• PG-13, 1 hr. 47 min.
  • Drama, Romance
  • Directed By:
    Ulu Grosbard
    In Theaters:
    Nov 21, 1984 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jan 15, 2002
  • Paramount Home Video

Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Falling in Love Reviews

Page 1 of 15
Nicki M

Super Reviewer

January 19, 2008
Okay movie. I had not seen this before. I guess for me the main problem was the two main characters were both married to other people and both mature and frumpy enough to know better.
He's a construction worker dad of two and she's a housewife who is not working as she needs to be available for her ailing father.
Neither of their spouses are awful or treat them badly, where you could even understand why they might stray. Both spouses are also unremarkable, dull, just like our two leads.
I didn't buy the connection between the two at all. Not to say the acting is bad, it's not at all, they just don't make a convincing pair.
This just feels very based towards a late 30's up market, but I'm now there myself and also married "forever" and I can't even relate to the pair of them. I can't see either what was so bad in their current partners, or what was so great about the pair of them.
Okay tv viewing, but definitely Meryl has done better.
Sajin P

Super Reviewer

January 8, 2011
A simple romantic story, but somehow it touches you deep, maybe it had to do with the powerful performance of its actors.
Would have liked the movie even better with a sad ending, though. It looked like it was on the cards.
I was very surprised to see how easily De-Niro portrayed the role of a simple common man. Never imagined a scene involving De-Niro, asking hopefully to his friend "Do you think I am good-looking?".
Lady D

Super Reviewer

June 4, 2007
I?m not sure I like De Niro so much in romantic roles, he was still pretty good in this and so was Meryl Streep, but I just prefer his other tougher roles, I guess he did too, otherwise he would have made more. Maybe the romance was not tragic enough for my liking.

Still, a good watch, but not high up on the De Niro/Streep leader board of films.
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

February 14, 2008
I wish Molly Gilmore would have got hit by the train. Then her husband wouldn't be with a cheater and Frank Raftis would go home to his wife and kids where he belongs.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

December 22, 2009
The story revolves around two married suburbanites, Frank and Molly, who meet in a New York bookshop while Christmas shopping, and later encounter each other on a commuter train, first by accident, then (as their mutual attraction grows) by design. It is amazing how only a few meetings turns into obsession, and it is obviously when bad things happen to them both, and their marriages, that you wonder if they should be together. The movie examines the guilt-factor in the idea of an extra-marital fling and have us the viewers pondering, "Will they get together? Will they not? Can two happily married, reasonable upper middle class people be led by a chance encounter to abandon their goodhearted spouses and tear apart their children's home? I guess you have to watch it to find out or I can just put you out of your agony and tell you now lol.
mvieaddict
mvieaddict

Super Reviewer

October 2, 2010
Falling in love was just a sweet romantic love story to watch. Man and woman at any given time of history can relate to it and that was the beauty of it. This was an example of how such remarkable acting can bring the simplest of stories so alive.Robert De Niro and Meryl Streep had outdone themselves in this movie bringing such deep feelings in such a simple story. And they made you feel it, making you aware of their shortcomings and love.Robert de Niro is such a great actor, always bringing his charisma and sex appeal alive, and here he was able to show himself as a regular simple man,falling in love with a married woman.Meryl Streep was outstanding as usual and together, they brought depth to the story and they did very well in portraying their characters,
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2009
Theres is amazing chemistry here but it gets a bit muddled with the passage of time and the confusion over whether or not they are doing the wrong thing. They say they didn't have an affair but if they chickened out at the last minute. doesn't that mean it still counts?
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

December 20, 2007
Interesting.
jam233
December 21, 2009
Sensitive and well acted, along the lines of Brief Encounter, but of course nowhere near in it's league. Still, holds it's own. Believable and nicely written. Anything with Meryl Streep is worth a look.
ouleyedieng
October 21, 2009
Two of my favorite actors. I live the movies so I understand the feelings. I also respect the fact that I can watch it with my kids as well. It reminds me a lot about New York City my favorite town and during my high school years I use to commute on the trains to meet my boyfriend as well. I love this movie.
blanna516
October 12, 2009
A persons life is not always in the perfect mode and ready to accept real love when it comes... sometimes it happens to married people. I like the fact that they where split from their spouses for some time before they actually got together. Nice performance by two great actors.
pingfarrah
October 9, 2009
Dont find love, let love find you.Thats why its called Falling in love,bec. you dont force ypurself to fall, you just fall!
sexysadie03
October 4, 2009
Wow, I can't believe it. They actually came together again. I liked it. Not everyone's kind of movie because it's pretty slow. Good enough if you are patient and watch through it. Wow!!!!!
politerudy
September 25, 2009
"love always find its ways" sometimes it seems like isn't the right way to find it but love will find you! and is up to us to let it skip away just because to everybody's eyes is the "right " thing to do. "Never regret what once make you happy"
robinhuff2000
July 26, 2009
It's just more of the same old cheating on your spouse kind of movie. Slow, not enough conversation. How can two people with completely other lives meet, fall in love and cheat? At christmas time, imagine that? Of course I did not watch the whole thing so it may of been better.
carebear1979to2008
June 28, 2009
It was a very good casting, but it was just to slow an not enough telling of the real feelings of all the people who were having to go through it all.
latinorick71
April 5, 2009
nothing but the train station and not getting it and oh so damn boring that i must have sleep for at least 6 hrs and the movie still wasn't over. what a waste
hearredant
February 22, 2009
I tell you. The only way this movie could have POSSIBLY been more difficult to sit through, would be if it were in technicolor. Yep.
mchlllgrn
March 1, 2007
When I first saw this I loved it. Then it troubled me. Now I think it speaks more to human frailty than love.
April 14, 2006
It's was decent. However when I think romantic lead... you know DeNiro just pops right to mind. Especially if he's coupled with Meryl Streep.
Page 1 of 15
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile