Eating Out - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eating Out Reviews

Page 1 of 21
Super Reviewer
November 18, 2008
For a gay interest film.... it is really good, for being a great work of art - no. Some extreme situations but nicely done. Sexy Ryan Carnes gives a really good performance.
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2008
Spoilers are plentiful, not that it matters. Caleb, unhappy with his sex life, is convinced by his gay flatmate Kyle that the best way for him to find a woman is to pretend to be gay. Apparently, since coming out, Kyle has been hounded by hundreds of eligible woman all desperate to 'turn' him and get inside his pants, and so thinks this is the obvious solution for Caleb. Please, credit me with some fucking intelligence. Not only do I find the notion of being able to 'turn' someone, gay or straight, completely vacuous, but it's also offensive that the film shows such little respect for women. It's this kind of simplistic, clichéd thinking that gives GLBT cinema a bad name. [Swiftly steps off the soapbox]. Anyway, so Caleb meets the woman of his dreams, Gwen, but, surprise, surprise, she believes him gay and so sets him up with her GBF (gay best friend) Marc. Caleb agrees to go out with him in order to try and get closer to Gwen. In one of the most successful scenes (everything before and after hinges on it), Gwen has phone sex with Caleb whilst Marc goes down on him. This moment in the film is surprisingly well performed, is reasonably witty and successfully edited, but it is also (forgive the pun) very hard to swallow. Sorry, couldn't help myself there. This moment apart, there's very little to distinguish the film from any of the other 'straight guy pretending to be gay' films of which there are now so many they're practically a sub-genre. In addition, Eating Out is amateurishly filmed, badly acted in the majority and completely predictable. The ending where the four leads confess their true feelings for one another is not only ridiculous, it is, in the case of Marc and Kyle, completely out of character. Are we really expected to believe that Marc has been harbouring feelings for 'plain' Kyle (who is of course very good looking, just less of a muscle freak show than Caleb and Marc) all along? Hampered by poor dialogue, the only other saving grace is the one-liners from Caleb's little sister, but these are unfortunately delivered by an actress who clearly has infinitesimal talent.
Super Reviewer
½ August 27, 2011
I love the clever script!!!! But acting wise it wasn't as good, but still wickedly funny
Super Reviewer
½ February 7, 2008
I watched this as 1) It was in a list of 50 best 'gay' movies and 2) I love gay movies. The acting was extremely bad, and the females in it were extremely ugly and annoying and were pointless really. The main dude, I forget his name, was the only one who fit the part and wasn't that bad of an actor. I'm not sure if it was meant to be, but his scenes with the gay dude were really awkward, so if they were supposed to be, well, good job and if not.. not so much.
Super Reviewer
November 7, 2006
Normally this would be 3 stars probably, but I just add one for the sheer fun of it. Very very silly. Very very funny. Very very sexy. Why do gay guys get the fun films and we get the depressed, murderous dykes? ;-) Well, this is faulty, low budget (which shows) but so deliciously entertaining.
January 11, 2012
This movie is awkward, low-budget and raunchy... and for some reason, it's actually pretty entertaining. It's nothing I haven't seen before, but the stupidity of it all somehow actually works. Don't expect to be able to take this seriously, but if you're just looking for an inappropriate laugh, this is a pretty good bet.
April 6, 2007
Not sure if they ment it to be.. But I watched it as if it was a spoof on softcore porn.. Lol interesting movie.. Stupid.. Bad acting.. But Interesting O_O
December 7, 2008
Sometimes you are just in the mood for a film and this was definitely the case for me. I really enjoyed this movie. A straight guy acts gay just to get a girl. How far will he go with this game? Can I find a straight guy this open minded!? Wow!
½ June 28, 2008
Unlike its sequel, this movie felt a little too long. But I really loved the ending. The first half was a little dull..
August 25, 2007
Very funny! And I felt that season one American Idol contestant Jim Verraros did an awesome job, being his first movie and all. Now mind you that this isn't a movie for everyone to see. Due to the content of the film. But if you're open minded to homosexuality and heterosexuality then this film fits perfectly!
July 16, 2007
I thought this was a sexy movie! Not quite what I was expecting but pretty good. The guys were really hot here too.
March 5, 2007
Funny movie, but the story is a little weak, the cast of the guys was good, the girl did not hold up her end of the movie.
August 14, 2006
Ok... the name is a bit... naughty... but the movie is... well... a bit naughty! But... it's also funny and SEXY as hell! I enjoyed it!
July 30, 2006
The story is nothing special. It's the same idea of someone wants someone wants best friend to snag them for them, and in the process falls for the person they like, and then there's a happy ending. decent enough performances. But really man it's all about the bigger chick pulling out a rabbit and calling it a weapon. That was the shit.
June 27, 2006
I actually really liked this movie....the acting and low budget style lowers the score. This could have been a really Great movie. Kudos for casting Scott Lunsford, with out him I think I would have stopped the DVD.
½ December 27, 2015
Hölzernes und mieses Schauspiel, uninspirierte Dialoge, grottige Kameraführung und Schnitt, dämliche Geschichte. Ohne Worte!
Einzig wegen Scott Lunsford gibt es den halben Stern.
October 16, 2015
Gives gay movies a bad name. Terrible on too many levels to list!
½ March 14, 2014
The hot actors save this one for me!
September 17, 2012
Excellent. Very fun to watch.
Page 1 of 21