Curse of the Komodo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Curse of the Komodo Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
January 18, 2008
Worst movie. The storyline and the special effects were bad. Plotless soft porn, and possibly the worst looking computer graphics in the world.
July 15, 2011
I really knew what to expect from this. A horrible, b-movie type flick with horrible special effects. While its plot-line is rather "fresh", this movie is a low-budget attempt to revive Creature Features. Plus it rips off the ending from Men in Black.
½ October 3, 2010
* (out of four)

A low, low, low bugeted action thriller that offers little in the line of action and is void of thrills.

Giant Komodo Dragons are loose, attacking the citizens of an island and chewing up many at a military base.

Bad effects. Bad acting. a Waste.
September 8, 2009
The acting in this film is rather poor, the special effects in the film actually aren't too bad, and that is the only thing that makes the film tolerable.
½ December 7, 2008
the random "I'm going to do something really stupid and get myself killed now" is the only thing that really made it worth watching
February 9, 2008
Since no one is doing anything with the Komodo franchise, why not let horrible B-movie director Jim Wynorski take a stab at creating a franchise out of it!!! Well, blow me down, this movie is an improvement over the original as a bunch of terrible actors are being hunted by now supersized monster Komodos who either eat you up or spit their venom on you and turn you into a.....ZOMBIE. I admit, this movie was ridiculous, but it was still fun to watch!!! No, seriously.
September 23, 2004
The acting in this film is rather poor, the special effects in the film actually aren't too bad, and that is the only thing that makes the film tolerable.
½ September 16, 2014
"WELCOME TO KOMODO ISLAND"

- 'Curse of the Komodo' is a 2004 horror adventure film that was directed by Jim Wynorski (Raptore, Cheerleader Massacre). It's a typical B movie, that's entertaining in its own cheesy way. The plot has some similarities to 'Jurassic Park', but lacks the budget and credibility. I'm a big fan of films on islands, and especially when carnivore creatures are involved, so I do give Wynorski credit for the effort.

A group of criminals, who robbed a casino and got away on a helicopter, make an emergency landing on a tropical island. There they meet a group of scientists, who secretly have been creating genetically engineered komodo dragons, who are unable to be controlled. When the power fails, the carnivores start to hunt for pray. Who will survive?
½ November 18, 2013
This movie is by all means below mediocre and has some sub-par cgi, albeit not the worst I've ever seen. The story is ridiculous but the ending almost makes up for it in terms of anticipating something that finally comes true.
August 29, 2013
I never watched this movie and i never will. This movie looks absolutely pathetic and pointless. The only best thing in this movie is Glori Anne Gilbert swimming topless in the lake. With poor acting, thin and flat screenwriting, cheap looking special effects, and predictable plot, this movie in my personal opinion has to be the worst movie ever made.
½ October 27, 2012
Much better than Komodo. Military experiments to make a weapon of genetically mutated komodo dragons go awry. Unfortunately, Melissa Brasselle dies too early. Nice reference to Treasure Hunt, which features half a dozen of the same cast.
April 10, 2012
Not bad. (April 10, 2012)
½ September 1, 2011
holy shit... what a mess.
July 15, 2011
I really knew what to expect from this. A horrible, b-movie type flick with horrible special effects. While its plot-line is rather "fresh", this movie is a low-budget attempt to revive Creature Features. Plus it rips off the ending from Men in Black.
April 5, 2011
Saw bits and pieces of it when my dad was watching it. Absolutely awful.
December 21, 2005
THE CURSE OF THE KOMODO (2003)
½ October 3, 2010
* (out of four)

A low, low, low bugeted action thriller that offers little in the line of action and is void of thrills.

Giant Komodo Dragons are loose, attacking the citizens of an island and chewing up many at a military base.

Bad effects. Bad acting. a Waste.
June 23, 2010
the cast of this film had a "ex porn star" look to them .. the monster looked fake like all the silicon boobies on screen .. horrid acting but hey i picked it up cheap at a pawnshop which makes it all worth while
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ June 7, 2008
If you think these are the most laughable computer effects ever, you couldn't be more wrong. You haven't seen what I have seen. I've seen stuff that would make Chuck Norris cry.

Oh, this? It was hilarious soft porn with a giant komodo. Priceless.

8/100
½ December 18, 2009
Army experiments on island off Hawaii result in giant Komodo Dragons with large appetities. Cover-up ensues with those left behind to fend for themselves. Smartest move by producers was to have Melissa Brasselle featured in tight white tank top.
Page 1 of 3