Henry & June Reviews

Page 1 of 15
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ July 5, 2007
Although Fred Ward would not be most people's idea of the sexiest leading man, this tale based on the works of Anais Nin is far steamier than most of the cornball soft-core porn that passes for erotica these days, and the literary subplot makes an interesting period backdrop.
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2010
A remarkably graphic tale involving Henry Miller. It is surprising but rewarding.
Blaster1618
Super Reviewer
September 11, 2010
It is interesting watching a movie in 2009 made with a 1990?s take on a story that take place in the 1940?s. The pitch for the story is that it is an intellectual story with steamy romance, but to me it still comes off as soft core porn with an interesting plot. I have to say that I have never finished reading either Miller work I can?t tolerate his open misogyny to get tot there point. Most of my focus in the movie is to Maria se Mederios and Umma Therman. Maria is delicately beautiful and her acting is very subtle. Her role in the movie is limited to voice-over, long diatribes or intercourse. I would have been more enjoyable to have her as an active participant in her life. In the end the character she portrays does not ring true to the person Anis really was. The young Uma Therman is a beautiful as ever, however the New York accent seems tacked on and would be better off left out. His relationship with Ward is really not well defined. The scenes with Maria are well defined the required manipulative qualities. If you strip away the accent this is probably here best acting role. Fred Wards fake bald head really caught my eye and is really distracting. Kevin Spacey bit part adds more to the picture than Fred Ward. Ward is better suited for blowing-up things in Tremors. Too Bad Spacy was not cast as Miller.
Dracula787
Super Reviewer
June 29, 2008
Phillip Kaufman's adaptation of the Anais Nin book of the same name is mainly remembered today as the first film to receive an NC-17 rating. This little footnote in film history will probably remain the film's only claim to fame, as I thought it was otherwise a rather lackluster production. Despite the title, June is barely in this, which makes me wonder why Uma Thurman was given first billing. The film's real star is Maria de Medeiros who is probably best remembered for playing Bruce Willis' girlfriend in Pulp Fiction. By the tenth sex scene I was pretty bored with this thing, Henry and June Miller seemed to do very little other than write and fuck, why they decided a movie needed to be made about them I do not know. It was pretty well shot and acted however.
divinetrash
Super Reviewer
December 26, 2007
The film has a lot going for it - especially a beautiful cinematography and a wonderful, sexy cast - but ultimately feels like it isn't telling much of a story.
February 8, 2011
Having spent much of my life in non-monogamous relationships that others see as scandalous and wild, one would think I'd like this one. And I guess I do, in a way. But when it comes down to it, it's just a movie about unhealthy, irresponsible people having unhealthy, irresponsible relationships and creating unhealthy, chaotic situations. The fact that they're famous doesn't mitigate things any, really. Not a bad story, not a bad movie, done well overall. Maybe I've just seen too many stupid foolish unhealthy relationships to have much interest in seeing a movie about them.
½ August 21, 2008
Beautifully rendered portrait of the affair of Anais Nin and Henry Miller. Though controversial at the time (and the reason the NC-17 rating came to pass), this is nothing more than a sensual drama, no more or less explicit than anything else out these days. I recommend it for the wonderful performances, though it does have its slow stretches.
½ June 23, 2008
A very sexy movie. A young Uma Thurman very hot. And Medeiros is a sexual being who is experiencing a change in her life falls for Ward who plays Henry Miller. A must see get you in the mood movie.
May 21, 2008
The first movie ever given the NC-17 rating, Henry and June is a very rare film in itself. While there is alot of sex and nudity, the movie is more erotic with a touch of passion. For fans of authors Anais Nin and Henry Miller will find this movie more compelling than others might!!!!!
November 1, 2007
Sexy, erotic, smart, fun, inspiring.
What can I say? I love Henry, I love June, I adore Anais Nin. I've been reading her diary and Miller's "Tropic of Cancer" and this film was a great visual companion after years of reading.
½ September 8, 2007
this movie is really boring and nobody evolves really. But it's beautiful, not for the sex - it's shot great. Even the sex is pretty boring.
July 10, 2007
Should have been titled "Henry and Anais," but I suppose that would have proven less wieldy for marketing purposes. To tell a story where writers are the main characters requires no small measure of thought. The challenge always is how to make writers -- otherwise being the ones who create stories -- into compelling characters at the center of a story that is about them. I believe this could have been a good movie -- the first half-hour or so, and the ending aren't bad, but the rest of the film veers away from what works and becomes obsessed with chronicling the characters' kinky sexual proclivities. They succeed in showing the characters to be randy, but there is very little evidence in the film of the brilliant artists their real-life counterparts were -- seems a case of there being a good starting idea, but not enough substance in the approach to fill an entire movie. Thurman receives little screen time compared to her co-stars, but I did like her performance. Still a relative newcomer when this film was made, it was obvious that her career prospects would be high. Because of the many weaknesses in its presentation, "Henry and June" is bound to be best remembered as a trivia answer. Even though there are some risque scenes, which earned it an NC-17 rating in 1990, many R-rated films being made today contain more adult content.
½ July 10, 2007
These writers had some serious twists and turns in their lives, but it is highly erotic and interesting and I love the Big Sur area Mr. Miller settled into later in life.
½ March 18, 2007
What a great period in history, Jazz, art, writing, politics, philosophy... and finally, sexuality is coming to light. Thank you, Anais. Thank you, Henry Miller! and thanks to the studio who gave this a thumbs up. Very important era, significant exposure.
½ February 14, 2007
This movie was the first to get the NC-17 rating. It should have gotten a TMS rating. TMS meaning This Movie Sucks.
September 30, 2006
this is just a gorgeous film full of tone and color and an absolutely perfect soundtrack. portraying an idyllic time in anais nin's life, the film works to highlight one woman's sensual/sexual exploration which just happens to include another infamous author. worth noting is uma thurman's striking portrayal of june miller. she is unmatched.
December 17, 2006
Sexy, rough and raw. I'm talking about Uma Thurman's Brooklyn accent. What did you think I was talking about?
June 13, 2006
Anais Nin has sex with her husband. She has sex with Henry Miller. She has sex with his wife June. She has sex with her psychiatrist and even her cousin Eduardo. Yet it doesn't matter who Anais is scoring with, it's always innocent and beautiful. Uma Thurman is so hott in this movie. It's set in 1920's Paris, and the cinematography is poetic but at the same time gritty and realistic. One of my most favorite romantic movies ever!!
July 11, 2006
It's okay, it could have been much better though. It's not as sensual as I was hoping for. The use of lighting and score was very good though. It looked beautiful, Phillippe Rousslet is a fantastic cinematographer. But the movie lacked every where else, especially with script and direction. Decent enough performances, and it's kind of cool to see Kevin Spacey painted blue, that was cool.
Page 1 of 15