley Judd. Her performances are deep, easily engaging you to care about her character. This time Judd plays a Southern woman looking to turn her life around to walk the straight and narrow. It's good.
filagrl28
October 9, 2007
i like ashley judd but didn't care for this film could have been better....at the end i was like is that it lol
June 11, 2007
A great movie about dealing with your past to change your future. Outstanding performance by Ashley Judd, as always.
rattnroll91
May 22, 2007
An hour and a half of Ashley Judd in tight jeans....Wow! I think there was a story and some dialogue in it too, but I can't really remember.
May 27, 2007
This movie was excellent! Ashley Judd played her role perfectly. If you or someone you know has a destructive dating pattern that involves one-night stands, then watch this and learn something from an outside perspective.
April 16, 2007
This is a movie that is difficult to watch just because she keeps making the same mistakes of her past and her father's past. She can't accept happiness in her life and ruins the one man who might actually be good for her. Worth a look.
Cindy C

Super Reviewer

March 31, 2007
great movie; ashley jodd does a fantastic job; a great directorial debut from joey lauren adams ("chasing amy"); the plot is not neatly wrapped up at the end, i really liked that. there was some confusion over who was who in her family, but it was a minor distraction. it also has the cute chick from "that 70s show" as her roommate.
LikeWord
March 30, 2007
Impressive performance by Judd, this was a quiet little flick, but it emoted really well. I liked it, if anything for just the scene where shes with whatshisname, and she is sober for the first time. I just felt her struggle. Well done!
billrosser
March 25, 2007
Ashley Judd plays this role well as a woman who starts to change and grow a little late in life. Just goes to show it's never too late !
sarahreneeladybug
March 15, 2007
this was a good story. but i disagree with the statement that i was ashley judd's best performance.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

July 21, 2012
"Come Early Morning" starts with Lucy(Ashley Judd), a building contractor, taking the walk of shame but not so much that she insists on paying for the motel room. In talking to Doll(Candyce Hinkle), she finds out her dad(Scott Wilson) is back in town. Seeing a chance at reconciliation, she accompanies him to the new church he is attending. When that old time religion does not stick, Lucy is back to the old grind at the local honky tonk where she gets into a fight with a fellow patron that Cal(Jeffrey Donovan), who is new in town, helps to break up and then takes a liking to her.

Without much of a story to speak of, "Come Early Morning" has to rely on the charms of its rough hewn subjects to engage the audience with the study of a character who is haunted by the past mistakes of her family, leading her to act impulsively, sometimes without the help of alcohol. Wrapping that all up, the movie is perfunctory in its conclusions but thankfully not its resolution. In this case, I would have to say that the country music and the religion add regional flavor instead of acting as stereotypes. Regardless, the movie is helped by a good cast that also includes Diane Ladd, Stacy Keach and Ray McKinnon, of which Ashley Judd fares best in a thoroughly lived in performance.
April 1, 2011
A Little country but I can dig it.
Page 1 of 13
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile