• R, 1 hr. 28 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Todd Berger
    In Theaters:
    Apr 12, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    Jun 4, 2013
  • Oscilloscope Laboratories

Opening

97% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
50% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $43.9M
62% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Agatha Christie's Poirot : Season 12
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
60% The Lottery: Season 1
91% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
91% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

It's a Disaster Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

June 25, 2013
Average at best. Not bad. Not great. Barely a chuckle from me...
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

April 13, 2013
Funny and quirky are the two words to best describe this movie. I really liked it. I loved the odd banter and all of the unique characters. I also liked the way it was filmed. It's not a movie that looked like it took a lot of effort to create. It kind of made you feel like you were a fly on the wall and a part of the story. I would definitely watch this again.
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

June 10, 2013
four stars!!!
Alec B

Super Reviewer

June 28, 2013
I think the characters might be too realistic for this to totally work (the dialogue is pretty blase for the most part), but I still rather liked the intimate little apocalypse on display here. Stiles and Cross are great in this.
DA Z

Super Reviewer

June 22, 2013
In a year full of large-budget apocalyptic films, it is amazing to watch a consistently hilarious film like It's a Disaster succeed at the same concept with only a fraction of the budget. This black comedy is brilliantly written, depending on its wit and fantastic cast to create awkwardly enjoyable storyline about a group of friends coming to terms with their untimely fate. Despite a plot that's becoming somewhat generic, It's a Disaster is always clever and satirical. Every single actor has a moment to shine, with ingenious dialogue and character development that only becomes more entertaining throughout the film. Todd Berger officially has my attention, and I cannot wait to see where his work goes from here.
Lane Z

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2013
A very well-casted film. Witty dialogue. A black comedy with a few recognizable faces in Stiles, Cross and Ferrera. It doesn't get too bogged down in the character's connections with one another so the depth of the film is lacking in the brief 90 minutes of screen time. Everyone gets ample time to say their side though, and it's easy to see how one could associate with at least one of the cast members' characters. The great thing is, every once in a while, and more often than not, you're going to giggle and chuckle at the things that comes out of these characters' mouths, which is enough for me to watch this nicely-done low-budget comedy.
Brad S

Super Reviewer

August 19, 2013
It's A Disaster is a very dark comedy that stands out from most these days. It's razor sharp dialogue and perfect comedic timing by the actors and filmmakers make it a thoroughly enjoyable watch. For some reason however, I just don't feel like it's going to be remembered by many, myself included. It's unjustifiable, because it is quite funny, but it seem like a film that will stand the test of time. In spite of that, see this movie! ~ B
Sylvester K

Super Reviewer

April 14, 2013
It's a Disaster is an amazing ensemble comedy that shows a good film does not need to have a big budget. 4 couples arrived in their monthly brunch at one of their houses and discovered they are all under-attacked by an unknown terrorism in the form of chemical weapon, chaos ensures as each of them deals with the situation in different ways. I love most of the characters and the witty script. It's a great black comedy, we need more films like this.
December 9, 2013
Nimble little indie comedy that gets a boost from an able cast and snappy script. Maybe a little too quirky for its own good, but whatever the shortcomings (especially a less-than-successful final act); the mis-steps are ultimately buffered with an amusing scene or turn of events.
Hamee
August 19, 2013
The cast was great, the story was rather unconventional, and the ending was awful. In the end I wish I had skipped this one, but I just had to stick it out to see how everything ended for these zany couples.
August 8, 2013
"It's a Disaster" is an excellent dark comedy that presents so much comical elements even amidst an apocalyptic. Though the film-making is surprisingly simple (the actors really never show up anywhere else other than inside their cars or the house), the use of foreshadowing of failed climax and the gloomy-yet-heavenly classical pieces aired on repeatedly on the emergency broadcasting system (such as Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata and Ave Maria) makes it a perfect example of how an armageddon movie does not have to have millions of dollars in CGI budget.
April 1, 2013
This is my favorite movie. It just random. SPOILER: The whole movie took place in a house and that was funny and random. 5 Stars!!
July 13, 2014
Super great flick. I wanna say more, but whatever.
July 8, 2014
This is not, by any stretch, as funny or clever as "This is the End". But for what its's worth, "It's a Disaster" is a smart comedy written by smart people. The dynamic between everyone onscreen is delightful to watch, and it all leads up to one of the funniest endings I've ever watched.
June 20, 2014
Wastes its effective build-up on an unfunny, and equally unsatisfying, conclusion. To put it short, the title says it all.
Jennifer T.
June 14, 2014
How did this movie score so high? It's a good cast with a crap script/plot/etc.. A bunch of self-absorbed hipsters don't realize the world is ending. Don't bother watching.
May 31, 2014
Funny and surprisingly realistic. Better writing than acting, but the black humor works.
May 28, 2014
Very dark, which I usually love, but with the ending being this dark it kind of ruined it for me
Page 1 of 16
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile