Footloose Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
My Sunday shoes remain intact.
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
June 30, 2013
This remake could have audiences tapping their feet... as they wait for it to end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Billy Tatum
We Got This Covered
February 11, 2013
FEMA can take a day off because Footloose is one remake that won't be called a natural disaster, in fact, it's one hell of a good film.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 6, 2013
Director Craig Brewer has Southernized the story...made it lighter on its feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant
October 2, 2012
It's unlikely that Brewer's Footloose will persuade many remake skeptics but the film does deliver surprisingly enjoyable character drama and exciting choreography.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
March 4, 2012
I can easily imagine this FOOTLOOSE being looked back on down the road as the film that launched these names much like how the '84 film is reflected on in terms of Bacon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
January 13, 2012
You either go all the way with it or simply roll your eyes when confronted by its terrible, cynical crassness.
Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
Ebert Presents At The Movies
January 4, 2012
I'm sure there was some great choreography and some great dancing that went into this movie. You don't see any of it.
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
It's taken me a long time to come to grips with this cinematic weakness - or maybe it's a blessing. I like dance movies, especially if the music is bouncy and it makes the characters happy. That's an infectious film sequence for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
November 8, 2011
It's as if the filmmakers decided, 'We're sticking with the basic script, but this ain't your mama's 'Footloose.'
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
November 4, 2011
The latest Footloose is a step up from recent dance flicks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Neil Pond
American Profile
October 28, 2011
The characters, the scenes, the dancing, even much of the dialogue are all plugged into a rigidly prefabricated storyline that treats its 1984 predecessor more as holy writ instead of perishable Reagan-era cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 25, 2011
It seems torn by a desire to appeal to every contemporary teenager's rebellious side, but remains too scared to cut loose from the things that made the original appeal to their parents.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
October 24, 2011
An unnecessary, though enjoyable, remake of Kevin Bacon's 1984 breakout hit.
Dan Lybarger
MovieMaker Magazine
October 21, 2011
The makers of 'Footloose 2.0' can be faulted for actually sticking too closely to the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
October 21, 2011
While the 2011 version of the film doesn't suck, it isn't as good as the original ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
October 19, 2011
Better than I thought it would be, but not as good as I hoped it would be.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
October 19, 2011
...the film's overlength ultimately prevent[s] it from becoming the propulsive piece of work Brewer has clearly intended.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
October 18, 2011
The dancing sequences are terrific - even the line-dancing is tolerable - but what really sells this quality reboot are the dashes of reality missing from the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

Film4
October 18, 2011
If you haven't seen the original and are happy to ignore some of the more mad script decisions, you might get a kick out of it, but otherwise, youre better off re-watching the movie that started it all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 9