Opening

25% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
63% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
15% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
83% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
100% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Equilibrium Reviews

Page 1 of 934
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

November 7, 2006
A future society that subdues its populace with an emotionally inhibiting drug is enforced by a police force of "clerics" who execute all those accused of "sense crime". Dismissed by most upon its release as just another Matrix clone, there are superficial similarities; stylistically the action choreography and costume design are very similar. There's a lot more going on under the surface however, as it takes cues from the likes of 1984 and Fahrenheit 451 in its depiction of a totalitarian, book burning society and message of individuality and what it means to be human. But by far the biggest difference is in its star; Christian Bale's far superior range makes for a performance that's both emotionally engaging and believable in its depiction of a man suddenly in conflict with everything he had been taught and dealing with emotions he has no experience with. Equilibrium is a very under-rated film in my opinion and is everything a sci-fi movie should be about; style, action, strong concepts and a message about the human condition. More V For Vendetta than The Matrix and definitely worth seeking out if you like sci-fi with a political slant.
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

May 18, 2007
It takes itself to seriously but it's an interesting sci-fi flick nevertheless.
Josh L

Super Reviewer

June 12, 2007
In the late 90's and early 00's, rip-offs and imitators of the instant classic "The Matrix" were being made left and right to try and capture some cash off of the sensation it started. Unfortunately, many of them failed to match even the most modest of standards and never came close to the quality of The Matrix. Equilibrium is one such movie. Despite the presence of a solid Christian Bale in the lead role, Equilibrium suffers from cheesy dialogue and action sequences, mediocre special effects that make the dystopian world look like a video game, and a simplistic story. It has an intriguing premise, like so many other science fiction films do, but that only carries you so far. The direction in this film is just sloppy and a couple of the plot twists are easily predicted. It can be fun to watch, and despite the action sequences being way too over the top and cheesy, they are certainly fun to watch because of their uniqueness. The pacing is actually pretty good too. I was never really bored while watching this, just underwhelmed. A better director and a slightly bigger budget and this would be an acceptable science fiction/action film. As it stands though, I can't recommend it to anyone except the least discriminating action junkie.
Al S

Super Reviewer

September 18, 2006
A masterpiece. It delivers some of the best action sequences ever made with spectacular gun battles and fight scenes. It's brilliant and exhilarating. It's The Matrix meets Minority report with more superior and superbly original vision. A great entertainment that packs a full clip. A fantastic futuristic thriller with lots to offer whether it's a dramatic piece or an action film. One of the better science fiction stories with a more intense and compelling concept. It's mind-blowing and surprisingly effective. It's heart-pounding and adrenaline-pumping from beginning to end. A first-rate and well-crafted edge of your seat action-packed ride. Christian Bale is absolutely outstanding, he gives a compelling and commanding performance.
Dan S

Super Reviewer

September 15, 2007
A poor man's "The Matrix" mixed in with a fair dose of Orwellian culture, concerning a skilled new-age detective (Christian Bale) and how he battles to quell any feelings or emotions he has in a society that has outlawed human beings from possessing any sort of emotions whatsoever, due to them leading to horrendous acts of violence in the past. While the set-up from the start is a ridiculous, laughable stretch, this movie still gets by for the most part due to Bale's rock-solid performance of a man finally breaking through to the other side of the human spectrum. The action sequences are undeniably outstanding, perhaps even better than those in "The Matrix", and the film's message on the importance of feelings in humanity is handled decently. It's pretty dumb, loud, and somewhat predictable, but it irrefutably entertaining all the way through and Bale's cool presence that he brings alone demands a view.
Albert K

Super Reviewer

September 18, 2010
Action's cool for like the first 5 minutes. The production value is obviously much more slimmer then its counterpart "The Matrix" and has much less interesting plot with little to no character development. Cinematography is ugly as well.
paul o.
paul o.

Super Reviewer

January 16, 2012
Gun Kata at its best, everything else....not so much. Its has its flaws and some may overcome it but in the end, its just a very mediocre sci-fi film.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 4, 2007
Its quite an enjoyable movie, action packed which is great and a very believable futuristic movie.
I love the concept although at times i still think it has floors in the plot but other than that its a movie thats worth a watch.
If you like sci-fi movies such as matrix then you will like this movie!
Ken S

Super Reviewer

March 26, 2007
To make an Equilibrium cocktail you take one part Brave New World, mix in a jigger of gun porn, shake till cool and then strain into a Matrix-shaped glass.

What you get sounds a little silly and tastes like a big old bowl of fruity pebbles. Good for those nights when you want a little more style over a little less substance.
jamers2011
jamers2011

Super Reviewer

January 1, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! I loved every second of this film. Definitely on of the most underrated films I have ever seen before. I do not know why it received such negative reviews or why it grossed so little at the box office (only 5mil).
Although similar to many novels and other films, Equilibrium still stands alone. The seemingly cliche story is brilliantly executed by the main character played by Christian Bale. He gives a brilliant performance that reminds me why he's my favorite actor. Even though some of the other actors are only okay, his performance gives the film a whole other dimension of depthness that it would have otherwise lacked.The action is really unique and original, too. Very enjoyable to watch.
Again, I cannot tell of how underrated this film is. It is simply fantastic, engaging, emotional, suspenseful.....it's great. Definitely one of my new favorites!
Do yourself a favor, watch this film!
Emile T

Super Reviewer

November 23, 2007
Equilibrium interested me because Christian Bale has the principle role, but I wasn't expecting THAT from the movie ! And I surely wasn't expecting this great performance from Bale, even though he is such a great actor.
I wasn't that impressed with the guns fights and the action scenes, but I thought it shows greatly its message: you are alive, but are you really living ?
I'm still wondering why I haven't seen this before.
Bravo Christian Bale.
Thomas J

Super Reviewer

February 2, 2008
A really nice sci-fi film that borrows a few special effect ideas from The Matrix. Seeing the effects of hatred now in society, it is an interesting view of a society without emotion. I enjoyed much more than the critics - as usual!!
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

October 24, 2010
Incredibly underrated, Equilibrium clearly borrows from The Matrix and classic sci-fi such as Fahrenheit 451 and 1984, but even so it is a great film thanks to the main character's personal emotional conflict and the intense, well-choreographed fighting scenes.
Gx7
Gx7

Super Reviewer

July 8, 2008
Over the top cheese-tastic movie ruined by an emotional faced actor (Taye Diggs, horrible choice). Dominic Purcell, how hot is this guy? Sizzle sizzle!

Christian Bale, cant quite get his charisma, oh hes also got a side lip thing no?
familiar s

Super Reviewer

January 6, 2009
Of late, it was getting difficult for me to use the 'suspension of disbelief' skill. And this movie required it big time. However, soon I found that it was too easy with this one. I guess, it all depends on whether the movie has the power to absorb you in it or not. And this flick scores a home run in that area. The only thing that I felt out of place was Christian Bale's acting. Somehow, I felt that he wasn't displaying the emotions appropriately. No, I'm not talking about the parts wherein he's to play the feeling-less guy, I'm talking about the ones where his feelings should be quite apparent. It should come natural, but instead it feels like he's sleepwalking during those scenes. That's the only problem I'd with the flick. Otherwise, all's well. A great action movie with a decent storyline to it. I wonder why this movie is relatively less popular & I hardly ever happen to stumble upon it.

Just shockingly noticed (adding this sentence after reading it) that only 37% critics liked it!!! It's definitely no masterpiece, but it's not an utter trash either. Oh well; to each, his own.
nelsonpickens
nelsonpickens

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2010
Its a shameless halfwit remake of Truffaut's "Fahrenheit 451", but this has Christian Bale with a 400+ body count
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 19, 2009
A great action movie that had an interesting message. Christian Bale gave an amazing performance both verbally and physically, no one beats people to death and chops heads off like Preston. The look of the movie was done quite well. I feel that in many ways, it is a better film than The Matrix.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 28, 2009
Silly but enjoyable enough!
Jani H

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2007
"I'm not feeling! He is the one who's feeling!"

Set in the post WW3, all mankind now live in a world without feelings. No love, no cries, no laughter, no nothing.

It seems hard for me to understand WHY people would want to live in a world like this. What would be their purpose in life?

There's a lot of philosophical martial arts elements in "Equilibrium". One, and probably the weirdest, is Gun-Fu; a mix of Kung Fu and pistol combat. Sounds strange and it is. And it doesn't even look that great. All of his "targets" just stand still and do nothing, but hey, John Preston (Christian Bale) has maxed his skills in it.

The production values haven't probably been that big in this movie and it can be seen. But that ain't the most important element in a film, the script is. It's difficult to look at a film where there's no feelings at all. Of course, as longer the story develops, we start to see the "soul" in the main characters, but this one is a strange one when looking at it for a first time.

Now, the second time around, "Equilibrium" worked better. I understood its philosophy and story better and enjoyed it much more. It has "cult" written all over it. It may get fans at some point but I guess you just have to give it more time.
Page 1 of 934
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile