Everyone's Hero - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Everyone's Hero Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Jane Boursaw
Common Sense Media
January 1, 2011
A bland feel-good flick with a positive message.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
May 10, 2007
Sweet and good-natured, but ultimately it's as unremarkable as its animation.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
October 27, 2006
Old-fashioned, sweet, but ultimately disposable family fare with echoes of better films from Toy Story to The Iron Giant.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Pete Croatto
Filmcritic.com
September 30, 2006
misguided and poorly executed
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Brian Clark
Austin Chronicle
September 30, 2006
Young boys may be enchanted by the inspirational adventure, but for anyone over the age of nine, Yankee's journey is ultimately a dull one paved with good intentions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
September 27, 2006
The setup of this computer-animated feature is strained, the story is contrived, and the ending is downright silly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Manny Lewis
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
September 23, 2006
While this might sound amusing, animated inanimate objects can only do so much bouncing and rolling before their shtick gets stale.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
September 23, 2006
I suspect that most kids will get more excitement and thrills out of even the most meaningless end-of-season regulation ball game than they will with this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
D. Scott Apel
Reel.com
September 23, 2006
The opportunity to talk to the kids who see this little film about the Reeves' story -- a real-life triumph of inspiration over tragedy -- is perhaps the best tribute to the couple this film provides.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
September 23, 2006
It's a shallow, treacly movie for children too little to question its many pointless puerilities.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
September 22, 2006
Way out of the league of any of the Disney/Pixar or Dreamworks animated films.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Brian Orndorf
FilmJerk.com
September 20, 2006
It's difficult to find out just how much work Reeve did on the picture before his death two years ago, but the credit is a curious button on a very strange CG animated film.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
September 19, 2006
A very unappealing animated feature about Babe Ruth, baseball, and family values.
Full Review| Original Score: 1/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
September 18, 2006
There is absolutely nothing hip or cool about Everyone's Hero, but it's so sweet, and so pleasant, and so nice that I found it impossible to dislike.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
September 18, 2006
A sweet but very forgettable animated adventure.
Fred Topel
Can Magazine
September 17, 2006
Maybe I don't know what kids today like, but I have sympathy for the parents. This movie is so stupid. If I were four, I'd much rather just watch Baby Einstein on a continuous loop. At least it looks pretty.
Rafe Telsch
CinemaBlend.com
September 17, 2006
I left the theatre wishing I could return to the days when I was a lot more like Yankee Irving than I'd care to admit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
September 15, 2006
The movie is a feast of miscalculations.
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
September 15, 2006
... a modestly engaging mix of broad comedy and nostalgic fable, spiked with a few unwelcome sprinklings of gross-out gags.
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
September 15, 2006
Everyone's Hero is a sweet, inspirational movie that doesn't offer any surprises, but entertains youthful audiences in a gentle, almost old-fashioned way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 4