Glory Daze - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Glory Daze Reviews

Page 1 of 5
LWOODS04
Super Reviewer
September 1, 2009
About some college graduates who after all there time in college still don't have the slightest clue on what they want to do in life. It was an OK movie. It stars a young Ben Affleck. It was just some mediocre acting, Nothing speacial about this movie. Not worth seeing again.
Super Reviewer
January 8, 2008
A fun look at people who aren't ready to move on after college. They fear that all the fun is about to go away as they are forced into the real world. Good acting by up and coming folks and good characters.
Super Reviewer
August 23, 2007
This was filmed at the University of Santa Cruz, wear a bunch of my friends went and I pucked several times.

Worth seeing just for Matthew McConaughey as the sleazy car salesman.
½ March 2, 2016
I've been on a kick to pad out the IMDB ratings numbers that I have noticed are lacking, which means revisiting some stuff from the '90s and the various slacker dramas that proliferated at the time, and I wasn't surprised to find that this was one that hadn't aged well. It has a few moments and I like the cast, but more than anything it plays like Animal House for the Grunge set and I wasn't blown away by my 2nd viewing as a middle aged guy.

Rental?
August 24, 2014
Rancho Grande

Jack is overwhelmed by the idea of leaving college and moving on to a life of responsibility. As he talks to his other friends, some of which have already planned their future, others plan to drop out, and others just hope to have the guts to talk to their crushes, Jack decides it is in everyone's best interest if he stays at college as long as possible.

"Now you fucked up!"

Rich Wilkes, who worked on Airheads, xXx, xXx: State of the Union, Iron Fist, The Jerky Boys, and The Stoned Age, delivers Glory Daze in his directorial debut (and his only major motion picture directed to date). The storyline for this film is just okay and reminded me of a cross of Animal House and Van Wilder. The cast was more impressive in name more than by performance and includes Ben Affleck, Matthew McConaughey, Alyssa Milano, Sam Rockwell, Sean Whalen, and Megan Ward.

"You going to start hassling me already?"

This was a random movie I came across on Netflix and had to see because I had never heard of it despite the great list of cast members. I will say the story was only so well written and the characters could have been better developed (and Affleck's hair was scary bad). Overall, I'd probably skip this picture.

"He was a professional student."

Grade: C-
½ August 23, 2012
Overly angst ridden growing-up-and-what-do-we-do-now story most notable for it's cast, not just the main characters, but the cameos are full of well known faces.
½ December 16, 2011
It grew on me a little bit. I intially watched it due to the now famous cast. It reminded me of a real college house. This was before american pie which set a standard that every college movie had to be slapstick humor. I didn't feel like the guy with dreads fit and it would have been better with out him. On netflix streaming.
September 8, 2009
Such a fun movie, Animal House in the late 90s. Punk Rock, cameos and lots of drinking. Definitely reminds me fondly of my college days.
½ January 27, 2008
It's funny to see French Stewart in a semi-serious role and Brandon Frazer in on of his first parts (Guy On Bus #1).

It's sad to see Ben Afleck.
November 9, 2007
This movie will always remind me of college. A bit of comedy, a bit of drama. Good cast, good soundtrack. Highly quotable.
½ October 3, 2006
the cast coplimented one another realy well and the begining of the movie went nicely, the last half of the movie left some to be desired. The last scene was an improvement but the damage was already done.
½ March 2, 2016
I've been on a kick to pad out the IMDB ratings numbers that I have noticed are lacking, which means revisiting some stuff from the '90s and the various slacker dramas that proliferated at the time, and I wasn't surprised to find that this was one that hadn't aged well. It has a few moments and I like the cast, but more than anything it plays like Animal House for the Grunge set and I wasn't blown away by my 2nd viewing as a middle aged guy.

Rental?
August 24, 2014
Rancho Grande

Jack is overwhelmed by the idea of leaving college and moving on to a life of responsibility. As he talks to his other friends, some of which have already planned their future, others plan to drop out, and others just hope to have the guts to talk to their crushes, Jack decides it is in everyone's best interest if he stays at college as long as possible.

"Now you fucked up!"

Rich Wilkes, who worked on Airheads, xXx, xXx: State of the Union, Iron Fist, The Jerky Boys, and The Stoned Age, delivers Glory Daze in his directorial debut (and his only major motion picture directed to date). The storyline for this film is just okay and reminded me of a cross of Animal House and Van Wilder. The cast was more impressive in name more than by performance and includes Ben Affleck, Matthew McConaughey, Alyssa Milano, Sam Rockwell, Sean Whalen, and Megan Ward.

"You going to start hassling me already?"

This was a random movie I came across on Netflix and had to see because I had never heard of it despite the great list of cast members. I will say the story was only so well written and the characters could have been better developed (and Affleck's hair was scary bad). Overall, I'd probably skip this picture.

"He was a professional student."

Grade: C-
½ July 21, 2014
Thank God Ben Affleck is a good director/writer, because he sucks as an actor. The movie overall shows some grat ideas, but lacks development of some storylines...and the dialogues at times are atrocious.
November 17, 2013
This movie practically got me through college. It exemplifies the late 90's perfectly and has an awesome punk rock soundtrack to boot. I still put it on when I want to smile. Sure the acting sucks and the plot is thin but it brings me back to a time when life was all in front of me and the thought of "growing up" really was scary as hell!
September 16, 2013
who doest like looking back at the good old times good high school movie
March 18, 2013
This would be a mostly unmemorable frat house comedy if not for the amazing soundtrack that ties it all together. Still, it's a good, easy watch and actually a pretty accurate and authentic feeling representation of Southern California mid to late 90's University life.
½ May 12, 2013
Ben Affleck. French Stewart. Sam Rockwell. Kristin Bauer. Alyssa Milano. John Rhys-Davies. Matthew McConaughey. Sean Whalen. Brendan Fraser. Leah Remini. Matt Damon. Megan Ward.
A movie about college, mostly partying.

So why is this movie no fun at all???

I have no idea. Five friends are coming to terms that their epic house set up is coming to an end with three graduating, but Affleck wants to party for an year and convinces them all to stay, but it doesn't really work out ever.

The five guys seem like they could be true friends, but all the drama around them really goes nowhere. Milano and her man never seem to resolve anything by the end of the film, but at least we kind of know where the other four went. Ward is completely wasted.

I will say that McConaughey, Remini, Damon and Fraiser are all basically cameos. The one involving two of them on the bus was just a mess of a scene.

And the music they use is very...odd...at times.

I will say that the main reason to see this, mostly for guys mind you, is that Affleck made a sex tape with Pam from True Blood...and wow, she does not dissapoint!
½ November 13, 2012
It has a good soundtrack...
Page 1 of 5