Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
44% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 2 of 9
Charles Koplinski
Illinois Times

Likable characters, inventive visuals buoy "Despicable 2."

Full Review Source: Illinois Times | Original Score: 3.0/4.0

July 11, 2013
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy

There's still an attempt at the playfully naughty misanthropy, but it feels tired and worn.

Full Review Source: Antagony & Ecstasy | Original Score: 5/10

July 10, 2013
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk

Everything that is good about it-including those wonderfully nattering minions who have even more screen time and play a bigger role in the narrative-is what was good in the first film, so there isn't any sense of growth or expansion

Full Review Source: Q Network Film Desk | Original Score: 2.5/4

July 10, 2013
Diana Saenger
ReviewExpress.com

Good film about family values

Full Review Source: ReviewExpress.com | Original Score: 3/5

July 10, 2013

I guess it shouldn't be a surprise that a watered-down premise would get even blander in the sequel, but it's disappointing to see just how far it's fallen.

Full Review Source: Twitch | Original Score: C-

July 9, 2013
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)

It's not that the movie is unlikable. It's that it feels like a trip through a random checklist of things that played well in the first film.

Full Review Source: Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC) | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 9, 2013
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com

Let's hear it for the minions - they make this movie and are the real stars of the show.

Full Review Source: jackiekcooper.com | Original Score: 7/10

July 9, 2013
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Co-directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin, who do Minion voices expertly, never let up on the laughs. A fart joke in 3-D may not be three times as wacky, but the high spirits of Despicable Me 2 are irresistible fun.

Full Review Source: Rolling Stone | Original Score: 3/4

July 8, 2013
Austin Kennedy
Film Geek Central

I laughed harder and more often than in any movie I have seen so far this year!

Full Review Source: Film Geek Central | Original Score: 3.5/4

July 8, 2013
Kam Williams
AALBC.com

Sure, the pat Hollywood ending is a foregone conclusion, but nobody's complaining when the roller coaster ride is so thoroughly enjoyable!

Full Review Source: AALBC.com | Original Score: 3.5/4

July 7, 2013
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com

It has quite a reputation to live up to due to its predecessor, and while it doesn't quite reach the heights of the previous film, this is still a very enjoyable and silly sequel that is a welcome return to the characters we've come to know and love.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 3/4

July 7, 2013
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing

For the most part, Despicable Me 2 is amusing and cheerful, but it lacks the mild-cheddar edge that made the first film stand out -- moments like when Gru inflates a balloon animal for a sad boy, only to then pop it himself.

Full Review Source: Creative Loafing | Original Score: 2.5/4

July 6, 2013
Luke Y. Thompson
Topless Robot

Yes, the Minions rule, and I look forward to their spin-off movie. But I need to care about Gru, and I don't.

Full Review Source: Topless Robot

July 5, 2013
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide

Turning Dr. Evil into Austin Powers ... is the best possible way to keep the reformed character from losing his mojo. (Oh, how Mike Myers has influenced this discussion!)

Full Review Source: Decent Films Guide | Original Score: B-

July 5, 2013
Michael Smith
Tulsa World

What makes this another winner is that there are more than enough subversive chuckles to balance out the sugar. It is almost impossible to not smile through the duration of the movie.

Full Review Source: Tulsa World | Original Score: 3/4

July 5, 2013
Steve Crum
Video-Reviewmaster.com

...Just as charming, hilarious, clever, and well paced as its predecessor.

Full Review Source: Video-Reviewmaster.com | Original Score: A

July 5, 2013
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews

It feels like a typical sequel that rehashes bits and pieces from the original with tweaks, like making the minions and their hijinks more central to the story.

Full Review Source: Reeling Reviews | Original Score: B-

July 4, 2013
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs

Exactly what a cartoon should be. A lot of fun, with jokes that both kids and grown-ups can enjoy.

Full Review Source: Three Movie Buffs | Original Score: 3/4

July 4, 2013
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com

It's all about The Minions.

Full Review Source: WaffleMovies.com | Original Score: 2.5/4

July 4, 2013
James Verniere
Boston Herald

What language do the Minions, those delightful, yellow homunculi of these 'Despicable Me' films, speak? Whatever it it, it is silliness raised to sublime, giggle-inducing heights, and renders children and adults alike helpless.

Full Review Source: Boston Herald | Original Score: A

July 4, 2013
Page 2 of 9
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile