Opening

40% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
40% If I Stay Aug 22
19% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
6% Are You Here Aug 22
96% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
15% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
39% Step Up: All In $2.7M
61% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

Premieres Tonight

20% BoJack Horseman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Final Countdown Reviews

Page 1 of 21
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

September 10, 2011
The Final Countdown is a unique and original film that delivers terrific thrills. With a fine cast of talented actors, director Don Taylor crafts this Action Sci Fi film that tells the story of the USS Nimitz send back through time on December 6, 1941, one day before the attack on Pearl Harbor by the Japanese. The plot is wonderful, and director Don Taylor crafts a film that definitely is entertaining from start to finish. Sure the film's premise is absurd, and not believable, but that's what makes this such a thrilling film. This is a must see for Sci Fi fans who enjoy a different type of film. The strength of the film lies with its cast and effective directing. Director Don Taylor presents us with a wonderful film that has some terrific visuals. There are plenty of things going for this film to make it worth seeing and the film ends up being so much fun that you just don't care how ridiculous the premise is. This is a popcorn flick pure and simple. This meant for mindless entertainment, and it most certainly does that. If you want a really amusing, then check this one out. The film may have its flaws, but it certainly is a terrific film that is not meant to be taken seriously. With a great cast that delivers on-screen, The Final Countdown is a near flawless fun film that delivers a good plot with fine acting and it overcomes its flaws by being something original. Go into this film with an open mind, you're sure to enjoy, just don't expect a masterpiece. In terms of popcorn films, The Final Countdown is one of the best.
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

September 21, 2012
Hard to believe this excellent movie came out in 1980, It was really enjoyable then and still enjoyable today. Great to see the carrier ops from 1980 time frame which haven't change much except for the aircraft on board the carrier. The Nimitz time travels back to the day before pearl harbor an is drawn into battle with Japan, well almost. 5 stars 9-18-12
blkbomb
blkbomb

Super Reviewer

July 19, 2012
Captain Yelland: Today is December 7, 1941... I'm sure we are all aware of the significance of this date in this place in history. We are going to fight a battle that was lost before most of you were born. This time, with God's help, its going to be different... Good Luck. 

"Nothing in the world can prepare you for..."

The Final Countdown is a terrible movie. You should know that. But it is one of those movies that is so bad, it's undeniably entertaining in its terribleness. Plus, a first rate cast make things go down a little better. Kirk Douglas commands the movie like a true film veteran. Martin Sheen is fine as well; as are Katherine Ross, James Farentino, and Charles Durning. Nobody is at their best, but how could you be with a movie as ridiculous as this one. 

Umm... plot; get ready. In the 1980's, the U.S.S. Nimitz is at sea, when they enter into a storm, the like of which none of them have ever seen. All of a sudden, the storm stops. They are left in sunny skies, with no damage. Everyone looks at each other. What just happened? No one knows. Soon, evidence starts trickling in that begins to make them believe they have traveled through time to December 6, 1941. Yes, the day before Pearl Harbor. When a run in with some Japanese planes confirms this; they are left to decide whether they should take action and risk changing history or let history run its course. 

Obviously, none of this is supposed to be taken seriously, but it plays itself out in a way that makes me think director Don Taylor was taking it seriously. It's a what if movie. What if a modern aircraft carrier was dropped into a battle that happened 40 years ago? What if we changed history? What if? What if? What if? That's all this movie is, is what if. 

I'm not going to say that the movie is one of the worst movies in history because it isn't. It may be one of the stupidest, but it isn't the worst. There are some redeeming qualities that make the watch more interesting. The film also made me think that making terrible movies would be the most fun job in the world. Sure, you're not going to make a lot of money and people are going to despise your work, but coming up with stupid, off the wall stuff like this and then actually filming it. It's every stoners wet dream.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

April 1, 2007
not believable but fun
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

March 3, 2007
Enjoyable time travel fantasy that dumps a modern day aircraft carrier in the path of the attacking japanese force on the eve of Pearl Harbor. Kirk Douglas and Martin Sheen add weight to the cast, and although the idea isn't fully fleshed out, and the direction rather lacklustre and "TV movie", it's still an entertaining diversion. Fans of TV series Quantum Leap will love it.
DrLappos
DrLappos

