Hi, Mom! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hi, Mom! Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
½ September 5, 2010
This movie is more of a documentary about radical New York film and theatre groups in 1970. It's really uneven and all over the place, and the end doesn't make any sense. Overall, it's interesting, but not a good movie.
Super Reviewer
June 4, 2007
My guess is it's a 'you'll get it or you won't' kind of movie. Personally I found it a pleasantly surprising quirky film and the title of course reveals itself toward the end.

Some quite controversial issues rise and as regards to storytelling, this is not such a straight forward film in the usual sense, in fact in many ways it's quite arty.
Super Reviewer
March 30, 2010
Continuing the hilarious scenario fro Greetings, this is an even better film with a lot more direction and better acting. Robert De Niro continues to dominate the screen as Jon Rubin, the suave peeping tom/porn film-maker. His sense of humor and deranged sincerity is like no other actor. He tries to go professional after coming back from Vietnam, where he found himself at the end of the previous film. This has an extreme sense cultural relevance of the late 60s-early 70s, dealing with the hippie culture, the end of the civil rights movement, etc. Itā??s just so full of life that you canā??t help but admire Brian De Palma for shooting reality. While some might say itā??s a black comedy, I feel that itā??s just as much an accurate reflection of New York at the time.
Super Reviewer
October 21, 2007
Before turning into a suspense auteur, Brian DePalma directed this subversive little film, heavily inspired by the vanguardist french nouvelle vague. A sequel of "greetings" in which he let DeNiro run the show with amazingly funny results.
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2008
"Greetings" was good but the sequel "Hi, Mom!" is astonishing, easily the best of Brian De Palma's early comedies and still one of the greatest films he has made. It's overflowing with terrific ideas and is brilliantly shot and edited, retaining a vitality and an awesome power in spite of its often dated subject-matter. Robert De Niro reprises his role of Jon Rubin, a voyeuristic Vietnam vet who sets out to make a porno movie by surreptitiously filming the residents of a neighbouring apartment block, then joins an experimental theatre group and, finally, becomes an urban terrorist. The first part of the movie, with Allen Garfield reprising his role of a smut peddler from "Greetings", is hilarious, and one is completely unprepared for the shattering shift in tone which follows with the "Be Black, Baby" segment, in which a group of whites in blackface are terrorized by blacks in whiteface to help them understand the 'black experience' of living in America. This harrowing sequence alone would make "Hi, Mom!" a five-star film; everything else is just a bonus.
Super Reviewer
June 1, 2007
DePalma never came closer to Godard, and DeNiro has never been funnier
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2013
"Hi, Mom!" starts with a building superintendent(Charles Durning) bending over backwards, literally not figuratively, to rent a lovely slum apartment to Jon Rubin(Robert De Niro) who accepts it in order to film the occupants of the apartment building across the way. Instead of going straight to the Museum of Modern Art with his footage, he goes to the first smut peddler(Allen Garfield) he comes across who seeing the pornographic possibilities decides to bankroll him despite the dubious legality, ethics and morality of the enterprise. While filming, Jon takes special notice of Judy Bishop(Jennifer Salt), always lonely, and decides to seduce her.

Like most of Brian De Palma's more recent films, "Hi, Mom!" wears the influence of other films on its sleeve, in this case the French New Wave(as do other films in the current 'New Yawk, New Wave' festival currently showing at the Film Forum, as other people have pointed out). But at least here, he takes the jump cuts and puts them to alternately hilarious and disturbing uses while telling an original story to deftly show how technology separates us, not brings us together, made still relevant today by the advent of the infernal cell phone while giving glimpses of a bygone New York City. For a while, this may feel like little more than elaborately devised skits but it all comes together toward the end in an increasingly provocative narrative.
½ July 20, 2013
Brian De Palma's Hi Mom! Is acted, directed, written, and edited on a grand scale. Part 3 of the back theater is extremely intense and holds up well. Love that ending!
½ August 11, 2010
A surprisingly profound and experimental film by DePalma, "Hi, Mom" is about a man hustling gigs in New York to pay rent, as his odd jobs comprise: directing peeping tom movies, to taking a role as a cop in a Black Power play which exposes affluent white participants to cruel and disorienting events. This film will stick to the guts for a while after it's over with disturbing scenes of counter-racial, mind-jarring, power-play, slathered with a dash of first-date romantic comedy jitters.
December 28, 2007
An insane little comedy that goes from being a cutesy little sex comedy to an aggressive satire of race roles. Not as coherent visually of dramatically as later De Palma work, but his penchant for voyeurs as protagonists is prevalent as well as his affinity for mimicking Hitchcock in one way or another.
½ May 9, 2010
DePalma's early/underrated stuff is as much fun to explore as Scorsese's. From the man whop in fact introduced DeNiro to Scorsese there's almost hints of Travis Bickle in John Rubin even though they might be polar opposites. This is definitely French New Wave just on American shores.
½ February 6, 2010
A very different movie. It was funny and De Niro was great. And the movie was very well done by Brian De Palma. But the Be Black Baby thing ran a little too long. But if you feel like a different movie and if you like Brian De Palma I believe this movie is worth to watch. And is not a waste of time. I just need to watch it one more time then I will rerate it.
January 31, 2010
This movie was thrown together on the cheap. The majority of this film is very lame and the morbid humour does not appeal to me in the slightest. The 'Be Black Baby' sequence on the other hand is very powerful but very disturbing and I would have preferred not to have seen it.
½ December 4, 2009
*** (out of four)

One of Robert De Niro's earliest films. He plays a Vietnam War vet living in Greenwich Village. His interest in people leads him to begin filming the people in the apartment building across the street. Things escalate to acts of terrorism around New York City.
½ November 28, 2008
A sequel of sorts to the 'DePalmaNiro' "Greetings" which traffics in the same kind of counterculture satire. Hi, Mom! doesn't make a hell of a lot of sense any way you slice it, and it's clear from the start that De Palma is just goofing around, with quick cuts, abrupt plot shifts, and an overall student film feeling that comes across as one big joke.
October 21, 2008
A unique film, interesting to see DeNiro and DePalma in an effort before they were household names. Creative and I found it interesting. It does lack focus at times though. It is certainly very daring for the time era.
½ April 4, 2008
Why can't De Palma keep making movies like this, It's not perfect but it is alot more ambitious than the last few films he's put out. It's counter cuture satire that still holds up today. Whats incredibe is that you would think De Niro would just be ok with this being one of first lead roles, but he's spot on and looks like a performance he could have given yesterday. The best thing about the film is how it changes mood so easily, going from funny to genuinely frightening. it is a little long in places but at only 90 mins it's not that big a deal.
½ February 24, 2008
I have recently realized that I am a Gerrit Graham super fan, and, I've started digging into a lot of his "other" and early works. So when this came up as something I thought, yep! I'll watch it.
Now, my friend Brian has had more than one rant about Brian de Palma in front of me... I like Scarface, Carrie, and The Phantom of Paradise, so I threw caution to the wind for this one... After all, It has Gerrit Graham in it.
Well, I started of really liking it. DeNiro is so charming and the colors are vibrant.
DeNiro, Jon, is looking to make a buck by shooting erotic videos, of his neighbors. He notices a lonely girl across the way and fanagles a date out of her. The girl who plays Judy is really cute. Super adorable, and bonafide nutsy! He works her up and then plans to record them having sex. At which time the camera falls to reveal Gerrit painting himself black in the nude and debating whether or not to paint his junk black. Well, the producer of the movie hates it, so Jon is out of a job. Instead he buys a TV and joins Gerrit's urban guerrilla team/ performance art group... which give a frightening experiential look into what it's like to be black, and the white patrons love it when they know it's just been a show... I almost quit the movie then, really tough.
Then it's back to a more entertaining fare of Jon and Judy, she's now a whiney knocked up wife of Jon, and he blows up the building they live in. The neighbors aren't so concerned with the mass destruction of property and lives, but like the increase of space and are upset they cant get things like their wallet back from it.
I like pop movies, and, rereading the review, I LOVE the quirky story. It sounds great. But, the story telling is messed up by the look and cuts being too jazzy for me.
January 26, 2008
Moves quickly and ties multiple moods and tones with seemingly little effort. Worth a look if only for the "Be Black Baby" performance.
October 28, 2007
it's not good, but that sequence in the middle with the play sticks with you, and De Niro is fantastic.
Page 1 of 5