Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
30% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

75% The Cosmopolitans: Season One
100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Golden Compass Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net

The Golden Compass isn't bad, it's cast is too good and it's too well made, but something fundamental to good storytelling - heart - has been lost, leaving a final product as icy and impossible to care for as Mrs. Coulter herself.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 6/10

March 22, 2011
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion

Excruciating pap

Full Review Source: CinePassion

August 27, 2009
Steve Biodrowski
ESplatter

An engaging fantasy adventure that, albeit no masterpiece, is hardly the disaster one might have imagined.

Full Review Source: ESplatter | Original Score: C

July 14, 2008
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times

I realize that when you make a book into a movie you cannot include every single detail, but it seems like Weitz purposely tried to take all of the magic out of the story.

Full Review Source: Watertown Daily Times | Original Score: 2/5

May 20, 2008

This plot may sound somewhat ludicrous on paper, but Pullman has created a logical, well-thought-out world that Weitz has brilliantly translated to the big screen.

Full Review Source: MSNBC | Original Score: 5/5

May 1, 2008
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze

This kid film noir touching on magic dust substance abuse, cranky clerics, worrisome wizards, goth grownup child abusers and computer-generated homicidal polar bear throat slashers, is less likely to dazzle the senses than exhaust minds of all ages.

Full Review Source: NewsBlaze

April 30, 2008
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis

...if I hadn't liked Pullman's books so much, I probably would have liked this movie version more than I did.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 6/10

April 24, 2008
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner

Will it be enough to satisfy fans of Philip Pullman's widely read 'His Dark Materials' trilogy? Hard to say. But for the uninitiated this is an engaging adventure, even when Chris Weitz's screenplay lacks the compelling clarity of Pullman's prose.

| Original Score: 3/4

April 9, 2008
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review

Sam Elliott shows up as a cowboy, who would normally be a pick-me-up, but with Golden Compass I just wanted to find my direction home.

Full Review Source: The Scorecard Review | Original Score: 4/10

March 4, 2008
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette

The Golden Compass should be fun, but it rarely is. It should sweep you away, but it rarely does. For a film suffused with magic, it is, regrettably, far from magical.

Full Review Source: Colorado Springs Gazette | Original Score: 5/10

February 28, 2008
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review

No, I didn't read the novel before seeing the film, and nothing in this shimmering disaster made me want to read it, either. Made me hate polar bears, and I used to love the darned things, so that's saying something.

Full Review Source: Reno News and Review | Original Score: 1/5

February 25, 2008

Read this review, skip this movie, and instead read the excellent books. Poor Dakota Blue Fanning is the perfect Lyra in a terrible adaptation.

Full Review Source: Cinerina | Original Score: 2/5

February 16, 2008
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight

A beautiful, thought-provoking fantasy film.

Full Review Source: Cinema Sight | Original Score: 3.5/4

February 2, 2008
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly

Lyra surpasses the timid drone of Pan's Labyrinth or the Pevensies' do-gooder sap, she's brave, smart, and the best liar in the universe.

Full Review Source: I.E. Weekly | Original Score: B-

January 29, 2008
Christian Toto
Washington Times

This Compass points to the end of a would-be franchise.

Full Review Source: Washington Times | Original Score: 2/4

January 19, 2008
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters

Suggesting at once Mrs. Coulter's devotion to her Magisterial mission, her fears of soulful and sensual embodiment, and yes, her own split self, her slap-and-hug of her damon all but stops the film's action.

Full Review Source: PopMatters

January 17, 2008
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies

Deus ex machina ... is the only driving force.

Full Review Source: Goatdog's Movies | Original Score: 2/5

January 14, 2008
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses

koyrastika amihani kai sygkehymeni kritiki sto thriskeytiko systima, den parehei oyte kata dianoia arketo allothi gia toys ano ton 16 na asholithoyn idiaitera me aytin tin yperparagogi, poy ehei aytapates megaleioy tin ora poy pashei sto rythmo kai ti syn

Full Review Source: Movies for the Masses | Original Score: 2/5

January 14, 2008
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly

The Golden Compass is an entertaining blend of feisty pre-teen girl heroine, CGI animals both adorable and fierce, and the usual suspects on the human side ...

Full Review Source: Atlantic City Weekly | Original Score: 3/4

January 2, 2008
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide

The Golden Compass bears the brush strokes of a film produced by a committee of people intent on trying to make some money rather than a good movie.

Full Review Source: Apollo Guide | Original Score: 55/100

January 2, 2008
Page 1 of 10
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile