Opening

41% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
35% If I Stay Aug 22
—— When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
7% Are You Here Aug 22
97% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Komodo vs. Cobra Reviews

Page 1 of 5
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

January 13, 2013
I am actually not "Gigantic and Mutates" Movie Fan but this was very interesting. My fav bit was the very last Scene.
Ken S

Super Reviewer

October 10, 2007
From the director of Busty Cops goto Hawaii
PantaOz
PantaOz

Super Reviewer

August 10, 2013
This television film is directed by Jim Wynorski, and it's a sequel to his 2004 film Curse of the Komodo, with several similar elements : experiment gone wrong, father-daughter team, government attempt to bomb things, the ending, komodo's behaviours, etc. The lame story starts when a team of environmentalists, including a reporter, her camera man, and an environmentalist's famous girlfriend charter a boat and with the captain, sail to a military island. They suspect the island is a place for US government illegal experiments. Upon arrival, however, they find no one but they finally find Dr. Susan Richardson, who tells them that everyone on the island is dead, including her father. Richardson's team were working on a compound that could make edible plants grow to super size, however the military intervened with plans of their own. They wanted to test the compound's effects on animals, and proceeded to feed it to several komodo dragons and cobras.

This is just a bad B movie - from screenplay, through directing, special effects, and especially acting! Michael Paré as Mike A. Stoddard, Ryan McTavish as Jerry Ryanm, Renee Talbert as Carrie, Jerri Manthey as Sandra, Michelle Borth as Dr. Susan Richardson, Ted Monte as Ted, Glori-Anne Gilbert as Darla. Rene Rivera as Dirk, Jay Richardson as Dr. Richardson, Rod McCary as General Bradley, Roark Critchlow as Major Garber and Paul Logan as Major Frank had no idea what were they doing! So many names without a real actor being between them... unbelievably untalented bunch! Everything in this movie could be described with one word: pathetic.

Please, don't waste time on this, not worth a minute of your time.
February 1, 2014
Terrible acting, writing and CGI to be expected, you watch this movie for the fights. And while there is satisfactory isolated Komodo and Cobra action, the Komodo vs. Cobra fight is like, 3 minutes long. A much larger portion of the movie than should be is drama and not fun boom boom chomp chomp kill a creature material you pay to see. SyFy is better at this then Lionsgate, that's for sure.
PantaOz
PantaOz

Super Reviewer

August 10, 2013
This television film is directed by Jim Wynorski, and it's a sequel to his 2004 film Curse of the Komodo, with several similar elements : experiment gone wrong, father-daughter team, government attempt to bomb things, the ending, komodo's behaviours, etc. The lame story starts when a team of environmentalists, including a reporter, her camera man, and an environmentalist's famous girlfriend charter a boat and with the captain, sail to a military island. They suspect the island is a place for US government illegal experiments. Upon arrival, however, they find no one but they finally find Dr. Susan Richardson, who tells them that everyone on the island is dead, including her father. Richardson's team were working on a compound that could make edible plants grow to super size, however the military intervened with plans of their own. They wanted to test the compound's effects on animals, and proceeded to feed it to several komodo dragons and cobras.

This is just a bad B movie - from screenplay, through directing, special effects, and especially acting! Michael Paré as Mike A. Stoddard, Ryan McTavish as Jerry Ryanm, Renee Talbert as Carrie, Jerri Manthey as Sandra, Michelle Borth as Dr. Susan Richardson, Ted Monte as Ted, Glori-Anne Gilbert as Darla. Rene Rivera as Dirk, Jay Richardson as Dr. Richardson, Rod McCary as General Bradley, Roark Critchlow as Major Garber and Paul Logan as Major Frank had no idea what were they doing! So many names without a real actor being between them... unbelievably untalented bunch! Everything in this movie could be described with one word: pathetic.

Please, don't waste time on this, not worth a minute of your time.
August 4, 2013
Unquestionably the worst movie ive ever seen. Granted i rented this at around age 10 and even then found it utter garbage. The only reason im reviewing it at all is to rid of the pain this movie caused me
KevinRobbins
September 9, 2010
He didn?t make it

A group of nature activist has heard rumors of an island in the Pacific Ocean where the government has been conducting genetic experiments. They charter a boat to the island only to discover that the island is abandoned. As they investigate the island, they uncover humongous man-eating reptiles. The activists will need to quickly obtain their proof of the island?s experiments and safely return to the boat without becoming dinner.

?The monstrous behemoths you have seen on this tape are not the effects of Hollywood effects wizards.?

Jim Wynorski, director of Bone Eater, House on Hooter Hill, The Witches of Breastwick 1 & 2, Sub Zero, Busty Cops 1 & 2, and The Bare Wench Project, delivers Komodo versus Cobra. The storyline for this picture is classic science fiction. The special effects were awful and were worse than the graphics you may find in current video games. The acting was mediocre to poor as the cast includes Michael Pare, Michelle Borth, Renee Talbert, and Jerri Manthey.

?I don?t think this is a good idea. Do you think we can trust this guy??

I happened to come across this film on Showtime while flicking through the channels on Labor Day. You would think with Wynorski?s directorial history, and the impressively attractive cast, that this film would be soft porn mixed with giant monsters; unfortunately, the film did not even have soft porn going for it. This film was awful with mediocre special effects and awful acting. I recommend skipping this movie.

Grade: F
Joe L.
August 26, 2010
Acting was ok but the CGI was hideous is every way,they looked like gor for saken TOYS dammit!!! I just watched it expecting an ok movie but I come across a horrible syfy made MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!! never watching it again.
dyl p.
August 20, 2010
This movie is really bad,it has nothing to justify it.I wonder if anyone likes this movie.The people who survive at the end are really hatable characters and you want them to die right away,and there wasn't a real fight,the komodo and cobra just hissed at each other.This is just awful,please don't watch it.
david k.
July 1, 2010
I wasn't suprized at all to see this movie on scifi.
Uncle Fester
May 11, 2010
There is just so much wrong with this movie. No recoil on the guns, they have seemingly infinite ammunition in their pistols, the characters are dry after getting out of the water, horrible special effects, I could go on for days. This movie could be fun to watch with some friends simply to laugh at.
Mr. Bo Ziffer
October 12, 2009
Some movies raise questions that really have nothing to do with the overall story, but are still very good questions in general. How do movies like these get funded? Who thought that this was a good script? Why do s***ty actors think that being in these movies think that this is their ticket to stardom? Thinking about these questions for too long will make menstral blood shoot out of your eyes (even if your not a woman), so it's probably best to just ignore them. But I feel it is my duty . . . my obligation . . . my burden, to warn you of "Komodo Vs. Cobra" the same way Paul Revere warned the colonists of the Redcoats.

My first gripe with this film, and I only consider it a film because it is in fact printed on film, is that it has a short name: KvC. KvC sounds more like a fried chicken joint than a horror movie! My second gripe is the film's "star" is a washed-up, desperate Michael Pare. My third gripe is that this is SyFy Channel quality filmmaking, without the SyFy Channel! Now I'm all flustered! I thought that the only way to see a movie this bad was to watch SyFy on a Saturday afternoon. In all honesty, I would really like to see a giant komodo dragon fight a huge cobra, but that's it. No back story, no love interest, just some hot reptile on reptile action. But the movie has to throw in some real nipple-heads that I guess we're supposed to care about.

I know, I know . . . I should just shut up and give you the synopsis. Well, it involves a whiny young couple paying rear admiral Pare to take them to a distant island for vacation. Michael Pare is smart, as all salty sea dogs are, and refuses to go. But after a little persuasion, and about $1000 in the fakest money ever printed for cinema, our heroes are off. Of course they bring their friends along for the ride, too. What fun would it be to be eaten without your best friend at your side?

At first, our protagonists start hearing things that are pretty good clues that something isn't quite right in Denver: loud roaring, people screaming, . . . giant corn? But as our nimrods try to put two and two together (which seems to be a hastle for a few of them) they run into a smokin' hot scientist with a gun. How do we know she's a scientist? Why, she's got a white coat, of course. And she uses big words like "specimen".

Ms. Sexy Scientist tells everyone to haul a** and leave the island, and everyone is in agreement, except for one douche nozzle. As it turns out, the only reason he came along was to expose the scientist and her colleagues for doing horrific sciency stuff to animals. And what might that be, you ask. Well, the scientists tried to make a komodo dragon and cobra bigger and bulletproof for . . . wait for it, weapons for the government.

WHY?!?! Why are scientists developing useless, stupid things like these in movies like this? What good would a giant snake do against the Soviets, or the Swedes, or whoever we're fighting right now? I particularly love that the scientists knew that they were tampering with Mother Nature, and making two of the deadliest creatures on earth bigger and resistant to bullets, but brought only ONE HANDGUN! Oh but don't worry, this gun has unlimited ammunition, just like a video game cheat code. Characters manage to squeeze off 60-120 shots without reloading before the creature eventually slithers/stomps away, either out of boredom or it already ate someone.

That brings me to the special effects: they're TERRIBLE. Both creatures look like they jumped straight out of an XBOX cutscene. It's also hilarious when someone gets stomped on, because it looks like the wind blowing over a cardboard cutout. It kind of reminds me of when Iron Man gets crushed by that falling cow in Disaster Movie.* But the best part is that this is a PG-13 movie, and there is no blood. So, characters are swallowed whole, rather than ripped to shreds. I would believe this with the cobra, because that is what snakes actually do. But the komodo dragon seems to have forgotten that evolution gave it those weird things called "teeth" and swallows its prey like a pill!

But the fight between the two reptiles must be cool, right? After all, they named the friggin' movie after it! Actually, what we get is a 360-degree shot, a la Michael Bay and a lot of tail-nipping. You can probably guess who wins the fight, as it is the same for all of these "vs." movies.

The point, fellow reader, is that this is probably the worst movie I have ever seen. To call it a movie is an insult to other movies. To call it a piece of s*** is an insult to pieces of s*** the world over! If the idea of watching "KvC" ever crosses your mind, don't. Read a book, learn a dead language, clean your gutters . . . all of those things are more fun than Komodo vs. Cobra.

*Note: I didn't actually see Disaster Movie. I was just referring to what I saw in the trailer. I would rather give a midget my cash to spit in my mouth than to those two comedy molesters, Friedberg and Seltzer.
james m.
September 15, 2009
This movie was like watching a train wreck i could not look away. I was laughing during the action scenes as the male lead fired more than 80 rounds from his 9mm pistol before screaming to he group quick run away. I have seen better on You tube.
mrtruffle
July 1, 2007
Makes me think I could make a movie
jazza923
July 21, 2006
Cheesy sci-fi/horror flick with computer graphic monsters, although the effects are better than most of this type. The acting ranges from decent to poor. The biggest plus is the location sceneryt - quite magnificent. Although it isn't good, it wasn't too bad watching it.
Page 1 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile