• Unrated, 1 hr. 15 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:    Bob Byington
  • In Theaters:    Jan 1, 2009 Wide
  • On DVD:   
  • MoMA

Harmony and Me Reviews

Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
March 25, 2010

Represents much of what is wonderful and fresh about the recent wave of ultra-low-budget American independent filmmaking.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic
November 5, 2009

Austin, Texas, has never looked more unlovely, and its residents more clueless, than in Harmony and Me, a funny, wry mumblecore comedy by Bob Byington.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic
November 5, 2009

In a flat, dry affect, the movie sings the breakup blues.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
Top Critic
September 18, 2009

Despite the film's sketchy aesthetic and barely animate lead, its tone is carefully contrived: I'll wager no one in your circle is as dryly funny or spontaneously surreal as Harmony's nonsupport group.

| Original Score: 3/5
Karina Longworth
Time Out New York
Top Critic
September 16, 2009

Harmony is a finely tuned comedy, complete with precisely scripted jokes and comic set pieces that swerve toward the playfully perverse.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Vadim Rizov
Village Voice
Top Critic
September 15, 2009

Slight, indifferently shot, and entirely lacking in ballast, Harmony and Me's sole justification for being is that it's consistently very funny.

Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
July 2, 2009

As awkward as its title character.

Ronnie Scheib
Variety
Top Critic
March 31, 2009

Harmony and Me eschews the fits and starts, tensions and complexities of present-tense immediacy in favor of sly, absurdist one-liners, paring everything down to comic essentials.