Farewell, My Queen Reviews


Miami Herald
Top Critic
January 22, 2013

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
Top Critic
August 24, 2012

Jacquot has chosen wisely in casting Léa Seydoux in the key role of Sidonie, whose luminous but watchful eyes suggest a soul wise beyond her years.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Top Critic
August 10, 2012

"Farewell, My Queen" is a layer cake of royal pleasures, rote protocols and revolutionary politics. For skeptics who thought this story had grown stale, let them eat their words.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
Top Critic
August 8, 2012

The details of the plot are unimportant: that is the main point made by the skillful director, Benoît Jacquot. It is the slowness with which they realize what is happening that fascinates.

Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
Top Critic
August 2, 2012

Although it was shot at Versailles, and its actors are dressed to the 18th-century nines, Farewell, My Queen has a loose, reportorial intimacy about it.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Top Critic
July 27, 2012

As we follow her through the monarchy's abrupt collapse, "Farewell, My Queen" gives us intimate, unflaggingly energetic history as seen from the servants' quarters.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
Top Critic
July 26, 2012

The foreboding and chaos contrast neatly with the lavish costumes and sets.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Anderson
Newsday
Top Critic
July 26, 2012

We know what will happen, of course, but Jacquot still manages to create tension, as well as a semi-soap opera, among the let-them-cake-eaters of post-Enlightenment France.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
Top Critic
July 26, 2012

"Farewell, My Queen" is worth a look simply for its look.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mark Feeney
Boston Globe
Top Critic
July 26, 2012

The guillotine's blade is, as yet, nowhere to be heard. But you can feel Jacquot's pleasure is slicing and dicing this material in novel ways.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
Top Critic
July 19, 2012

Jacquot takes a refreshingly understated approach to costume drama, avoiding historical generalizations to focus on the particulars of palace life and the psychological states of individual characters.

Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic
July 19, 2012

Benoit Jacquot's engrossing film tells a story we know well, seen from a point of view we may not have considered.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
July 13, 2012

It's a strangely unsatisfying combination of bloodless observations and unresolved sexuality. But Diane Kruger's queen, a mature beauty mourning the loss of her youth, is a vivid portrait of willfulness, childishness and genuine neediness.

Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
July 13, 2012

Just in time for Bastille Day! -- this is a nice corrective to the new-wave madness of Sofia Coppola's "Marie Antoinette."

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kyle Smith
New York Post
Top Critic
July 13, 2012

Jacquot's lavish décor and costumes are like the perfume the women use instead of bathing: They may cover up the willful carelessness at the center of the project, but it's still there.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
July 12, 2012

Matching the strength of these actresses and their personal drama is the film's masterful sense of time and place - the way it makes us feel that this was how it was during four pivotal days in July 1789 as the wheels came off the French monarchy.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Claudia Puig
USA Today
Top Critic
July 12, 2012

Deftly captures the sense of impending revolution from within the mirrored halls of Versailles.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
Top Critic
July 12, 2012

Benoît Jacquot's tense, absorbing, pleasurably original look at three days in the life and lies of a doomed monarch ...

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Mark Jenkins
NPR
Top Critic
July 12, 2012

Farewell, My Queen has some routine period-drama moments, but at its boldest it foretells a time when a single girl can be a free woman.

Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
Top Critic
July 12, 2012

Think of it as eating a rather rich piece of cake - even if the real Marie Antoinette never actually did suggest anything of the kind.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Scott Tobias
AV Club
Top Critic
July 12, 2012

It stays on the surface, but at least that surface is gorgeous.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
July 11, 2012

Farewell, My Queen was shot in Versailles, but its flat schematism only highlights that the backdrops had a better story to tell.

Full Review | Original Score: C
Keith Uhlich
Time Out New York
Top Critic
July 10, 2012

Jacquot ... turns his audience into Peeping Toms, limiting our views of Her Majesty and her entourage in accordance with where Sidonie happens to be at a given moment.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
Top Critic
July 10, 2012

The pleasure of Jacquot's film is in watching various strains of discreet, heated, and deluded passionate attachment performed.

Justin Chang
Variety
Top Critic
July 9, 2012

A well-observed but emotionally muted costume drama.

Richard Brody
New Yorker
Top Critic
July 2, 2012

Jacquot gazes avidly at this closed-in world of women; if his camera pressed any closer to them, it would be subcutaneous.

Jon Frosch
The Atlantic
Top Critic
June 11, 2012

Jacquot injects a welcome shot of immediacy into the costume drama proceedings with an off-center vantage point and dynamic camerawork.

Deborah Young
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
February 10, 2012

Historical drama set in the early days of the French revolution is intelligent Euro eye candy at its most lavish.