• R, 1 hr. 28 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Todd Berger
    In Theaters:
    Apr 12, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    Jun 4, 2013
  • Oscilloscope Laboratories

Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

It's a Disaster Reviews

Page 1 of 15
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

June 25, 2013
Average at best. Not bad. Not great. Barely a chuckle from me...
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

April 13, 2013
Funny and quirky are the two words to best describe this movie. I really liked it. I loved the odd banter and all of the unique characters. I also liked the way it was filmed. It's not a movie that looked like it took a lot of effort to create. It kind of made you feel like you were a fly on the wall and a part of the story. I would definitely watch this again.
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

June 10, 2013
four stars!!!
Alec B

Super Reviewer

June 28, 2013
I think the characters might be too realistic for this to totally work (the dialogue is pretty blase for the most part), but I still rather liked the intimate little apocalypse on display here. Stiles and Cross are great in this.
DA Z

Super Reviewer

June 22, 2013
In a year full of large-budget apocalyptic films, it is amazing to watch a consistently hilarious film like It's a Disaster succeed at the same concept with only a fraction of the budget. This black comedy is brilliantly written, depending on its wit and fantastic cast to create awkwardly enjoyable storyline about a group of friends coming to terms with their untimely fate. Despite a plot that's becoming somewhat generic, It's a Disaster is always clever and satirical. Every single actor has a moment to shine, with ingenious dialogue and character development that only becomes more entertaining throughout the film. Todd Berger officially has my attention, and I cannot wait to see where his work goes from here.
Lane Z

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2013
A very well-casted film. Witty dialogue. A black comedy with a few recognizable faces in Stiles, Cross and Ferrera. It doesn't get too bogged down in the character's connections with one another so the depth of the film is lacking in the brief 90 minutes of screen time. Everyone gets ample time to say their side though, and it's easy to see how one could associate with at least one of the cast members' characters. The great thing is, every once in a while, and more often than not, you're going to giggle and chuckle at the things that comes out of these characters' mouths, which is enough for me to watch this nicely-done low-budget comedy.
Brad S

Super Reviewer

August 19, 2013
It's A Disaster is a very dark comedy that stands out from most these days. It's razor sharp dialogue and perfect comedic timing by the actors and filmmakers make it a thoroughly enjoyable watch. For some reason however, I just don't feel like it's going to be remembered by many, myself included. It's unjustifiable, because it is quite funny, but it seem like a film that will stand the test of time. In spite of that, see this movie! ~ B
Sylvester K

Super Reviewer

April 14, 2013
It's a Disaster is an amazing ensemble comedy that shows a good film does not need to have a big budget. 4 couples arrived in their monthly brunch at one of their houses and discovered they are all under-attacked by an unknown terrorism in the form of chemical weapon, chaos ensures as each of them deals with the situation in different ways. I love most of the characters and the witty script. It's a great black comedy, we need more films like this.
December 9, 2013
Nimble little indie comedy that gets a boost from an able cast and snappy script. Maybe a little too quirky for its own good, but whatever the shortcomings (especially a less-than-successful final act); the mis-steps are ultimately buffered with an amusing scene or turn of events.
Hamee
August 19, 2013
The cast was great, the story was rather unconventional, and the ending was awful. In the end I wish I had skipped this one, but I just had to stick it out to see how everything ended for these zany couples.
August 8, 2013
"It's a Disaster" is an excellent dark comedy that presents so much comical elements even amidst an apocalyptic. Though the film-making is surprisingly simple (the actors really never show up anywhere else other than inside their cars or the house), the use of foreshadowing of failed climax and the gloomy-yet-heavenly classical pieces aired on repeatedly on the emergency broadcasting system (such as Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata and Ave Maria) makes it a perfect example of how an armageddon movie does not have to have millions of dollars in CGI budget.
April 1, 2013
This is my favorite movie. It just random. SPOILER: The whole movie took place in a house and that was funny and random. 5 Stars!!
April 14, 2014
This movie was horrible.
D.A. Zapata
March 29, 2014
In a year full of large-budget apocalyptic films, it is amazing to watch a consistently hilarious film like It's a Disaster succeed at the same concept with only a fraction of the budget. This black comedy is brilliantly written, depending on its wit and fantastic cast to create awkwardly enjoyable storyline about a group of friends coming to terms with their untimely fate. Despite a plot that's becoming somewhat generic, It's a Disaster is always clever and satirical. Every single actor has a moment to shine, with ingenious dialogue and character development that only becomes more entertaining throughout the film. Todd Berger officially has my attention, and I cannot wait to see where his work goes from here.
December 29, 2013
I mostly just love how real the dialogue feels. Of course, it certainly helps that it's really, REALLY funny.
Ay Bee
February 20, 2014
Fantastic. Such a great mash-up, and totally pulled off successfully. Not quite laugh-out-loud funny, but such a funny result. Really loved the guests who are always late!
JDM
February 16, 2014
I wish I had turned it off but instead I hung in to the end hoping it would start to make sense. Some very weird characters, not very realistic and not enjoyable enough to see past that.
February 2, 2014
What a great Black Comedy. There's been a Disaster take place during a Couple's Brunch for 4 Couples. Great Cast , including Ugly Betty's America Ferrera. So Good, I plan to watch this again with my Partner.
Page 1 of 15
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile