• R, 1 hr. 18 min.
  • Horror
  • Directed By:
    Scott Ziehl
    In Theaters:
    Jun 1, 2005 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 7, 2006
  • Anchor Bay Entertainment

Opening

91% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
79% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
33% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

60% Lucy $43.9M
64% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
18% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
24% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
67% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

The Killing

—— The Killing: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

100% The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Demon Hunter Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Luke B

Super Reviewer

March 22, 2008
Like Blade Runner but with the replicants replaced with demons... and it's shit. Pretty much a carbon copy of many other Zone Horror TV films. It has it's fun moments and you can really relish in the poor moments if you enjoy the sort of self harm watching as I. Some generic kung-fu fights, filthy ladies who get naked and a leather clad protagonist. Tries to address issues such as morality but fails. Poor dialogue distracts from a poor screenplay in general so there's no escape. Still I was certainly enthralled when the strangely attractive nun changed in the last ten minutes. Bizarre.
Emily A

Super Reviewer

July 15, 2007
This movies was SO disappointing, especially because it held such promise. When I was watching this, all I could think about was how much better it could have been. The characters were wasted where there could have been depth, there was clumsy fighting where there could have been finesse, or at the very least graceful dialogue. I even found this film vaguely misogynistic, with none of the female characters having any internal merit. Plus I hated the main character. If this was remade by someone with a brain, I might be interested in that movie, but this one is a total failure.
Dr Blood  

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2007
It's overlong, there isn't much action, there's only one really sexy scene and that involves some old grandad in a leather coat, and it just sucks.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

March 20, 2007
Sean Patrick Flanery delivers a cool Steve McQueen-ish kind of performance as a rogue half-demon spawn who works for the church hunting his own kind on Earth in this hell-thriller film.
March 28, 2010
A mostly cheesy film version of what essentially felt like a scrapped Buffy The Vampire Slayer episode.

Sean Patrick Flanery is decent enough in the lead, but he's left battling both humans and demons in little more than hand to hand combat, one might expect him to be better armed.

A rental if you're a glutton for punishment, otherwise I'd pass.
Ken D

Super Reviewer

December 16, 2008
After a decent opening scene, the promise that this movie shows falls apart pretty quickly and it turns out to be another straight to video crapfest.
October 30, 2008
In my imaginative concoction of all the elements combined, my best description of this is: An Aaron Spelling presentation that steals elements of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (including the bad acting), with a pointless twist in the last 5 minutes, stretched out to 78 minutes, a droopy eyed 'sexy' succubus with a bad lisp from her fake fangs, and an epic 10 second scene of Billy Drago lying on a pair of pierced nipple pancake goth boobs.they can.
After that, it's not a HORRIBLE movie per se (I happen to enjoy trainwrecks like this), but definitely something to only watch on TV. Although then the softcore porno parts are cut out. Ok, watch it on your netflix watch instantly like I did.
purplekitty627
October 12, 2008
I didn't even want to give it any stars. I couldn't stand this movie, so I didn't even finish watching it.
matthewbroderick
July 9, 2008
It is what it is...but I've always been a big Steven J Cannel fan. If you like naughty girls and demons, its right up your alley :)
May 25, 2014
Though Sean Patrick Flanery offers a competent performance as the lead, but this is the only thing the film does right. The writing, pacing, casting tone, and overall quality of the movie suffers from either a lack of directing ability or funding (or perhaps both). Drago (though a talented actor) is entirely phoning it in on top of being a complete miscast. Entirely forgettable and not worth a look even for "bad supernatural movie night" with your friends. Instead, the very fun and campy John Carpenter's Vampires is loads of fun.
February 15, 2012
Demon Hunter (Scott Ziehl, 2005)

Another of those "Stephen J. Cannell, what were you thinking?" direct-to-video horror cheapies Cannell churned out like he was trying to be Roger Corman during the middle of the last decade (one of which, The Garden, actually found its way into theatres, presumably by accident). If you've seen any of Cannell's more cheaply-produced TV shows, you've got a basic idea of what you're going to get from these movies, save that there will of course be more nudity and more graphic violence. Of those I've seen, Demon Hunter is actually the most satisfying on a number of levels, which probably has to do with the quality of its cast.

Plot: Jake Greyman (The Boondock Saints' Sean Patrick Flanery), a half-human, half-demon who makes his living as a demon hunter for Mother Church, is hired by the somewhat paranoid Cardinal White (House of 1000 Corpses' William Bassett) to figure out whether a demon is behind certain recent events. To keep him in line (well, as much as possible), he's assigned a chaperone, Sister Sarah (Baby Blues' Colleen Porch). Needless to say, the two of them find out pretty quickly that yes, the demon Asmodeus (The Untouchables' Billy Drago) and his sexy henchman, a nameless succubus (Something's Gotta Give's Tania Deighton), are behind etc. Ultimately, it seems, the demons are after Nancy Lebinowitz (The Hard Easy's Nancy Yoon), the widow of a billionaire arms dealer, and the demon hunters have to figure out why.

The draw here is a surprisingly solid cast of B actors; it's likely you're a fan of at least someone in this cast (I watched it because I adore Colleen Porch ever since Baby Blues). It helps that the director at least knowsn his way around a camera; Ziehl does low-budget genre work (he's best known for the Rob Lowe vehicle Proximity back in the nineties), but he does it pretty well. Both of these things help balance out the kind of horrific script turned in by stuntman Mitch Gould (recently seen jumping around, falling, etc. in Twilight); both actors and director do the best they can given the material, and in the end, they come up with a watchable movie. It's not great cinema, to be sure, but I've seen a lot worse. ** 1/2
momatduke
June 17, 2010
This is what happens when you put worthy actors in a terrible movie. They totally went for it which I respected but they had almost nothing to work with. The demons looked ridiculous.
Page 1 of 3
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile