Gray Matters - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gray Matters Reviews

Page 1 of 47
Super Reviewer
½ December 7, 2008
This was just average. The cast is okay. I've seen Heather Graham be more convincing in a movie though. I did like the small appearances from Alan Cumming - he nearly steals the whole movie... not that there is much too steal. It's okay as a weekly rental.
Super Reviewer
½ July 2, 2008
If you need a bit of lightheartedness, this movie is for you. Gray finds a girl for her brother, and a) falls in love with her herself, and b) figures out she is gay. Not an Oscar-winning drama, but enjoyable. At least they don't treat being gay as being a second class citizen.
Super Reviewer
½ July 5, 2007
About as pointless as rom-coms come, regardless of orientation.
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2008
Good romantic comedy, smart writing. Great cast, Heather Graham is hella sexy. Good cinematograohy, there are some great shots of NYC. Overall, very entertaining.
Super Reviewer
½ February 20, 2007
A great movie of a young woman finding herself and realizing her choices and accepting it with an open heart. Absolutely loved it
Super Reviewer
November 12, 2006
A bit bland, a bit uninspired, but also somewhat charming and certainly entertaining. Heather Graham saves the day with her funny, charming and delightful performance. Molly Shannon is pure hilarity.
Super Reviewer
August 1, 2007
nice movie about coming out because not only does it deal with women being gay (not men for a change lol) but it show a nice view into how confused one can be if they find out they are gay... i thought this was a good and relaxed flick... for a sunday night
December 16, 2011
Cavanagh, Graham, and Moynahan are the main reasons to watch this movie. The plot isn't that great or original, but these actors are fun together.
March 16, 2007
Hehe.....funny premise. Boy was I wrong. Not really that great and eeww. I hate that "characterization" of the gorgeous, fun, expensive lingerie-wearing woman who is "perfect." So perfect that man or woman in this case would fall in love with her. Over the top ridiculous. It would have been better if she were more "real." Even perfect women have flaws. The whole thing screamed, 'trying too hard.' How in the hell did Sissy Spacek end up in this?? Or Alan Cumming who was the only one worth watching. He can teach you all a lesson in how to play a 'real' character. Yes I know I'm over doing the quotes and whatnot.
½ July 12, 2007
I really liked this romantic comedy. It was very "feel-good" and inspirational. I recommend this for everyone! :DD
November 25, 2008
I dont know, i really didn't buy Heather Graham as a lesbian. Nobody wakes one day and realizes (after kissing a hot chick) that they are gay. Also who is that close with their siblings that people think they are a couple? Gross! Still i gave it three stars because it had its moments, plus Alan Cumming was great with a Scottish accent! Oh and the end was predictable but again Alan stole the show dressed as a woman in a gay bar!
½ October 5, 2008
It was a super cute movie with a lot of good humor and great twists to watch for, but at the same time, the very end turns into the whole "our society treats gays people poorly" kind of tone and it ruined the feel of the movie. The girl just discovers she's gay and she's already worried about how people will treat her lover after she's dead? Come on Hollywood, stick to the flow of the movie.
July 10, 2008
Gray (Heather Graham) and Sam (Tom Cavanagh) are a tightly-knit brother-and-sister pair who've grown up to become the best of friends. But between their jobs and spending their nights hanging out with one another at home, they've hardly had the chance to socialize with anyone else, a situation they want to put a stop to immediately. In no time, Gray and Sam have a chance encounter in the park with a striking beauty named Charlie (Bridget Moynahan). She catches Sam's eye right off the bat, and he falls so instantly in love with her that he proposes marriage which she surprisingly accepts. There's just one little problem: Gray is also in love with Charlie, a dilemma that worsens when the two women briefly but passionately kiss the night before Sam's wedding. Gray understandably freaks out and tries to make sense of these new feelings washing through her, but for her own sake, she has to make the tough decision of whether to ensure her brother's happiness or stay true to her heart. Graham and Cavanagh are certainly spirited performers with charm to spare, but the closeness of their characters is difficult to accept and even a little creepy. Heather Graham does look better than she's ever looked before but yet again she fails to pull her role off. Try as she might, in different genres, Graham just never manages to fool anyone that she's not acting. Tom Cavanagh is slightly more successful while Bridget Moynahan, as gorgeous as she is, also comes off as a little vacant. The film's great strength is it?s use of authentic New York locations, a necessity in any romantic comedy. Try as it may, Gray Matters doesn't have the charm or wit to pull it off. It's all one big misjudgment to be honest. The writer and director made the film about and for her sister and one gets the feeling that they may be the only ones who truly enjoy it.
April 15, 2007
I thought this was a really cute movie. There are not to many Heather Graham movies that I've liked. Funny & romantic. Alan was a joy to see as always :D
May 29, 2008
Not the greatest movie ever made but its not to bad. It was kind of cheesy but the message is positive. Its worth watching.
½ April 13, 2008
the speed of the dialogue was incredibly fast and made it seem as though the actors were trying to hurry up and get out of the film. The viewer is asked to suspend belief in thos movie moreso than in most scifi movies.
March 10, 2007
Loved this! Cute Romantic Comedy for Lesbians (especially those who took time to come out and/or even realize they were).
September 4, 2007
Man the writing was horrible, the acting was less than desirable, the casting was just ok, the filming was like a Soap Opera, too many bad things about this movie. Skip it!
½ September 4, 2007
Good story; good acting; a few clever twists and turns in a fresh sort of coming out movie. (not Alan Cumming;
he already did that). I like it.
August 19, 2007
8-19-07 --Heather Graham does a terrific job playing a girl coming out of the ... Don't want to spoil it! Anyway, Why is all movies now adays based in NY show the character living in these awesome loft apartments. Aren't good apartments hard to find in NY? Anyway, Alan Cumming is in this movie. You know him as Night Crawler (Kurt Wagner) in the X2 movie. Watch out Stephen King's Carrie plays a Therapist in this movie with some unusual techniques.
Page 1 of 47