Hearts in Atlantis Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 24, 2010
Above average coming of age story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Gonsalves
September 17, 2007
A movie that says we might as well pack it in as soon as we turn 18 is more bitter than bittersweet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Emanuel Levy
December 4, 2006
What happened to the prodigious vitality of Scott Hicks (Shine): His third feature sugffers from the same stifling artistic treatment that his second did, and this one is based on stories by Stephen King!
Full Review | Original Score: C
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 27, 2005
Hicks' film is a beautiful trifle, a neat trick of light and sound to coax empathy
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
December 6, 2004
If good cinematographers are 'panning for gold' with their camera lens, Sobocinski has put his pan in the river and come back with a fortune.
| Original Score: B+
Jordan Hiller
July 16, 2004
Hearts in Atlantis is a leap of faith with nothing on the other side.
Full Review | Original Score: .5
Brian Mckay
May 12, 2003
The film has a lot of nice little touches going for it, and while there are the obligatory moments of heartstring plucking underscored by the stir of violins, it never really overdoes things. The only problem is, it's just been so done already.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Harry Guerin
RTE Interactive (Dublin, Ireland)
March 5, 2003
You'll still come away from Hearts in Atlantis wanting to read the book, but had Hicks and Goldman got it right, you would've run straight from the cinema to buy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
While this film has the potential to be either a heartwarming coming-of-age story or a tense psychological thriller, it doesn't really achieve either goal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
January 29, 2003
Hopkins continues to turn in one lackluster performance after another.
| Original Score: 3/4
Rebecca Murray
December 17, 2002
This movie invokes a sense of nostalgia and a yearning for those childhood friends who, as we grow older, may be forgotten but will never be replaced.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
July 12, 2002
It could have been something special; instead it is run-of-the-mill.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 9, 2002
feels a bit pre-fabricated, although William Goldman's screenplay sets up intriguing offbeat relationships between Bobby and Ted and Bobby and Elizabeth...
Luis Martinez
May 25, 2002
Una cinta tierna y emocionante por momentos...pero no termina por convencer.
| Original Score: 7.5/10
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 4, 2002
...minor shortcomings come in its overused setting, slightly lackadaisical pace, and mildly unresolved conclusion, small matters if the movie puts you under its spell.
| Original Score: 6/10
March 17, 2002
The elegiac, reflective mood is treated almost incidentally, letting it earn a reaction naturally
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
February 26, 2002
I will not deny that it left me with a very nice feeling throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
February 6, 2002
The movie is light years behind the touching celebration of youth found in Stand By Me.
Full Review | Original Score: short
Ed Kelleher
Film Journal International
December 9, 2001
Likeable, nostalgic movie that walks a smooth tightrope between a coming-of-age tale and a dark, long-forgotten Twilight Zone episode.
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
October 26, 2001
As I write this review, I find myself growing nostalgic for the film. I want to walk away from my computer and see it again right now. It's just that good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 8