• R, 1 hr. 30 min.
  • Horror
  • Directed By:
    George Bessudo
    In Theaters:
    Nov 9, 2007 Wide
    On DVD:
    Mar 18, 2008
  • After Dark Films
  • Lake Dead
    1 minutes 20 seconds
    Added: May 9, 2008

Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
47% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
64% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
14% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

43% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
79% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Lake Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Japes
Japes

Super Reviewer

August 5, 2010
Why do the hot guys always have to save the loud, whiney, obnoxious women? I don't understand why the movie makes the women seem helpless and so annoying. It's kind of insulting in a way. I also don't understand the need for useless sex scenes. They're completely unnecessary and it pulls away from the actual plot. The script, of course was also bad. No one talks like that, and the acting just makes the script seem worse. It wasn't scary as much as it was disturbing (the incest thing), but nothing stuck with me for long. It's not a movie worth watching. It's a sad excuse for a horror film.
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

June 8, 2010
It did freaked me out at first. The whole movie was okay but somehow I felt something was missing in it.
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

November 21, 2008
Well this is 2nd 8 films do die for 2008 sereis I've watched and must say it was better then the other. Nice looking ladies thats for sure. A OK theme, Who were the two funk brothers, Vince McMahon you need to get these two in WEF. Its worth picking up, Wally's World has them at Regular pice for $7.50 its worth that.
Beefy
Beefy

Super Reviewer

July 26, 2008
Harmless, unoriginal, poorly acted rip off of many, many other, better slasher type films. May work better with beer.
DrStrangeblog
DrStrangeblog

Super Reviewer

October 7, 2010
It was on, so I watched it. I have no better excuse than that. Lame but not unwatchable, it's just wholly unremarkable with very few actual scares. The title itself is indistinctive, but I honestly cannot think of another that would be a fitting improvement. Some amusing contrivances attempting to add tension though: a sudden twisted ankle from walking in a straight line along a dirt road, 2 people can run from one house to another and back again in roughly the same time as it takes to drive, and a serious case of rampant tunnel vision as characters do not see dead bodies hanging or bobbing in plain view until right next to them. And what kind of idiot goes swimming with his wallet?? On the plus side, an attractive cast with appealing sisters Brielle and Kelly that I hoped would pull through, a sympathetic boyfriend, and overall a gang I didn't mind hanging around. Except for when they start the crack smoking.
August 28, 2012
Despite a few decently gory moments, Lake Dead manages to be as flaccid and uninteresting as its name...
June 23, 2009
Well.. It was one of those movies that made you think maybe they hired all the cast aside couldn't cut it as the porn stars actors. I had to fastforwerd alot.. But some of the story line had me interested enough to watch parts of it. It almost reminds me of the wrong turn type movies..
May 12, 2009
i can't say whether or not more than 2 people have seen this in the theater...b/c my friend and i were the only ones in the theater when we saw this.
February 1, 2009
A movie about 3 sisters who go to a house they inheareted, but find more than they expected.

I didn't find this movie all that special. It was an alright movie to sit through once, but it didn't offer any surprises and it was diull and predictable.
December 13, 2008
Old woman kissing her son. FAIL. Eww. Overall a boring movie.. Incestuous family kills people, and wants the two sisters to carry on the legacy. The acting isn't bad but the effects are crap.
October 24, 2008
Wow, fuck me for still trying to watch these After Dark Horrorfest films, right?

The film felt like Hills Have Eyes-lite with creepy deformed people menacing hot 20-somethings in the woods, but it's too well lit and slickly produced to ever really gather any steam as a grim and dirty horror film.

Pass.
October 14, 2008
On of the 8 movies to die for from 2007. And one of the better ones too....predicatable and rediculous at points, but it's campy and feels like it's out of the 80s, which is always good.
celtictroll64124
July 3, 2008
One of the eight films to die for. It is a good movie, but not great.

We do get some tits and ass in the movie but from only one girl who shortly thereafter dies a gruesome death.

While the horror in this movie isn't supernatural, it is something that you always hear about in legends, ever since Deliverance. Inbreeding hillbillies.

Interesting movie. Good music.

I liked the movie. Would be good to watch in a group with alcohol.
SuicidalPromises
June 11, 2008
Well this movie did keep my attention for the most part, but the acting wasn't very realistic, and this movie just seemed to copy other horror films, it just wasn't very original. Overall it was okay, not the kind of movie I'd go outta my way to see.
May 26, 2008
not bad. started right in with the horror part which makes for a decent movie. like the idea that the brothers go backt what they gave. not a bad storyline better than the hills have eyes
May 25, 2008
At the beginning, I thought this was going to turn out to be an unnecessary skin flick with hot people, but I'm glad I continued watching. This was pretty entertaining.
Ken D

Super Reviewer

May 11, 2008
Where to start. There were a couple fo things I did like about this. The actor who played the sheriff really got into his role and made it work. The music that tried to create atmospehre and tension would have worked well, if this movie wouldn't have been so bad. And this was a bad movie. The acting was atrocious. I was so annoyed with the actress who played Samantha. She was awful. And the swearing in the begining was so gratuitious that it was sickening. Hey, I'm no prude, but come on. There can't be this much stupidity in dialogue can there. And speaking of the script. Was there anyting original. Anythying? Nope, all the cliches were there and right where they shouid have been. A couple of funny lines, a different kind of gore scene with the Samantha character and the man who played the sheriff could not save this stinker.
April 17, 2008
GIANT PIECE OF CRAP! i mean once i saw the slutty bitch show her nasty tits i was done. these cunts can't write or act for shit. i wanted to slit my wrists 5 mins in. the only worthy line after lengthy fast-fww i cracked up when the mom said "take her into the barn; more romantic like our 1st time" that was the only time i was entertained. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
November 29, 2007
Bad, bad acting-in a story we've all heard before!
I've purchased all the 2 sets of the Horrorfest-8 films to die for. Some are good and while others not so good. Oh well....
Anthropomancer
April 3, 2008
No originality at all..boring as fuck all! and just plain weak in the gore department....one of the worse of the (Inbred,Hillbilly,Psycho Family) Genre that i have seen in awhile!!!
Page 1 of 16
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile