Greenberg Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Scott Foundas
Film Comment Magazine
June 20, 2013
His sharpest observations are reserved for preternaturally intelligent, hyper-self-conscious outsiders whose existential crises are the failure of the world-and, to some extent, themselves-to live up to their own high expectations.
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
November 21, 2012
Stiller succeeds in a dramatic role but the script underwhelms with a meandering story and an unlikable lead character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant
October 5, 2012
Not the feel-good film of the year, but Greenberg is a powerful account of how a few lost souls can find meaning and direction in life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Obviously there's running commentary from director Noah Baumbach -- his characters are never free of context -- but they don't have epiphanies, they don't learn and they don't apologize. It's kind of refreshing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
March 9, 2011
Baumbach's writing and direction of these characters display more of a novelistic touch...but the approach produces a deeply felt view of flawed individuals.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Matt Kelemen
Las Vegas CityLife
January 31, 2011
Greenberg is not an enjoyable movie, but it's a unique experience that will mostly appeal to cinephiles with insatiable appetites for character-driven small films.
Louis Proyect
rec.arts.movies.reviews
December 16, 2010
Ben Stiller plays the most repellent character I have ever seen in a movie and that includes "Dracula". If you are going to feature a repellent character, you have to make him or her interesting. Bela Lugosi was a huge success by comparison.
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 1, 2010
This is more of a character study than it is a real story. The characters in the film are vivid and they make indelible impressions. The acting is excellent all around.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 27, 2010
From the ever-inventive mind of Noah Baumbach comes a deep comedy that seems to combine elements from his last two films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 25, 2010
A typically low-key effort from Noah Baumbach...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
October 5, 2010
The engine that drives Greenberg is this tension between the illusion of our outward projection and the absolute loathing of the worms underneath.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
September 3, 2010
Baumbach may think he's found a rare happy ending when he puts these two together, but I highly doubt it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey Chen
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
August 16, 2010
Baumbach's movie once again walks a fine line between being off-putting and being fascinating in its character study, and for me the positives win out.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
August 15, 2010
Greenberg is inevitably, productively divisive in tone and topical focus-and this in itself strikes me as a good thing-but you cannot say the filmmakers aren't trying to use all the resources available to the form.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Sean Axmaker
Seanax.com
August 11, 2010
Watching the social and family dynamics play out in this film reveals a whole life lived in these rhythms and traps, which is not always pleasant... but certainly interesting.
Alison Gang
San Diego Union-Tribune
August 11, 2010
Good luck with yourself, Greenberg. But I think I want to break up.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Giles Hardie
Sydney Morning Herald
August 8, 2010
Far from the usual slapstick laced with smarts comedy, Greenberg is Ben Stiller's Punch Drunk Love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com
August 1, 2010
The characters are so socially destructive that it's difficult to care what happens to any of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
July 29, 2010
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Alice Tynan
Concrete Playground
July 27, 2010
Roger Greenberg is not the kind of guy you want to wind up next to at a dinner party.
Page 1 of 9