Opening

17% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
53% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
73% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Funeral Kings Reviews

Page 1 of 2
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2013
It's a funny adolescent film. The boys in the movie are really good in this.
The two boys, Charlie and Andy take the job as altar boys at their school so they can get out class with every funeral. Then they skip the rest of the day and get into a lot of trouble. It was a fun film.
Ida K

Super Reviewer

November 18, 2012
***SPOILER ALERT*** I love coming of age movies and this one involves Catholic altar boys. It reminded me a little of the movie "Stand By Me." I was all ready to give it 3.5 stars until they shot the dog. The ending was terribly unsatisfying.
thepersonwhowatchesmovies
August 12, 2012
(Funeral Kings was shown as part of the Rhode Island International Film Festival)

The directing duo of Kevin McManus and Matthew McManus begin their debut feature with someone else's end: An in progress funeral procession. Family and friends of the newly departed grieve and sadly weep as the now deceased elderly man lays in his casket, wearing his final suit. An older priest is leading the somber occasion, quietly chanting prayers as the man's loved ones tearfully look onward; filled with both sadness and melancholy. Two twelve year old altar boys are assisting the priest with the procession, but their focus isn't on the suitably depressing event, nor the man whose precious life had just been stripped away. Rather, it is on the gigantic hanging breasts of a college aged mourner, leaning down to wipe the tears from her face. For these almost teenagers, funerals, religion, and common decency don't nearly compare to simply staring at boobies. Just from the opening alone, you know exactly what you're getting: The typical teenagers-wanna-get-laid-and-be-cool raunchy comedy, but this time, you know, with kids instead.

There's an almost gimmicky lowest common denominator comedy in watching tweens swear like sailors and act like wannabe college players, and even during the beginning funeral procession, the McManus brothers' script reaches Kevin Smith levels of profanity. Dylan Hartigan, Alex Maizus, and to a lesser extent Charles Odei, are essentially written and played as three younger versions of Jay from Smith's Clerks, with the scene stealing innocent Jordan Puzzo to serve as their reluctant Silent Bob. Together the gang rob movie rental houses for porn, carelessly shoot handguns, try to go to high school parties, blow off class, smoke cigarettes, attempt to get laid, set off illegal fireworks, get back at drug dealers, and help with funerals for the free wine. They're carefree, rebellious, and some of the most unlikable protagonists I've seen in a very long time.

Once the wild antics of the gang eventually get tiresome somewhere around the 30 minute mark, it quickly becomes apparent that there's no real reason for this movie to exist. The characters are sadly unfleshed out and two-dimensional, the script keeps pumping out four letter words until they've completely lost impact, and the plot is flimsy at best. The McManus brothers seem to believe that we enjoy the gimmickry of swearing kids enough that no substance is necessary, but this isn't the case at all. Maybe as a short this philosophy would've worked, but for a feature is fails miserably.

If you believe Nickelodeon or the Disney Channel need to be far edgier, this movie may be for you. It has all the plot of a mediocre sitcom about about tweens, just with a lot more profanity and irritation. In fact, this very select group may be the only possible audience for the film. Simply put: It's not very good. At all.

Grade: D+
February 16, 2014
You could name this Stand By Me 2 - it is a great story and excellent acting!
December 9, 2013
A true coming-of-age story by showing what's really on kids' minds.
December 6, 2013
The acting is actually pretty solid and the filmmakers show some promise, but the movie runs out of things to say in a matter of minutes and the middle-schoolers-cursing gimmick quickly loses its appeal
November 15, 2013
Light-hearted and fun. Worth checking out.
August 31, 2013
The three main teens give phenomenal performances yet maintain realism. It is a shame the plot did not extend to its full potential.
Cory S.
August 11, 2013
With a Tomatometer of 88% I expected better, but there were parts that were especially endearing if you grew up boy in suburbia America.
GeorgiaMoxie
August 16, 2013
The description "it's always a good day for a funeral" is pretty contrived but it's true enough that the boys take advantage of skipping school to pretend to be more worldly than they are. It's a more modern coming of age story but still is the same basic story. Kids act like they are tough and mature but find themselves in over their heads and get a reality check when they get put in their place. I agree with what others said about you seeing interesting plot lines start but never followed through with it, especially with the former alter boy getting in trouble with the drug dealers. So the point of that is we are supposed to guess that is where the boys lives are headed...there was a line in there somewhere about choosing who you want to be in life. The biggest element of suspense was guessing who was going to get shot because you totally see it coming the first time they see the gun in the trunk. I actually hoped it would be one of the main two characters and admitting that oddly enough doesn't make me feel guilty.
August 1, 2013
The movie works because of the hilarious and realistic way it portrays these 14 year-olds. We've all known kids like this growing up- horny, selfish, rude kids who you probably shouldn't be hanging out with, but still do. Funeral Kings captures the essence of being a kid so well, that any script-related problems can easily be ignored
May 27, 2013
Comédia simpática que conta a adolescência de 4 garotos "coroinhas" em uma cidade americana. Bem bacana, bem filmado e serviu para mostrar que nem só de perder a virgindade vive uma adolescência. Problemas, aventuras, medos e tudo que a adolescência tem de melhor. Muito bom, recomendo viu!

Ps. Os atores são de uma idade correspondente ao personagem, nada mais canastrão do que gente de 25 fazendo papel de 16.
April 29, 2013
One of the funniest movies about selfish, vulgar, horny 14-year-olds in quite some time.
March 3, 2013
I didn't like this film as much as I wanted to, but those kids need a good beating.
March 19, 2013
good movie but is that how you end your movie
March 3, 2013
It is over and all I can say is...thats it? Terrific music.
March 2, 2013
Adolescent dilemmas, oh boy. I really do get what they were going for here, honestly, I do. It's daring and inventive, but I also don't find too much of it funny, nor do I find any of these young personalities fleshed out enough to even begin to relate to.
October 28, 2012
FINE. don't see this movie. it's your "funeral!" LOLOLOLOL
March 18, 2012
It suffers a bit from bad dialogue and acting (they're kids, come on), but for the most part it's very funny and entertaining, and the montages set to music are incredible.
Page 1 of 2
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile