• PG-13, 1 hr. 53 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    David Boyd
    In Theaters:
    Apr 19, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    Oct 8, 2013
  • Samuel Goldwyn Films

Opening

94% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
80% Get On Up Aug 01
90% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
41% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $43.9M
62% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 5
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
88% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Home Run Reviews

Page 1 of 15
Jeff B.
Jeff B.

Super Reviewer

May 20, 2013
Leastbound and down, Home Run is a presumptuous title for a sports movie that swings a lot but ultimately chooses to walk the road often traveled. Though this Field of Pipe Dreams recycles an oft-told tale of failure and redemption amid the sporting life, it's not completely For the Flub of the Game. The few plot points not drudged up from movies-of-the-week prove engaging enough to at least encourage moviegoers to round the bases. It would've been more of a hit, however, if it debuted on the Hallmark Channel between a Tiffani-Amber Thiessen bulimia flick and Joey Lawrence date rape movie where it belongs. But here we are, watching an alcoholic big league ball player work out his daddy issues in his hometown where his old flame lives...on the big screen. Hell, Scranton's own E.J. Dougher did more justice to this story when it was called The Marksman!

In this PG-13-rated sports drama, a pro baseball All Star facing a DUI and league suspension (Elrod) is forced into rehab where he grew up, getting honest about his checkered past and taking on coaching duties for a misfit Little League team.

It's not as if the director and cast don't possess The Natural quality. All involved perform their best at Stealing Home and that's no Bull Durham. Still, every moviegoer knows the Angle in the Outfield here. Hell, when parodied in the hilarious HBO comedy Eastbound and Down, it sadly rings truer. Getting literally preached at from the pulpit, however, never feels like a great night at the movies.

Bottom line: Swing and a Diss.
January 6, 2014
This wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. False happiness, inner turmoil, conflict, downward spiral, rock bottom, find God, get better, real happiness, blah blah. Ehh, even if you ignore all the religious trash, and the anti-drug crap, and the anti-porn preaching, it's still fairly lame, but it's baseball. I like baseball. Extra half star for baseball.
July 12, 2014
Not a bad movie. I liked it!
May 8, 2014
Yet another example of critics on RT getting it wrong. Really enjoyed (or rather found myself moved and paying attention) this movie. More so, been thinking about it for days afterward.
April 19, 2013
This movie is real. Real dreams shattered by the deepest kind of pain. When your dad treats you like Cory's, the core of your being is rocked. Life was full of potential, but hopeless deep down inside for this baseball natural. I really liked the transparency and honesty of the main characters. The heartache they went through was something that all of us can identify with. But there is Hope. See this movie! It will lift your spirits in a special way. And bring a friend. You'll be glad you did.
December 27, 2013
religious combining with sport idea. Scott Elrod truly can play baseball, so that`s make him perfect as Cory Brand. Cory Brand is the product from rough and abusive father. but because the treatment by his father Cory can be a baseball superstar. he get rough practised by his father because the father is baseball player too. long story short he play his life like his abusive father, and he addict alcohol like his father too. he hasn`t happy and he hasn`t a partnert and anyone who care for him. after he get suspend from the baseball league, disciplinary action taken by his team which put him at his childhood town. After He forced to coach the local youth baseball team and spend eight weeks in the only recovery program in town, there is something change in himself. the movie brought us the idea of young man who struggling from miserable life and rise to glory. remind us of the power forgiveness and the wisdom of trusting God to help and revive us. pretty good movie but nothing special.
October 14, 2013
The good thing about these religion based films is they are pretty uplifting. The acting is average at best, the script is predictable and weak, and the overall movie is fun, but not much substance to it.
Nukleopatra
October 12, 2013
You'd be hard-pressed to find many positives about 'Home Run.'' It's preachy, predictable, sappy nonsense, that runs way too long. The lead role could have been played by just about any actor, and right when you think the movie is over once the sappy ending arrives, you're 'blessed' with yet another preachy scene just for good measure.

I think what really irks me, is that I didn't hate it as much as I wanted to. God must really hate me.
October 13, 2013
Adam Sandler should take notes.
August 26, 2013
An amazing story of Freedom and Growth. Finally, a movie that reveals the morbid truth behind addiction, rather than the glorification of the disease that Hollywood normally serves us.
August 20, 2013
If you will truly understand this movie, it doesn't really talk about baseball stuffs. Home run is about a man who losses his direction in life. But when he returned to his hometown, reunited with his family, he finally found the right direction where he will take for the rest of his life.
April 28, 2013
MUUUUURRRRRRIIIICCCAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Jeff B.
Jeff B.

Super Reviewer

May 20, 2013
Leastbound and down, Home Run is a presumptuous title for a sports movie that swings a lot but ultimately chooses to walk the road often traveled. Though this Field of Pipe Dreams recycles an oft-told tale of failure and redemption amid the sporting life, it's not completely For the Flub of the Game. The few plot points not drudged up from movies-of-the-week prove engaging enough to at least encourage moviegoers to round the bases. It would've been more of a hit, however, if it debuted on the Hallmark Channel between a Tiffani-Amber Thiessen bulimia flick and Joey Lawrence date rape movie where it belongs. But here we are, watching an alcoholic big league ball player work out his daddy issues in his hometown where his old flame lives...on the big screen. Hell, Scranton's own E.J. Dougher did more justice to this story when it was called The Marksman!

In this PG-13-rated sports drama, a pro baseball All Star facing a DUI and league suspension (Elrod) is forced into rehab where he grew up, getting honest about his checkered past and taking on coaching duties for a misfit Little League team.

It's not as if the director and cast don't possess The Natural quality. All involved perform their best at Stealing Home and that's no Bull Durham. Still, every moviegoer knows the Angle in the Outfield here. Hell, when parodied in the hilarious HBO comedy Eastbound and Down, it sadly rings truer. Getting literally preached at from the pulpit, however, never feels like a great night at the movies.

Bottom line: Swing and a Diss.
May 9, 2013
Great movie for the family although there are a couple of scenes with drunken behavior. Every parent who has children playing sports should watch this movie.
May 5, 2013
Liked it. Provides insight into fact that what drives an athlete to excel can also be his/her demon. I found the look at the 12 step program to be quite interesting. The end messages that there is always hope, lots of good people who care, of human spirit and you control your own destiny were all nicely delivered. I didn't have a problem with the religious segments nor did I find them overbearing
May 4, 2013
A bad title for a good movie about a talented professional baseball player who is also an alcoholic. A realistic portrayal of self-defeating behaviors, how past experiences always influence present behavior, why other people are crucial for support, and it ends on a hopeful, redemptive note.
April 10, 2013
saw it 3 x great family movie
April 29, 2013
It was an encouraging, upliting movie. I really enjoyed seeing how someone can be restored to wholeness after dealing with something that could have been life detroying! Enjoy it! I did!
April 26, 2013
An awesome film about personal turmoil and redemption. While Home Run focused largely on how a pro baseball player Cory Brand's unresolved conflicts lead him to medicate himself in a wide variety of ways from his teen years, viewers are challenged with the reality that everyone struggles with their own personal demons at one time or another. Today, with so many ways to escape the pain life deals us--it's refreshing to see that programs like Celebrate Recovery offer acceptance and love to those who are hurting. Honestly the movie is heads and shoulders above the frailer. The acting was superb! Hopefully, we'll see more of Scott Elrod in the future.
April 26, 2013
I thought this was going to be another cheesy, feel-good film with subpar acting. Au contraire! Scott Elrod was superb as the lead actor (not to mention, he's easy on the eyes)! People are real life. Alcoholism is real life. Abuse is real life. Baseball is real life. Celebrate Recovery is real life. Jesus is real life. This movie depicts everything that is real life. I laughed, and I cried. I have attended Celebrate Recovery for the last 6.5 years of my life, and they did an excellent job incorporating the program into this movie. I hope lots of people will give this movie a chance and then give Celebrate Recovery a chance! I cannot wait to own this movie, so I can enjoy it whenever I want!
Page 1 of 15
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile