Dylan Dog: Dead of Night - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dylan Dog: Dead of Night Reviews

Page 1 of 47
Super Reviewer
½ June 21, 2011
OK well for starters we have seen this kind of thing now many many many times over, there is nothing new here and nothing that really impresses to be brutally honest. Despite that this is still a reasonably enjoyable monster and myth movie with a creative side that is clearly down to its solid comicbook origins.

I don't know anything about the comicbook but its quite old (1986), so I can't say for sure but I do believe this comic may have given rise to other such characters and franchises like 'Hellboy', 'Underworld' and probably others. The problem is they have left this adaptation too long and missed the boat. This a real mix of many cool ideas and the first to spring to mind was 'Van Helsing'. DD is very much a monster mash with everything from vamps, werewolves, zombies, ghouls and demons. Add to this a neat little touch of black humour with zombie sub plots involving zombie support groups complete with flyers and a zombie bodyshop where the undead go to fix themselves up. Clever touches like that make this film fun to watch.

Now the first 30 minutes of this film is dull I can't lie, I was getting bored as nothing was happening. The concept is clearly going for an old detective film with narration from Dylan as he investigates clues, its nice and gives the film a touch of class but ultimately its kinda dull too.
Things start to spice up as creatures of the night come into play and the plot thickens, we discover a huge uber zombie is killing folk and there's a battle going on between certain humans and the undead ergo...a bit like 'Underworld'.

The problem is the film does get more enjoyable but you just can't help but relate everything to many other films, some I've already mentioned. You feel as if you've seen this all before (which you kinda have) and you know what's gonna happen. The other problem is the effects aren't all that great on the werewolves, the vamps don't look anything new with their facial design (think 'Lost Boys' or 'From Dusk Till Dawn') and of course zombies will always look the same.

There is a quite lovely piece of makeup/prosthetic work at the finale where baddie vamp leader Vargas transforms into a mega demon of some kind, looks absolutely fantastic but again it also looks identical to Darkness from 'Legend' or Marcus from 'Underworld 2' plus his appearance is a total anti-climax. In short the CGI work isn't the best and neither are the stunts truthfully, blood and gore is minimal which is fine but makeup is probably the winner over CGI here. The CGI is about on par with the first 'Underworld' flick which is obviously dated.

There is a hell of a lot of imagination going on here which is terrific and as this character came about in 86 I'm sure he came before much of what we already know in terms of night creature mythology. Had this been made before a lot of well known films then I'm sure it would have received a much better reception and may well have be known as a semi cult classic like such films as 'Blade' and 'Underworld'. Its a shame as despite the large amount of monsters all fighting for screen time the film doesn't feel clustered and it is nicely done with good humour and a nice dark film noir detective angle. The zombie sub plots are easily the best for plus points in terms of originality (almost).

If you try not to compare this film to others its good fun, with better CGI work I wouldn't mind a sequel as Routh as Dylan is a likeable character who isn't over the top and arrogant. I did enjoy the monster mash, shame they had to include the always cliched and now over used martial arts fighting weapon clad female lead. Have her as a hardass sure but lets not go down the boring Milla Jovovich route again please, no need for that in the sequel...if there is one.
Directors Cat
Super Reviewer
½ January 7, 2012
I really really really wish that Munroe's unproduced animated film Cat Tale was released instead of this. Crap that's absolutely trashy. I hated this movie. Cat Tale would definetely better than this. Even if its bad.
Super Reviewer
August 18, 2010
02/01/2012 (PS3, NETFLIX)
Super Reviewer
December 29, 2011
Silly junk has ludicrous situations and mostly uninspired acting but Sam Huntington is enjoyably glib and charmingly goofy.
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
½ December 5, 2011
Cheap in just about every aspect, Dylan Dog is a monster noir that turns out to be one dog of a film. The conceit of a private detective for the monster world is a pretty keen idea and one that could certainly have fun skewering genre conventions. But this movie is not clever, not in the slightest. It's a lousy detective story where Dylan Dog (Brandon Routh) investigates a murder victim (death by werewolf) that threatens to break the shaky peace between the vampire and werewolf families. The story flounders and even messes up its limited flashes of comic potential, like Dylan's partner adjusting to life as a zombie (maggot burgers, yum). Dylan Dog is a rather uninspired horror comedy with little scares, little intentional laughs, and a critical lack of imagination. It's got legions of supernatural creatures and a noir setting to play with, and this is the best they could do? Director Kevin Munroe (TMNT) cannot hide the shoddy budget and shoddier special effects. Routh (Superman Returns) is a likeable guy but he delivers every single line in the same wooden style mistakenly believed to be hard-boiled. What was the last good PG-13 horror comedy that didn't involve Tim Burton? The rating kneecaps the movie's darkness, which means the monsters don't seem too monstrous. Everyone seems to take a cue from the undead and just acts resoundingly bored. Dylan Dog is one shaggy mess.

Nate's Grade: D
Super Reviewer
September 25, 2010
One of the best and most enjoyable genre movies of the year. A wickedly entertaining and wildly inventive mash-up. A whole new genre of dark fantasy filmmaking that blends crime-fighting and humor in this tongue-in-cheek supernatural horror in the spirit of Zombieland and Shaun of the Dead. An exhilarating ans explosive action-packed thrill-ride that just keeps getting better as it goes on. A smart, fresh, wild and outragiously funny movie filled with big monster fright. It`s totally cool and very thrilling. Brandon Routh is excellent, he gives a sharp, fun and very entertaining performance. Sam Huntington is teriffic. Routh and Huntington are great together. Taye Diggs is great to watch playing this cool and slick character. Peter Stormare is wondderful as always. The perfect combination of big scares and bigger fun and enjoyment. Move away from Twilight and into this utterly thrilling joy-ride.
Super Reviewer
March 12, 2011
Cast: Brandon Routh, Sam Huntington, Peter Stormare, Taye Diggs, Anita Briem, Kurt Angle, Kimberly Whalen, Courtney J. Clark, Randal Reeder

Director: Kevin Munroe

Summary: Paranormal investigator Dylan Dog unearths secrets about the undead in New Orleans with the help of his sidekick, zombie Marcus, in this supernatural mystery based on the internationally best-selling Italian comic book series.

My Thoughts: "The movie was honestly a bit boring for me. I actually fell asleep more then once while watching. I am not sure if it's the character's that are all wrong or if it's just Brandon Routh's acting that is bad. I just haven't really cared for him in any of the films I've seen him in. Maybe it's the roles he's taken? I'm thinking it's more his acting. Sam Huntington on the other hand is an actor I love and think is quite funny and he's the only one worth watching in this film. The movie was listed as a Horror Film.... WHAT? Where was the horror? I thought I would get a few scary flicks in this month since it's the time of the year to get your scare on. But there is nothing scary about this film but it's plot and acting. A big disappointment for me. I haven't read the comics so I can not give my opinion if the film does them justice. But if you're a fan of the comics, that would be the only reason I could think of for you to see this movie."
Super Reviewer
½ August 6, 2011
Great concept, poor execution. The movies about a private investigator for the undead. He deals with werewolves, vampire, zombies, and other monsters. Sounded pretty cool to me, but they got a lot wrong with this movie. First, Dylan Dog is the P.I. and he tries to be witty and funny, but he's overall very bland. Played by Brandon Routh("Superman Returns"), he has zero charisma and has the same expression on his face and the same monotone voice the entire movie. Ryan Reynolds or Bruce Campbell would have been perfect for this and made it a much, much better movie. Because of Routh's performance the movie drags, and drags. It's 107 minutes, but it feels like 307. How can a movie with zombies and vampires be boring? Well I don't know how these guys did it, but they succeeded, because I felt like I was gonna turn into a zombie by time it ended. It's a pretty low budget movie, but the effects are decent, just have fun trying to stay awake. Plus, the movie rips off "True Blood" a lot. From people dealing vampire blood, to having a drink for vampires that takes the place of human blood. The biggest difference is "True Blood" doesn't suck and is actually entertaining as hell. Skip this movie and watch either "Walking Dead" or "True Blood". They may be tv shows, but by the time you finish this movie, you will have felt like you watched an entire series in one sitting.
Super Reviewer
½ April 16, 2011
Living investigator. Undead clients. Zombie partner.

Not bad of a movie. This was a cool but slow movie based on a comic book. It has a more or less decent story which at times bored me and other times entertained. While Brandon Routh has a limited acting range, his physique actually suited him fine here and basically that was all that mattered, since you aren't going to remember much about his rather bland performance. Don't expect this monster squad outing to be too cerebral. It's filled with corny one liners involving various body parts, and in essence is a poor man's cousin to Men in Black, replacing aliens in our midst with that of monsters roaming around. If only it had stuck more faithfully to its source, then it could have been something quite unique.This is probably the only time I'll watch this movie, is just one of those movies you only see once because it's not worth it watching it more than once.

Tiziano Sclavi's wildly popular Italian comic book gets the big screen treatment in this feature starring Brandon Routh as the eponymous paranormal investigator. When things go bump in the night, Dylan Dog (Routh) is never far behind. Dylan's never met a monster that he couldn't defeat, but when word gets out that supernatural war is brewing in New Orleans, he realizes the stakes have just been raised. Zombies, vampires and werewolves are about to go to battle, and the only thing that can stop them is an ancient relic. When the creatures of the night come out to play, Dylan Dog is the only one standing between mankind, and a nightmarish new reality.
Super Reviewer
June 29, 2011
Super Reviewer
May 3, 2011
I saw this in theaters and I had to pay actual currency to do so and I hate myself.
Super Reviewer
March 22, 2011
I find myself really rooting for Brandon Routh. He's an actor who will forever be remembered for one role, but deserves to be recognized and better used. Recent supporting roles in Zack & Miri Make a Porno and Scott Pilgrim vs The World have shown that he really has a great comic side to him, and perhaps that's where he should continue to work.
In Dylan Dog, we definitely see his charm and comedic abilities. But as much as I wanted to like this flick, it falls short.
Routh's Superman fell short of expectation due to audience indifference - yet another recap of his origin, Lex Luthor AGAIN, and superbaby... A good film, but what faults it had were in the writing, not the acting (okay, maybe Bosworth). The same is true here. Routh is fun, and could have carried a solid flick, but the writing is lacking, the comic relief a little too over-the-top, the directing sloppy, and the special effects and monster makeup look like something from a television pilot. Even the film stock seemed to be garbage, as several scenes were overly grainy and blurry.

All in all, it's a decent distraction in a late-night-cable-movie sort of way, and a good showcase for Routh to keep showing he's more than just Superman. It's just not the film it could have been.
Super Reviewer
September 26, 2012
Dylan Dog(Brandon Routh) is a private investigator who specializes in domestic cases in New Orleans, along with his assistant Marcus(Sam Huntington). However, he finds himself reluctantly drawn back into the world of the supernatural when he goes to the aid of Elizabeth(Anita Briem) when her father, an importer, is found brutally murdered in their Garden District home. Come to think of it, Gabriel(Peter Stormare) is none too happy to see Dylan either while for Vargas(Taye Diggs) it is business as usual as he sells vampire blood out of his club.

"Dylan Dog: Dead of Night" starts badly and ends awkwardly with a denouement that does not really make a whole lot of sense. In between there is not a half bad movie that while not as good as an average episode of either "Grimm" or "Lost Girl," still manages a decent amount of world building. It is neat what it does with New Orleans but it was not necessary to set it there.(One question: What did the undead do during Katrina? Or am I better off not knowing?) And I especially liked the look into zombie culture, with the comic relief neatly offsetting some of the dourness. While Brandon Routh, whose bland charm mixes badly with the attempt to do hard boiled noir, is badly miscast, at least, Taye Diggs is having fun.
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2011
I wanted to like this, I really did. There's nothing wrong with Brandon Routh. The concept is cool. I think the tone is even on the right track. It's just really badly written with horrible dialogue and it just seems to fail on every level. It's not silly enough or serious enough to really be enjoyable any way you slice it. It's just kinda there, and I started to wish I wasn't.
Super Reviewer
½ June 14, 2011
Thank goodness for the comedy sidekick in this film. Brandon Routh is way too dry. Anyone that has Scott Pilgrim knows that he at least has a sense of humor about himself. The friend playing the zombie in denial was pretty good though.
Ryan M
Super Reviewer
½ August 22, 2011

There are so many problems with "Dylan Dog: Dead of Night" on first sight; one of them being the PG-13 rating. Can you truly make a successful horror comedy with such a rating? I mean, Sam Raimi did it very well with "Drag Me to Hell", but that's Raimi we're talking about. He is a master of the horror comedy; and it was a return to form. But "Dylan Dog", an adaptation of the long-running Italian comic-book series of the same name, is so bland and contains nothing but talentless, low-budget devotion. I'm sure it was made with good intentions, but man, who knew good-natured filmmaking could be so boring?

I suppose my problem isn't the fact that the filmmakers weren't daring. The low-budget kind of shows in the action sequences and special effects, thus, making the film with the chosen director attached was a poor decision. The film has a semi-appealing cast headed by Brandon Routh, who just last year starred in the totally-radical-and-awesome "Scott Pilgrim VS. The World". There, he was given material that was seemingly written for him. He was over-the-top in a good, almost charming way; here, he's just mediocre...at best.

Where do I begin in my review for what is without-a-doubt one of the worst films of 2011? Oh yes, I'll start with the story. Private detective of the paranormal Dylan Dog (Routh) is forced out of retirement after a werewolf kills a young woman's father, which could be the beginning of a fued between the living, the dead, the furry, and the creatures of the night (AKA the vampires).

Dylan and his new lady-friend, the one who lost her father to the hairy beast (the werewolf) are accompanied by Dylan's old semi-partner who has recently died and been zombified. They go around trying to stop this war from even starting, and yeah...that's pretty much all you need to know.

I can't believe I just said that. The basic story is NOT all you need to know. I believe that it is my duty to tell you WHAT went wrong with the film's simple premise, and why this move just flat-out sucks. It has to do a lot with the existence of the production alone. Why was it made? It couldn't have been good, given the budget and the genre; not a good combo. If you're going to make an action movie, you need to make it for action FANS. I mean, even "Battle: Las Angeles" has better action sequences. And that's saying a lot, considering that every single loud, violent action scene present in that film just plain sucked.

I love a good paranormal story, and this material (the "Dylan Dog" comic series) could have made for an entertaining movie. The reason it's not entertaining is because it combines bad acting with horrendous dialogue with completely unfunny "comedic" situations. I'm all for finding humor out of the undead, but this film doesn't even try to appeal to the crowd that will do just that. It's chock full of generic gags and one-liners, all which sound lame in the end, but luckily, it's all forgettable. I can't say the same about the experience; it's pretty damn agonizing. It's movies like these that have people staying away from the cinema, frequently. I have no sympathy for a film this stupid and revolting in style. It has no class, nor is it funny...at all. Did I mention that it features Peter Stormare in a completely wasted, uninspired, and all-around corny role? Yeah, there's another problem when it comes to "Dylan Dog". The list is endless, I could go on-and-on-and-on, but what's the point? Just don't waste your time.
Cameron W. Johnson
Super Reviewer
½ August 12, 2011
Forget Forest Whitaker. This is the real Ghost Dog. Well, it made a ghost out of me, because every time Brando Routh "acted", I just had to moan and sob. You'd think that if I was going to be disappointed in any good actor I've barely seen anywhere else for messing up in this, it would be Taye Dig. Okay, how about we just compromise and just say that Kevin Munroe can not direct. Of course, his direction isn't the film's only flaw, as it also suffers from some choppy editing, an inconsistenly-used narration, weak visual effects and a generic, often poorly-placed and generally poor score. Of course, along with the direction, the film's biggest flaw seems to be its writing, which is packed with holes, a deal of fall-flat jokes, cliches, forced events and above all, horrible dialogue.

The film's other major flaw is - once again - Munroe's poor direction. He's just so incompetent when it comes to storytelling, writing execution and perhaps most notably, acting. The actors have little to work with and yet, they're so mediocre, if not flat-out bad, thanks to Munroe's poor direction. Many of the side performances are so cheesy and overactive. Anita Briem is so bland, incompetent and feels so fake, much like - believe or not - Taye Diggs, who is notorious for being such a solid actor... from what I hear, because I don't keep up with him too much. As for leading man Brando Routh, he lacks charisma and much like most everyone else, he's just so bland and sleep-walk...ey. Ironically, other than a few somewhat decent songs on the soundtrack and some pretty decent practical effects, a performer is pretty much the only moderately notable strength, as Sam Huntington brings some charm and the occasional mildly effective piece of humor, but never to where it even comes close to saving the film.

Overall, "Dylan Dog: Dead of Night" has little to it, but incompetence when it comes to writing, production value, acting and above all, directing, making it a bland, poor and forgettable mess that deserves its straight-to-video release. Oh, sorry. I get confused because of the level of incompetence and the fact that it made about the price of a video at the box office. No, I mean a real video, like a VHS tape.
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2011
A charming lead, but pretty much nothing else. Absolutely nothing else. It's a complete crapfest.
Super Reviewer
½ June 18, 2011
a horrable comedy of average horror, but zombies, vampires and all of that crap, it just won't work on a film like this. F
Super Reviewer
½ October 12, 2011
In my opinion better than other bigger budget movies of this type like Van Helsing but with an even more outrageous plotline.

Surprisingly good movie that tries to mix together a Private Investigator type mystery movie with the whole "what goes bump in the night" mythos. Vampires, demons, werewolves, zombies, ghouls, etc all make an appearance with better than average special effects for a B type movie.

If you are wondering why you haven't seen Brandon Routh in anything (besides Chuck) since playing Superman, you can watch his acting in this movie and understand. He tries to play super badass but can't pull it off, and he does all the voice narrating in a super bland monotone designed to invoke suicidal tendencies instead of interest in the plotline.

Sam Huntington, however, was hilarious as the partner turned Zombie and makes the whole movie worth watching.
Page 1 of 47