Diminished Capacity Reviews

Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
December 8, 2008
Sherwood Kiraly's slight script only makes this embarrassment of riches seem more embarrassing.
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
July 16, 2008
Alda's Hawkeye Pierce charm gives way to something snappish and cagey, while Broderick's fussy stiffness is perfect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Noel Murray
AV Club
July 10, 2008
Didn't we invent film festivals so we could sequester all the star-studded 'how I spent my summer vacation' indie film projects and keep them out of our arthouses?
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
July 4, 2008
The actors look as if they're having a reasonably fine time, but there's no sense of commitment here, no sense that this was a movie that absolutely, passionately had to be made.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 4, 2008
A mild pleasure from one end to the other, but not much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
July 4, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 3, 2008
Striving for low-key character comedy, Diminished Capacity ends up diminishing its returns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
July 3, 2008
It has moments of sweetness, but not enough poignancy or wit to turn it into the endearing art-house comedy that it aspires to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
July 2, 2008
Great, just what we needed: another rote exercise in indie-feely humanism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
July 2, 2008
Diminished Capacity is blessed with a blue-ribbon cast.
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
July 1, 2008
It's the kind of lite movie you go and see with your mom, and she'll say she liked it -- but then a year later, you're both trying to remember what it was even about.
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
January 28, 2008
A pleasant enough diversion, but DC will be bettered watched from the horizontal position of a couch, one to which the film seems all too eager to send you.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
January 23, 2008
Plays like diminished comedy.