Super Reviewer

August 16, 2007
Great film for its time...
April 20, 2013
Seemed more like a armed forces propaganda film than much else. Also, the reference to "The Twilight Zone" seemed especially relevant. With such a cast, it was a surprise they all participated in this one.
March 5, 2012
Despite the presence of some great actors, and a pretty interesting concept, the movie itself just doesn't know what to do with itself. It meanders to the finish line, and rarely steps too far out of line. A bolder script with a much more dramatic ending would have helped. Also, you won't hear any songs by Europe.
iamthethinman
December 4, 2011
This was a movie with a interesting idea and excellent cast that really just squandered it on...I'm not sure what. It just kind of wandered around real action and portrayed itself as something floating in the middle of the giant expanse of the ocean. Wait, that's what this movie is about.

So, with that, this movie really shouldn't have had the effect that it did have when it jumped back in time. It was all way to coincidental while still managing to really do nothing at all in the grand scheme of things. And there were already the tools then and even in WWII that this really would have caused something to resonate into the "present" besides the twist.

This movie is really just moderate for what should have been a lot more interesting.
August 20, 2011
An interesting plot to say the least with a few historical inaccuracies, but a good movie none the less.
spike001975
August 15, 2009
Good movie with a good plot, which raises the question: If we went back in time, do we have the right to change history for the better?
Sunshineyness
July 11, 2009
Every- now and then there's a movie on paper that you think you should like but don't. All the main actors I truly enjoy. (Kirk Douglas! Martin Sheen! Katherine Ross!) It has time travel in it, WW2 stuff and a bit of a love story. I should like this movie. Unfortunately the whole movie falls very, very flat. GREAT concept, but terribly boring execution and suffers from too much "what was the point of this movie?" This movie also suffers from a good case of "the navy let us actually shoot on a naval carrier! How COOL is THAT?! Let's get lots of military porn in there! Let's use every shot we can! Look at those jets soar!"

This is one of those few cases where I honestly think a remake would be interesting. Good concept and idea, terrible execution.
skuzzlebutt
July 8, 2009
Great, great movie. Solid actors, direction, and photography. A modern-day aircraft carrier ends up in the middle of the Pacific Dec. 6, 1941 with a huge ethical dilemma: whether to turn the firepower of the USS Nimitz against the Japanese sneak attack on Pearl Harbor. This film has an ending that will make you sit up, slackjawed, and say "OMG"!
November 23, 2008
This was a great time travel movie, on a routine training excercise an aircraft carrier set off out of Pearl Harbor and encounters a freak storm which sends them back to Dec. 6th 1941 the day before Japan attacked Pearl Harbo, so they decide should they change history and stop the Japanese with their modern aircraft or not interfere with history?
grayavec
October 7, 2008
Good film that could have been better. If they'd made this film in the last five years, almost everything would have been CGI'd. I liked the story line, but it seemed a bit convenient that they made almost no difference in the past, not enough to change the future. Although, the surprise at the ending wasn't much of a surprise.
December 28, 2007
Besides Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan , an Apocalypse Now, I think this is one of the first movies I ever saw.... I think they were all recorded on the same video tape by my dad...
September 3, 2007
A strange electrical storm hurls the nuclear carrier Nimitz back in time to just prior to the attack on Pearl Harbor. Once the commander realizes where he is he makes the decision to launch an attack. The real-life footage of the launching of the fighter squadrons is stupendous. Glad this was made before computer generated graphics. Check this one out with your surround system on HIGH.
mattdemille
July 21, 2007
Perhaps the best time-travel movie ever, because it treats the subject realistically and is convincing doing it. Best part: The possibilities it opens your mind up to.
davidthedancer
June 5, 2007
Its cheesy. It stretches the realm of believability to and beyond any possible breaking point. The acting was ok, the plot interesting. But I was 20. I love playing "what if" in history and it was the verry first pic i saw in SENSORROUND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! teehee... Outstanding filc.
MovieGuruDude72
May 24, 2007
Worth a viewing just to see the the F-14 Tomcats obliterate two Japanese World War II war planes. A pretty decent movie.
Page 1 of 21
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile