Le Mans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Le Mans Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Super Reviewer
December 20, 2007
Your enjoyment of it will depend on your love for racing as there's very little else.
April 19, 2014
A racing movie made purely for racing enthusiasts. Some great racing footage wrapped around what is a very weak plot.
November 23, 2008
Cars, Romance and Testosterone. Great use of stock footage. I really like this McQueen movie. I wouldn't be surprised if Hollywood remakes it... I'm sure this thought isn't that far fetched
April 10, 2012
This is a damn cool movie. It sure helped me understand Le Mans! McQueen is great as the stoic, reserved driver. This film is pretty existential, too. More driving than dialouge, it is a film for thought and absorption.
½ June 23, 2011
As a racing and car crazy kid growing up in the seventies, I was lucky to get to see this on the big screen when it was released, and it blew me away then. This was the first racing movie that focused on the racing and what it took to drive at that level, and is still the standard against which all other racing movies should be judged.

It's pretty much a fictional "documentary", with virtually no dialogue spoken during the first thity-five minutes. The plot is bare bones minimal, only invloving what the drivers, team managers, spouses, etc. relate to each other in the context of the race. There is no love story, no real subplot, nothing but the purity of the racing.

Because of this, "Le Mans" is nearly perfect. Stunningly shot & choreographed, with amazing and very realistic stunt work and driving, it gives the viewer the ultimate feeling for what it's like to race at speeds over 200 MPH for twenty-four hours.

If you're looking for a plot filled with dialogue, in depth characters or anything which takes away from the racing, then "Le Mans" isn't for you. But if you want a highly accurate albeit fictional look at what international road/endurance racing was like back in the early seventies, then you need to watch this movie.
June 5, 2011
Steve McQueen racing vanity project. If you like racing, you will be good to go. If you want a movie, you're in trouble! There is pretty much no story, just racing. The action is done very well, and is to be commended. McQueen's usual sleep walking performance does nothing for the film.
½ February 17, 2011
this is the one mcqueen movie i have the most trouble enjoying. if you're the person who likes watching races at the actual race track you will thoroughly enjoy this movie. as for me, i get sleepy every time. it's not that there is anything terribly wrong with it, it's simply very real. and well...yeah.
September 24, 2009
It was a rainy day the other day so I dusted this one off. If you like driving or racing you'll love it but there's not much else in the way of dialogue or plot - It's just about the cars and drivers during the 24 hour race at Le Mans circa 1970 . . .
July 4, 2009
Still filling in my McQueen viewings, caught this one on cable the other day.

Not being much of a gearhead, obviously a lot of the carsploitation elements are a bit lost on me, but the documentary styled camera-work and quiet storytelling style about the grueling 24 hour race really drew me in.

I don't know if it's for everyone, but I enjoyed it for at least a single viewing, give ti a try.
½ December 18, 2008
Michael Delaney: This isn't just a thousand to one shot. This is a professional bloodsport. And it can happen to you. And then it can happen to you again.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lisa Belgetti: When people risk their lives, shouldn't it be for something very important?
Michael Delaney: Well, it better be.
Lisa Belgetti: But what is so important about driving faster than anyone else?
Michael Delaney: Lotta people go through life doing things badly. Racing's important to men who do it well. When you're racing, it's life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Townsend: Michael, I want you to drive flat out. I want Porsche to win Le Mans
March 1, 2008
The great editing and camerawork boost up this rather ordinary story to above average. Steve Mc Queen is good, no one else in the cast is particularly memorable. Good racing sequences.
½ December 23, 2013
McQueen got rid of Sturges and just went buckwild
½ May 28, 2010
Realistic filming of the great race with a story to boot. I watched this because my coworker used to race and it was his favorite film.
September 19, 2014
If you are not a die hard racing fan, then this movie could drag quite a bit for you...but even those who aren't big fans can appreciate the speed and danger that these drivers endured thanks to the fantastic cinematography this almost-documentary provides. The rawness of the action and the sincerity in which the film was made is reason enough to watch it. In the end this film is car porn for big fans of antique sports car racing and a learning experience for those who know little to nothing about motor racing in general.
May 9, 2014
awesome race pic plus steve mcqueen = good pic
April 19, 2014
A racing movie made purely for racing enthusiasts. Some great racing footage wrapped around what is a very weak plot.
Super Reviewer
December 20, 2007
Your enjoyment of it will depend on your love for racing as there's very little else.
November 21, 2013
almost all aspects about endurance race are exposed by this film, all the cars, the mighty porsche 917 with its famous gulf color and strip, the ferrari 512 and all the the other gt cars, the drivers, the dangers, and most importantly the grueling 24 hours racing itself. If you are a true motor racing fans or enthusiast, this film is a must to watch. but if you are seeking for a story by this one is nothing but to make you bored.
February 8, 2008
There will never be a film like this again, a example of a film that don't depend on plot to make a good film, just add atmosphere.
Page 1 of 17