Khuda Ke Liye - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Khuda Ke Liye Reviews

Page 1 of 27
Super Reviewer
½ February 16, 2011
A powerful drama portraying culture clashes within Pakistanis both inside and outside their country. The film starts with minor issues that gradually gets bigger and goes completely out of hand post 9/11. First thing you notice about the film is that it never shies away from the depiction of fanatic and sexist elements in Pakistani society. Writer-director Shoaib Mansoor's layered and multi-threaded treatment of the complex subject matter is gripping and poignant. The music comprising of an array of genres adds up the impact of the film. I'm all eyes for Shoaib Mansoor's next film Bol reportedly "about Sunnis and Shias" slated for release in April 2011
½ September 23, 2009
06/12/2009Very sensitive and contemporary topic. Will be a great film for future to know hos the world was like that time... little bit lengthy at the end. Could have been 20-25 min shorter. Very good acting. Changed my view towards Pakistani Movies.
½ July 31, 2008
great film about what it is like to be a muslim living in the modern world...that it should have come from pakistan makes it all the more fascinating: even in the midst of an ongoing demonization of Islam, there is hope yet that the voice of Reason- and Love- though temporarily in retreat, will not be suppressed.
July 22, 2008
This movie is simply awesome! Pakistan was really brave with the subject. A must see for everyone! It shows Islam from various perspectives. I will never forget some scenes. In addition, the songs are pleasing and fit well.
½ July 4, 2008
This confused, rambling affair - the first Pakistani film in wide release in India - is rather a case of 'what could have been'. Certainly director Mansoor had the ingredients of a good polemic on the nature of Islam (ho-hum), the role of the woman, culture, and music in Islamic societies, etc. etc., stopping to also take in post-9/11 American Gitmo-style barbarity et al. Wooden acting, abrupt cuts between locales and levels of tension left one with a sense of dislocation and unease. Whereas the cameo by Naseruddin Shah (finally, a real actor) was welcome, the rest of it felt amateurish and shallow despite the surfeit of best intentions. The character - especially of the father who is a liberal Muslim forcing his daughter into a marriage with her cousin - seems poorly thought out (what were his motivations anyway?). The lack of ability in the dramatic leads was the most disappointing. Despite being winsome, Ms Iman Ali couldn't quite make up her mind whether she was delivering the character's required Brit accent, some pastiche of an American drawl, or her probable real Lahori Punjabi English. That perhaps just says it all - in its earnestness, like of many other liberal Pakistanis - to find some core values in being both religious as well as humane, this film falters on multiple levels, but gets a B+ from me mostly for effort. For a film which makes much of the redemptive power of music, the soundtrack was yawn-inspiring except for the title and end-credits song (how much Bulley Shah will the Pakistani rockers keep dishing out - have mercy!). Does the Pakistani arts establishment have no other existential crises to explore but its crisis with the form of Islam, given that religion's death grip on the idea of what it means to be a Pakistani (surely not another pale imitation of Sunni Arab?). This is why Mohsin Hamid's original script adaptation for his novel 'Moth Smoke' was promising for being more about a Pakistani love story, in all senses of that phrase. Let's hope the director has future tricks up his sleeve beyond those he pulled to get this multi-continent opus budgeted and on the screen.
May 23, 2008
Wow what a movie. Its a must watch. Great message from this movie. It shows how people are treated just because of their religion,especially women, and some men in this worldare such hypocrates. It also shows that just because of some muslims the whole community is not bad. The music is very good. All the actors have perfomed very well, specially Naseruddin Shah. There are some parts of the movie which are really slow and a viewer can go off to sleep.
May 18, 2008
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm what should i say about this movie...finally a good movie from my country... i really liked the story, cast and the cinematography.. songs were awesome... Love Iman Ali.. awesome actress... a must-see.. on the whole a very good movie!!!!....
½ April 21, 2015
Unreal acting & moderated way of judgment couldn't fade away the theme which is politically correct.
December 14, 2012
This is one of the most eye-opening and yet at the same time touching movies.
November 19, 2012
I saw this one in Aug 2007. Its a courageous effort by the Pakistani director, Shoaib Mansoor to highlight the plight of those marred by fundamentalism. Its an eye-opener for people with blind faith on religious priests. This shows how a young, educated and liberal youth can be brainwashed and made to do things one normally won`t in the name religion. A must watch which will leave a long-lasting impact and compel you to question your blind faith...
½ April 25, 2012
its gud to watch ............u will be shocked wat people do in name of god...must watch
March 10, 2012
If given a choice between Pakistani movies and Pakistani TV shows/serials, I'd settle for the small screen any day. Not that all serials ['dramas' is what they call them in Pakistan] are engaging, but I am hooked to a few shows. From whatever I've seen of Pakistani movies, my ratings would not exceed 1 on a scale of 10. But Khuda Kay Liye, the first Pakistani film to release in India, is also the first Pakistani film that moved me.Shan is a fine actor, but he has put on a lot of weight and it shows. Imad Ali could've been more effective. Fawad Khan is strictly okay. Rasheed Naz is excellent. Naseeruddin Shah is the scene stealer. His portions are simply outstanding!
½ August 20, 2007
good movie, some weak scenes but were still executed well
November 5, 2011
I dont ever remember watching a Paki movie, but this one definitely touched my heart. It brings together 2 different lives of the brothers, but these lives are also so similar. Shaan is a great actor! I loved the lessons taught in this movie too, cause to be honest, living in the western world you tend to forget the the deeper meanings and reality!
September 17, 2011
Liked it, didn't love it. 5 stars for concept and intention, minus half a star for acting (disappointing from some of the leads) and another half a star for production values, which were all too often amateurish. Still, an important film, and more so for having come out of Pakistan in the crucial year of 2007.
September 11, 2011
Brilliant acting, brilliant story and a brilliant film. This is probably the best film the pakistani film industry has ever produced. Deep drama with light comedy and good music. Nothing overdone, overall great film.
½ July 17, 2011
The first decent movie on Terrorism and how the lives of the other innocent people are affected by it, is explained clearly in this film without any gimmicks, though the song are felt unwanted at certain scenes in the movie. But the Song 'Badeiya Ho' is a must watchable.
Super Reviewer
½ February 16, 2011
A powerful drama portraying culture clashes within Pakistanis both inside and outside their country. The film starts with minor issues that gradually gets bigger and goes completely out of hand post 9/11. First thing you notice about the film is that it never shies away from the depiction of fanatic and sexist elements in Pakistani society. Writer-director Shoaib Mansoor's layered and multi-threaded treatment of the complex subject matter is gripping and poignant. The music comprising of an array of genres adds up the impact of the film. I'm all eyes for Shoaib Mansoor's next film Bol reportedly "about Sunnis and Shias" slated for release in April 2011
Page 1 of 27