Opening

90% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
81% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
36% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
63% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
24% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
88% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

The Killing

—— The Killing: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

100% The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Garden Party Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Christopher H

Super Reviewer

November 23, 2011
Garden Party has the feel of a made-for-TV look at life in Los Angeles. The actors and actresses that we've grown accustomed to seeing in the passenger seat are given semi-leading roles. Vinessa Shaw is sexy and sultry, allowing for the possibly the only stand out performance of the film, though Willa Holland of The O.C. fame stands her ground comfortably.
shanehaley41
shanehaley41

Super Reviewer

January 19, 2009
Two stars is still being gracious. Weed, porn, underage drinking, porn, weed, kinky pictures and weed.
DaGMan4280
May 3, 2011
not the greatest movie, not the greatest acting, and not nearly as gritty and graphic as it seems to attempt to be this very raw kinda movie, the story however feels almost as if there is no story other than lets see six peoples lives just convinently intertwine with one another and how life is just a one vicious cycle. the problem with this is that is without a doubt a good premise maybe one that has been done to death but good none the less, the problem here is that it needed to be a more aggresive, raw, and dark film with a sense of hope at the end even when the evil cycle was prepared to start again. that is the true flaw of this movie. it did however hold my interest and it can hold most peoples but this is one that if you hadnt seen it its really just ok im sure youll find a similiar movie that is most likely better than this one.
evelynmplyler
June 20, 2010
It's what happens in real life when you need help. You can't get something for nothing if your young to know your your resources.
ewiley823
March 6, 2010
My friends and I rented this because it looked ridiculous, and it did not disappoint. It did, however, make me lose some faith in humanity.
November 24, 2009
A day-in-the-life type indie where everyone intersects in various ways, but this is not one of those "Crash" type pictures. Two characters we have been following separately meet at a bar and start a small conversation. Nothing serious, and things don't go any further. The titular Garden Party is where most of the younger characters end up at. Decent time killer.
himroxxx22
September 8, 2009
This was a lot different than I expected..It was okay. I liked some of the story aspects but overall the plot was all over the place in an annoyingly un-organized fashion. Most of the seperate story lines didn't connect so they were unnecessary. It did, however, have an interesting look at how dark life can be and how easily someone can get mixed up with the wrong kind of people.
irishmark909
July 21, 2009
It's todays Movie... I feel, This writer and producer of this film have a grip on today's youth and their issues. Good film
tquarles
July 8, 2009
I thought is was a good movie, and it did just what it was supposed to. If you look past the forest you will see the trees. I saw a couple of homeless kids who although being in a bad situation made it out of the forest. It is written that the last shall be first. Now who would have thought that the office boy would find himself and go home to get his education, having found out that all that glitters ain't gold. The agent got her pictures not that it took them off the net but she felt better having them. I looked past the drugs and booze and saw that the people all had a purpose and with their own dreams in hand they got just what they wanted.
jerkme
June 17, 2009
Its an interesting movie but the problem is the story never goes anywhere. Just some people thrown together and there paths intertwine.
January 31, 2009
A very average indie drama that is never as edgy as it could be to set itself apart from numerous other indie dramas. I thought the characters were well-drawn enough, but it just felt like a little slice of life story in which we follow around a disparate group of people around who all inexplicably meet one another in Hollywood.

Worth a rental, but nothing earth-shatteringly new.
ginamarielopez
January 15, 2009
All I can say about this movie is there was a lot of pot smokin and sexy picture takin. And that was about it. This was kind of a Crash wannabe. With all the characters some how connected in the end but the problem with this movie is there was no emotion to it. I couldn't connect with any of the characters or their story line and in the end they were all just unintentionally humorous. Wierd. Plain wierd.
NickCoalNoir
December 24, 2008
This was alright. I only wanted to see it because of Vinessa Shaw. Her performance was okay. I didn't like all the sexual exploitation of April though.
kaylee54
July 11, 2008
i know it's an indie film, but was just plain bad. one of the characters was such an obvious knock off of vince vaugh, it made the entire film lack credibility. other cahracters were so far fetched - like the hot successful realator who gives her multi millios dollar clients litlle bags of weed and that somehow makes her the best realtor in la?? gimme a break... and wathcing a story about teens trying to get paid for sex is depressing - couldn't wait to leave.
December 10, 2013
A lovely little film, definitely a well deserved break for all the box office stupidities. I understand I would be in minority for liking this, but if you are looking for something little different and if you like very character oriented dramas, go for it. I just kind of had very good feeling watching it.
September 9, 2013
I think the only reason this is playing on cable is that Jennifer Lawrence is briefly in it.
Christopher H

Super Reviewer

November 23, 2011
Garden Party has the feel of a made-for-TV look at life in Los Angeles. The actors and actresses that we've grown accustomed to seeing in the passenger seat are given semi-leading roles. Vinessa Shaw is sexy and sultry, allowing for the possibly the only stand out performance of the film, though Willa Holland of The O.C. fame stands her ground comfortably.
June 9, 2011
Willa Holland plays April who runs off to Hollywood to escape from her sleazy step-father. There, she is introduced to an even sleazier fellow, a photographer who offers her cash to pose naked for the camera. She does what she has to in order to survive, as do Nathan, a farm boy from Nebraska who dreams of being a dancer, and Sammy, an aspiring singer.

The only person to make this film interesting is the gorgeous Vinessa Shaw. She plays Sally St. Clair, Internet nudie turned tough-as-nails real estate agent who has a soft spot for teenage drifters, especially ones who will tend to her marijuana plants. The other characters seem to wander through life aimlessly, casting shame and good sense aside while avoiding, entertaining, or humoring their predators.

Garden Party is a plain movie with equally plain characters that starts off painfully slow. It never fully satisfies. Certain vignettes end abruptly and new ones are introduced haphazardly. If anything, this film serves as a warning to young people with dreams of making it big in Hollywood. It isn't a fairytale journey and the Big Bad Wolf is lurking around every corner.
The Captain
June 16, 2010
Having friends who live in LA, Hollywood, Frisco, AND San Diego, I hear a lot of stories. I guess to truly appreciate this movie, one would have to have walked in one of the characters shoes. From the best of my own personal knowledge however, it seems to take a quick snap shot of some of these peoples lives. It roots in the confused, uncertain, and eager spirits of young people who aren't sure who they are or what they want out of life. In that sense, I can very much relate. Sometimes we stop and ask ourselves, who am I? What am I doing here? Where am I going? This movie isn't GREAT, but is certainly watchable, and entertained/interested me.
Page 1 of 8
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile