Harmony and Me Reviews

Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
March 25, 2010
Represents much of what is wonderful and fresh about the recent wave of ultra-low-budget American independent filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 5, 2009
Austin, Texas, has never looked more unlovely, and its residents more clueless, than in Harmony and Me, a funny, wry mumblecore comedy by Bob Byington.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
November 5, 2009
In a flat, dry affect, the movie sings the breakup blues.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
September 18, 2009
Despite the film's sketchy aesthetic and barely animate lead, its tone is carefully contrived: I'll wager no one in your circle is as dryly funny or spontaneously surreal as Harmony's nonsupport group.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Karina Longworth
Time Out
September 16, 2009
Harmony is a finely tuned comedy, complete with precisely scripted jokes and comic set pieces that swerve toward the playfully perverse.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Vadim Rizov
Village Voice
September 15, 2009
Slight, indifferently shot, and entirely lacking in ballast, Harmony and Me's sole justification for being is that it's consistently very funny.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 2, 2009
As awkward as its title character.
Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
Variety
March 31, 2009
Harmony and Me eschews the fits and starts, tensions and complexities of present-tense immediacy in favor of sly, absurdist one-liners, paring everything down to comic essentials.