Jésus de Montréal (Jesus of Montreal) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jésus de Montréal (Jesus of Montreal) Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Super Reviewer
February 15, 2010
My very first of a lot of things. My first indie. My first foray into Quebecois film. My first look at a Denys Arcand film..and the first time seeing the multitalented Robert Lepage. There is not surprise that many of the alumni of this production went on to succesful careers. It is a great film.
Super Reviewer
May 9, 2008
The movie has some good points: that consumerism, materialism, are hedonism are empty lifestyles. Pop culture... (wealth, sex, the media) is worshipped like a god. The major problem with this movie is the portrayal of Christ. He is the Son of God... the Savior of the world. He was portrayed in this movie as just another man.
Super Reviewer
March 5, 2008
I liked the first half of this, but by the end it was just too much, and getting too obvious. The clever, calling-of-the-disciples allusion is my favorite, and the play itself is rather absorbing.
Super Reviewer
March 4, 2008
Underrated film. Great allegory.
Super Reviewer
½ January 19, 2007
Arcand's depiction on religion and Montreal itself have somewhat not change until now (almost 20 years later). The film opens on a lot of subjects that still not resolved yet which gives the viewers a great opinion on a part of Montrealers ways of living.
May 22, 2012
Arcand explores themes and addresses ideas here most filmmakers would be frightened of attempting to explore. It isn't perfect (it's too long and muddled in it's own backstories), but Jesus of Montreal is fascinating.
February 8, 2008
When I saw this movie, I grew angry, thinking it was mocking my religion. Then I got shivers all over when I realized I was thinking just like the Pharisees and Saducees of Jesus' time. This movie is vying for my all-time favorite.
September 16, 2013
A masterful reinterpretation of the Passion Play that presents a boldly challenging take on Jesus, which is brilliantly complemented by a subtle Biblical symbology in the film as a whole.
August 18, 2012
Passionately conceived Work of Art...
September 5, 2011
Forgot how moving this is.
April 24, 2011
My favourite movie of all time
February 13, 2010
Denys Arcand "Jesus of Montreal-1989" is a movie from a director with intelligence & refined sensibilities. (His best-known work is "The Decline of American Civilization. He also made The Barbarian Invasions a film which I enjoyed very much It won best foreign film Oscar 2004) Plot: A group of actors putting on an interpretive Passion Play in Montreal begin to experience a meshing of their characters & their private lives as the production takes form against the growing opposition of the Catholic church. They begin to experience a meshing of their characters & their private lives as the production takes form against the growing opposition of the Catholic Church. (Lothaire Bluteau), the actor who plays Christ, discovers that his own life is taking on some of the aspects of Christ's. By the end of the film we have arrived at a crucifixion scene that actually plays as drama & not simply as something that has been forced into the script. It suggests that most establishments, & especially the church, would be rocked to their foundations by the practical application of the maxims of Christ. The film gives us simple, powerful messages of artistic freedom, personal redemption, perseverance during a personal quest...& how heartbreaking the world, & reality, can be. The film manages to make deft, original swipes at a plethora of modern 'evils': media hype, advertising, hospital bureaucracy, & of course the hypocrisy of the religious establishment. Cinematically the film is visually elegant & an uncluttered sort of movie. In a sense, "Jesus of Montreal" is a movie about the theater, not about religion. But in the end their challenging production becomes the toast of the city, the Roman Catholic Church strongly objects to its Biblical interpretation & forcefully stops the performances. At least this film does not become overly heavy-handed onscreen. This film was nominated for the 1989 Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film but did not win. won both the Jury Prize at the 1988 Cannes Film Festival and a Golden Globe for Best Foreign Language Film. 4 Stars Recommended~!
January 10, 2010
(****): Thumbs Up

Well-acted and interesting throughout.
½ January 4, 2010
Jesus of Montreal is a thoroughly inventive film that is built on the interesting and wholeheartedly creative premise of a group of theatre actors in Montreal trying to put together an artistic and thought provoking depiction of the crucifixion of Jesus.
While an interesting premise is often not enought to carry a film, it greatly enhances the films individuality and can make it more of an experience to the viewer. However, when a great premise is supported by equaly enticing writting and acting as this film is, it seperates a good film from a great one.
Other unique elements used in this film include the spectacular set designs which are a form of art in themselves, as well as the utilization of the beautiful architecture and landmarks that define Montreal as a city.
Moreover, the camera movements are solidly excecuted and the cinamatography compliments the setting and story very concretely.
A diverse blend of comedy and satire mixed with moments of profound social commentary and realistic character arks only adds to the well roundedness of this film, especially in an era when film was struggling to maintain consistency in quality and inovation.
A wonderful art film and certainly one of the finest French Canadian films I've seen to date, highly enjoyable and highly recomended for all audiences.
½ March 24, 2006
[size=2]I'm beginning the rather lengthy task of entering into the database every film I have seen, at least those I have a decent memory of. Some may have the briefest of reviews while many will just have a number. Those films that I consider personal favorites and/or those that have some historical signficance I will add later when I have time for more lengthy reviews.

[b]Jesus of Montreal[/b], directed by Denys Arcand, is the story of a young actor hired by a local church to do a modern day reenactment of the Passion Play. When his work incorporates blasphemous ideas, church officials become disturbed. This is a fascinating, seldom seen film worth checking out.

[b]Roger & Me [/b]is the acclaimed Michael Moore documentary that chronicles the decline of Flint, Michigan, once the site of a thriving General Motors plant.

[b]Children of a Lesser God[/b], directed by Randa Haines, is the story about a speech teacher James Leeds (William Hurt), who teaches at a school for the deaf. He is an unconventional teacher who incorporates things like rock music so students can feel the vibrations. Soon Leeds meets a beautiful young janitor Sarah (Marlee Matlin) who is a deaf former student. She is withdrawn and not particularly interested in Leeds. Eventually the two do fall in love and have to develop new ways to communicate. It's an interesting film and the romance is plausible although it does become overly emotional and sentimental at times. Marlee Matlin won an Oscar for her role.

[b]Willow[/b], directed by Ron Howard, is a medieval adventure starring Val Kilmer. The film has excellent cinematography and then state of the art computer effects, but ultimately it's a predictable and uninteresting tale.

½ March 1, 2005
Arcand didn't get us this time. Despite some moments of quality, the overall was overwrought.

It didn't help that we watched a dubbed version. One unintentional laugh came when the film featured voice actors overdubbing porno, only to be overdubbed themselves from the original French into English. Double overdubs. Ouch.

Film discussion isn't exciting us these days, and 12 Angry Men is starting, so cya.
Page 1 of 12