• PG, 1 hr. 35 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Paul Feig
    In Theaters:
    Dec 3, 2004 Wide
    On DVD:
    Apr 5, 2005
  • Lions Gate Films

Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones $13.1M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.9M
11% No Good Deed $10.2M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $9.0M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.6M
88% The Drop $2.0M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
92% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
52% Forever: Season 1
93% Gotham: Season 1
33% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
80% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

I Am David Reviews


Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic
February 9, 2006

AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic
September 26, 2005

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Top Critic IconTop Critic
March 6, 2005
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Clearly, huge tankers of disbelief must be suspended in a sea of goodwill to get into the spirit of the film.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: B-

December 8, 2004
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The film is marred by too many coincidences, but there are a couple of twists at the end that tug at the heartstrings and leave you with a warm feeling.

Full Review Source: Houston Chronicle | Original Score: 2/4

December 3, 2004
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's not lack of a strong story that keeps I Am David from taking off. Blame a straightforward approach that makes the movie feel too much like an after-school special.

| Original Score: C+

December 3, 2004
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Feig's neorealist approach to the look of the film might work better if he didn't fill it with so many coincidences and melodramatic flourishes.

Full Review Source: Detroit Free Press | Original Score: 2/4

December 3, 2004
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I know, I know, I'm supposed to get sentimental about this heart-warming tale. But I couldn't believe a moment of it, and never identified with little David.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 1.5/4

December 3, 2004
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Manipulative though it is, it doesn't generate much real emotion.

Full Review Source: Minneapolis Star Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

December 2, 2004
Nancy Churnin
Dallas Morning News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Leaves you with the lingering scent of truth.

Full Review Source: Dallas Morning News | Original Score: B+

December 2, 2004
Robert K. Elder
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Falls prey to the defect of all poor road movies: In gluing together unbelievable but convenient episodes with sugary sentimentality, it loses most of its credibility.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

December 2, 2004
Robert Koehler
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

An unusually intelligent adventure film scaled for younger viewers, which never leaves adults behind.

Full Review Source: Variety

December 2, 2004
Joe Mader
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Essentially a tearjerker, with little originality or insight.

November 19, 2003
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile