Death at a Funeral Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Top Critic
Martin Tsai
Newark Star-Ledger
December 23, 2014
While it isn't a shot-for-shot replica, certainly no one can accuse Hollywood of dumbing things down here.
Jeff Beck
October 1, 2012
What we end up with here is the most pointless remake since Gus Van Sant made his shot-for-shot remake of "Psycho" back in 1998.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
May 4, 2012
A funny film, but it's not one that I found myself growing passionate about as I watched.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Michael Dequina
April 8, 2012
If the film is so close to the original as to also be pretty much disposable once its over, at least it as well serves up a healthy amount of laughs during its very brief and brisk run time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Joshua Starnes
March 18, 2011
A little more tweaking for the actual actor's voices to come through, instead of trying to put them into pre-concieved places, may have worked better, but on the whole, it's still an excellent example of how the ensemble comedy should work.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Mike Edwards
What Culture
February 1, 2011
The only scene in which the audience noticeably reacted to the film's efforts to extract some belly laughs came in the depressingly derivative poo jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
December 19, 2010
...a perfectly watchable piece of work...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
December 15, 2010
It's almost a checklist of things I don't like, but it won me over in its opening minutes and never let go.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
August 17, 2010
The component that stayed mostly the same is the writing, which is bad news to me, since my main beef with the original movie was exactly that.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Kam Williams
August 6, 2010
What will creatively-bankrupt Hollywood think of next?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Prairie Miller
WBAI Radio
July 31, 2010 Post-mortem grossout, bawdy bereavement, laugh-out-lewd feces fun and games, and a little gay dwarf tossing as a served up side order of midget mockery. Not a movie to die for."
Derek Malcolm
This is London
June 9, 2010
The British film wasn't much better. But, beleive me, it was easier to watch than this loud mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Allan Hunter
Daily Express
June 7, 2010
Avoid at all costs.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 7, 2010
LaBute and his cast seem to be revelling in the opportunity to indulge in the kind of lazy farce so beloved of unambitious British cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Peter Bradshaw
June 4, 2010
Depends very heavily on the worryingly unfunny idea of accidentally consuming hallucinogenic drugs, though I have to admit there are a few crassly funny moments...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Tookey
Daily Mail [UK]
June 4, 2010
An undistinguished remake of a crude black comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
David Edwards
Daily Mirror [UK]
June 4, 2010
Overall, it's better than the original -- although that's not saying much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

Liverpool Echo
June 4, 2010
There's no change to the plot or the thinly sketchy characters. It's a thoroughly pointless exercise.
Alex Zane
Sun Online
June 4, 2010
What this movie really has going for it is a great cast who manage to make some obvious comedy situations genuinely amusing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph
June 3, 2010
This is a marginal improvement on the mangy 2007 British farce it's derived from, but it's still stuck with Dean Craig's irredeemably crass script, an anchor of unfunniness (and blatant homophobia) tied around its legs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7