The Gymnast - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Gymnast Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ July 2, 2008
[font=Century Gothic]In "The Gymnast," Jane(Dreya Weber) is a 43-year old masseuse who is hoping to get pregnant to invigorate her loveless marriage, while weaning herself off antidepressants. A chance meeting with Nicole(Mam Smith) leads to a unique opportunity to put her skills to use as an aerial acrobat alongside a younger dancer, Serena(Addie Yungmee).(Even though Jane is decades removed from her prime as a star gymnast, she is in such good shape that it is frankly annoying.) Even after Nicole has to leave for a family emergency, Jane and Serena decide to stay with the program...[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Gymnast" is an engaging movie with relaxed performances that does more than a capable job of balancing its endearing story with the spectacle of the acrobatics, while smoothing over the predictable elements and most importantly not giving into the temptation of exploitation. However, it does end on a rather bizarre note. Basically, the movie is about how there is more to a woman's life than just being the good wife and the good mother, especially if it involves finding fulfillment in doing what she enjoys the most.[/font]
Super Reviewer
October 1, 2007
Graceful, beautiful and quiet would be the first things to come to mind to say about this. But then unfortunately it is also ever so slightly shallow in its characterizations, lacks chemistry between the leads and relies too much on the amazing aerial acts. I was drawn in nevertheless, so it gets a good 3 stars - but I might be giving the benefit of the doubt here. I will rewatch it on DVD to form a final opinion on it, as my expectations of this were probably too high.
½ March 13, 2013
Only downfall was the end.. I did not like the way it was ended.. but, the rest of the movie was beautiful and the silk work was fantastic.
November 4, 2012
For a clearly low budget indi film, The Gymnast had surprisingly good cinematography, writing, and story design. Portions of the film were cheesy and poorly acted, but as a whole this was very well put together, captivating film. I would definitely recommend it

Also there are some boobs :) !
December 30, 2008
Okay seriously so do these lesbifun films use the same cinematographers as skinimax?! No honestly sometimes it feels more like you're watching softcore porn on LOGO than an actual movie. Its not good and detracts from the value of lesbian film. Actually you know what... its like softcore porn meets a lifetime original movie. Sometimes watching these kinds of movies makes me feel like Danielle Steel just threw up all over some lesbian erotica. Estrogen overload. I think it might send me into early menopause any second now...

The worst part, this actually had promise. It could've been a really beautiful movie with dazzling, impassioned effects... but it just didn't. Maybe it was a $$$ issue... who knows? Maybe this is the result of low-budget lesbifun films?
½ December 24, 2008
The plot and acting in this movie was superb. They had me totally convinced. The plot was great, but I absolutely hated the lesbian twist in the movie. Totally unnecessary. I understand that her marriage was in the dumps, possibly "opening up a door" to something like that. Anyway, I have TOTAL respect for gymnasts. They work extremely hard at what they do. The ending of this movie was sad, but it lacked a true, honest-to -goodness message.
July 29, 2008
Charming, albeit clumsy independent film. Despite the clunky script I found this films naivete somewhat charming. But certain elements made it hard for me to take it seriously.
½ January 30, 2008
Anchoring a lesbian love story of mid-life liberation in the blunt physicality of an aerial gymnastics act, Ned Farr's debut feature "The Gymnast" delivers emotional intensity in tastefully spectacular wrappings.
August 8, 2007
This was much better than I thought it would be. Beautiful story, and the plot had a lot of depth. I really enjoyed it, and I thought it was very well done.
August 2, 2007
This movie was great. I decided to see it on a whim at the Hippodrome in Gainesville, and I could not have been more pleased with it. Such a great story of really finding one's self and the life one wants to live. If you ever get the chance to see this, do.
½ March 26, 2007
I absolutely adored this movie. Finally something that portrays a woman who just happens to fall in love with another woman and rejects all labels. Dreya Weber is amazing.
½ October 28, 2015
Better than I expected. A slow start, but well-played, well-acted, and though there were a few hackneyed moments from the lead actor's old friend in the film, overall a masterpiece of quiet, ambient drama.
December 22, 2014
This film tackles the subjects of loss, personal struggle and transformation in such a smart, artful, sensitive, and visually stunning way that I was completely transported. It is a rare gem of a film in the way it honors beauty and women. You'll have to see for yourself. Dreya Weber (Jane) masterfully portrays the subtleties of a remarkable if not somewhat broken personality, in a way that every woman will relate to. I found the honesty of the emotional interactions among characters to be very refreshing and profoundly engaging.

There was nothing in this film that said to me "low budget" as far as quality is concerned. Nothing. The fact that it is a low-budget film is a tribute to the film's creators. The final sequence during the credits will also knock your socks off. It is a brilliant celebration of Jane's choice. Unexpected and inspiring.
March 28, 2013
Found this movie intriguing, fun, and real... decisions are not made ever so flippantly...
½ March 13, 2013
Only downfall was the end.. I did not like the way it was ended.. but, the rest of the movie was beautiful and the silk work was fantastic.
½ December 9, 2012
Entertaining, different, not too sterotypical and not exploitative. I enjoyed the movie though the ending is a bit bizarre.
Wasnt expecting to like the movie since the plot wasnt what I normally would watch, but was surprised(though it did seem to paint "men" in a bad light)
November 4, 2012
For a clearly low budget indi film, The Gymnast had surprisingly good cinematography, writing, and story design. Portions of the film were cheesy and poorly acted, but as a whole this was very well put together, captivating film. I would definitely recommend it

Also there are some boobs :) !
November 4, 2012
For a clearly low budget indi film, The Gymnast had surprisingly good cinematography, writing, and story design. Portions of the film were cheesy and poorly acted, but as a whole this was very well put together, captivating film. I would definitely recommend it

Also there are some boobs :) !
September 19, 2012
there are some parts that are good but there are some parts that are quite boring. and the story's ending is kinda predictable.
September 9, 2012
This movie is as good as how much production and casting was in it. Bland and cheap was the outcome. What a waste of time. It was an easy delete from my computer.
Page 1 of 6