Farewell, My Queen Reviews

Top Critic

Miami Herald
January 22, 2013
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
August 24, 2012
Jacquot has chosen wisely in casting Léa Seydoux in the key role of Sidonie, whose luminous but watchful eyes suggest a soul wise beyond her years.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
August 10, 2012
"Farewell, My Queen" is a layer cake of royal pleasures, rote protocols and revolutionary politics. For skeptics who thought this story had grown stale, let them eat their words.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
August 8, 2012
The details of the plot are unimportant: that is the main point made by the skillful director, Benoît Jacquot. It is the slowness with which they realize what is happening that fascinates.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
August 2, 2012
Although it was shot at Versailles, and its actors are dressed to the 18th-century nines, Farewell, My Queen has a loose, reportorial intimacy about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
July 27, 2012
As we follow her through the monarchy's abrupt collapse, "Farewell, My Queen" gives us intimate, unflaggingly energetic history as seen from the servants' quarters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
July 26, 2012
The foreboding and chaos contrast neatly with the lavish costumes and sets.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
July 26, 2012
We know what will happen, of course, but Jacquot still manages to create tension, as well as a semi-soap opera, among the let-them-cake-eaters of post-Enlightenment France.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
July 26, 2012
"Farewell, My Queen" is worth a look simply for its look.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mark Feeney
Boston Globe
July 26, 2012
The guillotine's blade is, as yet, nowhere to be heard. But you can feel Jacquot's pleasure is slicing and dicing this material in novel ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
July 19, 2012
Jacquot takes a refreshingly understated approach to costume drama, avoiding historical generalizations to focus on the particulars of palace life and the psychological states of individual characters.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 19, 2012
Benoit Jacquot's engrossing film tells a story we know well, seen from a point of view we may not have considered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
July 13, 2012
It's a strangely unsatisfying combination of bloodless observations and unresolved sexuality. But Diane Kruger's queen, a mature beauty mourning the loss of her youth, is a vivid portrait of willfulness, childishness and genuine neediness.
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
July 13, 2012
Just in time for Bastille Day! -- this is a nice corrective to the new-wave madness of Sofia Coppola's "Marie Antoinette."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
July 13, 2012
Jacquot's lavish décor and costumes are like the perfume the women use instead of bathing: They may cover up the willful carelessness at the center of the project, but it's still there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
July 12, 2012
Matching the strength of these actresses and their personal drama is the film's masterful sense of time and place - the way it makes us feel that this was how it was during four pivotal days in July 1789 as the wheels came off the French monarchy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
July 12, 2012
Deftly captures the sense of impending revolution from within the mirrored halls of Versailles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
July 12, 2012
Benoît Jacquot's tense, absorbing, pleasurably original look at three days in the life and lies of a doomed monarch ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
July 12, 2012
Farewell, My Queen has some routine period-drama moments, but at its boldest it foretells a time when a single girl can be a free woman.
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
July 12, 2012
Think of it as eating a rather rich piece of cake - even if the real Marie Antoinette never actually did suggest anything of the kind.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
July 12, 2012
It stays on the surface, but at least that surface is gorgeous.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
July 11, 2012
Farewell, My Queen was shot in Versailles, but its flat schematism only highlights that the backdrops had a better story to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
July 10, 2012
Jacquot ... turns his audience into Peeping Toms, limiting our views of Her Majesty and her entourage in accordance with where Sidonie happens to be at a given moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
July 10, 2012
The pleasure of Jacquot's film is in watching various strains of discreet, heated, and deluded passionate attachment performed.
Top Critic
Justin Chang
Variety
July 9, 2012
A well-observed but emotionally muted costume drama.
Top Critic
Richard Brody
New Yorker
July 2, 2012
Jacquot gazes avidly at this closed-in world of women; if his camera pressed any closer to them, it would be subcutaneous.
Top Critic
Jon Frosch
The Atlantic
June 11, 2012
Jacquot injects a welcome shot of immediacy into the costume drama proceedings with an off-center vantage point and dynamic camerawork.
Top Critic
Deborah Young
Hollywood Reporter
February 10, 2012
Historical drama set in the early days of the French revolution is intelligent Euro eye candy at its most lavish.