A Damsel in Distress - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Damsel in Distress Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
½ September 5, 2010
Another predictable romance movie! Well, at least it has Burns and Allen to offer some jokes along the way.
MissMorganLeee
Super Reviewer
½ May 31, 2009
this is such a funny movie! First off Gracie Allen is a hoot! she being that dumb is soo believible! I always love Fred Astaire , his voice and dancing! The whole story line was pretty funny! The scene when george burns cant hold in the Opera and just burst out is soo hillarious!
December 16, 2013
Astaire and his vet terp aide, Hermes Pan, have devised four corking dance routines which director George Stevens has expertly envisioned and mounted.
½ July 30, 2009
A really fun musical comedy - Gracie Allen is priceless, i find her so funny! some very creative musical numbers, great cast, just sit back and enjoy this classic.
January 27, 2015
Amiable Fred Astaire musical (his first starring role sans Ginger Rogers) is backed up with comedy from Burns & Allen, and a wonderful Gershwin score which includes "A Foggy Day," "Nice Work If You Can Get It," "I Can't Be Bothered Now," and "Stiff Upper Lip," which won an Oscar for its dance production.
½ January 8, 2014
A Damsel in Distress in Distress is an amazing film. it is about Lady Alyce Marshmorton who must marry soon, and the staff of Tottney Castle have laid bets on who she'll choose. Fred Astaire and Joan Fontaine giving excellent performances. The screenplay is well written. George Stevens did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the humor and romance. A Damsel in Distress is a must see.
September 17, 2013
A bit light as a screwball comedy; Burns, Allen, & Astaire sing and dance in highly memorable skits. With Fred showing off his percussive skills and singing two classic tunes to boot (Foggy Day and Nice Work). Gracie manages to outdance her partners (Threesome!) in the fun-house! I can't understand why this isn't as classic as Duck Soup, Blazing Saddles, Pink Panther, 9 to 5, or Some Like It Hot. Oh yeah, Gracie had A-cups -- so what?
½ October 5, 2010
Clumsy, and Joan Fontaine had not yet discovered how to act, but it's entertaining due to three things: Fred Astaire, George Burns, and Gracie Allen. The Burns/Allen routine in particular had me laughing out loud throughout. Montagu Love also gets a good comedic role, which is a pleasant change from his usual heavies. The dance routines are spectacular, but obviously sideline the plot, which is unfortunate. Not as good as the Astaire/Rogers flicks, but still OK nonetheless.
½ October 26, 2005
A really fun musical comedy - Gracie Allen is priceless, i find her so funny! some very creative musical numbers, great cast, just sit back and enjoy this classic.
Page 1 of 1