Opening

25% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
63% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
15% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
83% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
100% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Le Mans Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Marcus W

Super Reviewer

December 20, 2007
Your enjoyment of it will depend on your love for racing as there's very little else.
November 23, 2008
Cars, Romance and Testosterone. Great use of stock footage. I really like this McQueen movie. I wouldn't be surprised if Hollywood remakes it... I'm sure this thought isn't that far fetched
jmillerdp
June 5, 2011
Steve McQueen racing vanity project. If you like racing, you will be good to go. If you want a movie, you're in trouble! There is pretty much no story, just racing. The action is done very well, and is to be commended. McQueen's usual sleep walking performance does nothing for the film.
NEMESISxDx
February 17, 2011
this is the one mcqueen movie i have the most trouble enjoying. if you're the person who likes watching races at the actual race track you will thoroughly enjoy this movie. as for me, i get sleepy every time. it's not that there is anything terribly wrong with it, it's simply very real. and well...yeah.
July 4, 2009
Still filling in my McQueen viewings, caught this one on cable the other day.

Not being much of a gearhead, obviously a lot of the carsploitation elements are a bit lost on me, but the documentary styled camera-work and quiet storytelling style about the grueling 24 hour race really drew me in.

I don't know if it's for everyone, but I enjoyed it for at least a single viewing, give ti a try.
HorrorMovieCinema
December 18, 2008
Michael Delaney: This isn't just a thousand to one shot. This is a professional bloodsport. And it can happen to you. And then it can happen to you again.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lisa Belgetti: When people risk their lives, shouldn't it be for something very important?
Michael Delaney: Well, it better be.
Lisa Belgetti: But what is so important about driving faster than anyone else?
Michael Delaney: Lotta people go through life doing things badly. Racing's important to men who do it well. When you're racing, it's life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Townsend: Michael, I want you to drive flat out. I want Porsche to win Le Mans
myalange
February 27, 2007
I saw it purely for Steve- it got really boring after awhile, tho, just watching shot after shot of cars going around a track.
November 21, 2013
almost all aspects about endurance race are exposed by this film, all the cars, the mighty porsche 917 with its famous gulf color and strip, the ferrari 512 and all the the other gt cars, the drivers, the dangers, and most importantly the grueling 24 hours racing itself. If you are a true motor racing fans or enthusiast, this film is a must to watch. but if you are seeking for a story by this one is nothing but to make you bored.
January 26, 2013
BS Premium Cinema, 2013/1/26
January 6, 2012
Like its namesake, a manly racing drama.
November 10, 2012
Gear head porn - skip past the thin story segments and get to the action. Thumbs up for old-school formula racing.
Damian B.
April 27, 2012
You could watch racing on tv with commentary... or you could watch this. The same thing, only this one doesn't have commentary. It has no real, actual story, just some more or less important dialog and a lot of racing. The idea itself isn't bad. The thing is, the execution isn't very good in my opinion.

The race does get exciting at times, you are shown several aspects of racing but sometimes you get pointless shots or many many many reruns of a crash. First in normal time, then in slow motion, then again and again, then fast forwarded and again. They milk every remotely exciting moment as much as they can, and then some more. It seems like they couldn't get much more creative so they looked for every little thing that could fill up the time.

To sum up, it's enjoyable at times but sometimes you have a feeling that the movie is lazy and kind of cheezy. This movie is for racing fans only.
Mark M.
June 23, 2011
As a racing and car crazy kid growing up in the seventies, I was lucky to get to see this on the big screen when it was released, and it blew me away then. This was the first racing movie that focused on the racing and what it took to drive at that level, and is still the standard against which all other racing movies should be judged.

It's pretty much a fictional "documentary", with virtually no dialogue spoken during the first thity-five minutes. The plot is bare bones minimal, only invloving what the drivers, team managers, spouses, etc. relate to each other in the context of the race. There is no love story, no real subplot, nothing but the purity of the racing.

Because of this, "Le Mans" is nearly perfect. Stunningly shot & choreographed, with amazing and very realistic stunt work and driving, it gives the viewer the ultimate feeling for what it's like to race at speeds over 200 MPH for twenty-four hours.

If you're looking for a plot filled with dialogue, in depth characters or anything which takes away from the racing, then "Le Mans" isn't for you. But if you want a highly accurate albeit fictional look at what international road/endurance racing was like back in the early seventies, then you need to watch this movie.
June 11, 2011
I only saw this just recently and can't believe I never saw this growing up. Easily now one of my favorite movies and without a doubt the finest racing movie ever made. The story behind the making of this movie and Steve McQueen is as interesting as the movie itself. This work of art was way ahead of it's time. Highly recommended.
May 26, 2011
It might not be the most substantial film ever made, but as a pure portrait of the 24 Heurs of Le Mans, and as a film conveying the spirit of motorsport as a whole, it excels in nearly every way
February 19, 2011
The best car movie ever!
January 30, 2011
I think the Critics hate it for the same arrogance that art purists were up set when Car designs were discussed as ART. They don't know the subject so they don't like it. The next best classic to Grand Prix. Ask the Gear heads they lovers of Automobiles as Art, business, sport, and general entertainment that this is one of the great Auto movies. In reality it is a 3 to the general public but a 4or 5 to the Gear head.
November 20, 2010
A great movie about the 24 hour race at Le Mans...with Fantastic action sequences with acting a little dull at times with little plot apart from the race itself .......a movie for the race car enthusiast....
jspg71
September 24, 2009
It was a rainy day the other day so I dusted this one off. If you like driving or racing you'll love it but there's not much else in the way of dialogue or plot - It's just about the cars and drivers during the 24 hour race at Le Mans circa 1970 . . .
Page 1 of 17
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile