Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
33% As Above/So Below Aug 29
34% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
74% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
39% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
58% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Live Free or Die Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

August 29, 2010
A bit of a miss with me. I loved Paul and, of course, Zooey in their roles but the storyline left me a little flat. Needed more with Zooey to punch it up a bit. It was... eh.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

August 20, 2009
Aaron Stanford, Paul Schneider, Zooey Deschanel, Juah Friedlander, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, Kevin Dunn, Peter Anthony Tambakis, Michael Rapaport

DIRECTED BY: Andy Robin & Gregg Kavet

Taking its title from the state motto of New Hampshire, "Live Free or Die" is a deadpan comedy about a clueless, aspiring criminal named John "Rugged" Rudgate, who spends his days forging rebate coupons and selling speakers out the back of his van. One day, Rugged runs into an old acquaintance, the dim-witted Jeff Lagrand, who recently returned home to help his cynical sister run the storage facility that they inherited from their father. When Rugged tries to force his way into the Lagrand family business, things go terribly wrong--and the situation gets even more complicated when an emotionally unstable cop begins investigating

Well it didn't turn out to be as funny as I had hoped, but it had some good laughs. I found Pual Schneider and Zooey Deschanel to be the only funny two. Schneider's character was just one those off-beat characters that I love. Not so obviously funny. There should have been more Zooey in this movie. Would have been better I think. It was a bit boring at times and kinda silly. But I think it being silly was kind of the writer's intent. But all in all a decent watch.. Maybe..
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

April 13, 2008
[font=Century Gothic]In "Live Free or Die," John "Rugged" Rudgate(Aaron Stanford) is a legendary petty thief in New Hampshire who specializes in stealing stereo speakers. While making the rounds, he meets an old friend, Jeff Lagrand(Paul Schneider), who although none too bright, inherited a storage facility with his sister, Cheryl(Zooey Deschanel). Rugged in a futile attempt to prove himself a hardened criminal takes credit for the murder of a local politician and spikes the well of a bully with brake fluid...[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"Live Free or Die" is the kind of movie that gives independent films a bad name, existing solely as an exercise in condescension towards small town life in general, New Hampshire specifically.(For that reason, a former acquaintance would have found this hilarious.) Overall, it is faintly amusing and Zooey Deschanel is the only actor worth watching, but sadly she is not onscreen enough to make a difference.(Which was pretty much the only reason I watched it in the first place...) Maybe if the movie had been less jokey and the script had been more polished, there might have been something here. A competing plotline about the local police is just aimless until it almost dovetails with Rugged's story, but never fully does. [/font]
William G

Super Reviewer

June 14, 2007
Goofy small-time criminal farce isn't as funny as it thinks it is.
shanehaley41
shanehaley41

Super Reviewer

January 2, 2009
A little slow, kinda boring at times but Lagrange keeps you interested with his somewhat dim-witted comedy. Not enough Zooey by any means. I like the message though, sometimes the image or the legend is so much easier to grasp than the truth. If we all lived with the reality and not the fantasy this would be a pretty boring existence.
tecneek253
June 20, 2009
movie about a small time crook pretending to be more than he is and an idiot "sidekick".......i thought it was kinda funny....not enough zooey.......judah's funny
ginamarielopez
January 2, 2009
There were times when I wanted to turn this movie off and times when I genuinely laughed out loud. You never really know what you are gonna get from a ThinkFilm. In the end it wasn't terrible and the irony of it all was amusing. Rugged wants so badly to have this image of a tough criminal and in the end he gets that but in reality he actually dies and his body is buried underneath a bunch of trash. It made me smirk.
October 21, 2007
Meet "Rugged" Rudgate, a total loser trying to be a bad *ss. Every time he does something actually bad (or thinks he does) he freaks out and tries to fix it or hide it. In my opinion, this movie is trying too hard to be funny. If you are attracted to the title like I was, you are more likely not going to like this movie. I suggest watching S.F.W. or Run Ronnie Run instead.
RolliezPolliez
August 7, 2007
This movie's got great characters with loads of personality...maybe not the best acting, but certainly a funny movie that made me laugh out loud at times.
BanaticAKAHillhero
July 29, 2007
I reallt enjoyed it, it was funny, and it was natural funny not that stupid funny, that cant happen in life. I really liked the whole complexity the story had, and I really enjoyed watching the character John "Rugged' Rudgate lying about the kind of person he was, it was a different movie to watch, I really enjoyed the it for the time it lasted. The ending wasnt so good, thats why I didnt gice it 5 stars... but besides that, its good time spent.
nativesunljt
July 26, 2007
Great and quirky indie film that more than just a little amusing. Loved the story and the funny acting. A great find of a film.
July 26, 2007
Oh Man... For the first hour, I thought i was really wasting my time. Was gonna give it half a star at best. This movie BLOWS!
There was just one moment that made me laugh, and I mean laugh out loud, so I gave it an extra star for that, not many movies make me laugh.
There is no drama, no feelings, nothing. This movie is plain boring! it has this whole legends theme that's just sad. It's like calling the narco-dealers the prosperity-bringers. A bunch of bullshit from people who see the glass full when it's half empty.
November 26, 2011
Way funny and way underrated.
stephanie2332
February 8, 2009
Mad Money 6/10

Live Free or Die Hard 8/10
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

April 13, 2008
[font=Century Gothic]In "Live Free or Die," John "Rugged" Rudgate(Aaron Stanford) is a legendary petty thief in New Hampshire who specializes in stealing stereo speakers. While making the rounds, he meets an old friend, Jeff Lagrand(Paul Schneider), who although none too bright, inherited a storage facility with his sister, Cheryl(Zooey Deschanel). Rugged in a futile attempt to prove himself a hardened criminal takes credit for the murder of a local politician and spikes the well of a bully with brake fluid...[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"Live Free or Die" is the kind of movie that gives independent films a bad name, existing solely as an exercise in condescension towards small town life in general, New Hampshire specifically.(For that reason, a former acquaintance would have found this hilarious.) Overall, it is faintly amusing and Zooey Deschanel is the only actor worth watching, but sadly she is not onscreen enough to make a difference.(Which was pretty much the only reason I watched it in the first place...) Maybe if the movie had been less jokey and the script had been more polished, there might have been something here. A competing plotline about the local police is just aimless until it almost dovetails with Rugged's story, but never fully does. [/font]
raek78
January 16, 2008
Now that I have seen this movie I really wish that I would have seen it in the theaters. I did not realize when it came out how good of a movie it would be. With that said I loved this movie, it had a great plot that was relevant to todays current events. They took an old franchise that has been absent for many years, and breathed new life into it, and in a time when Hollywood is bent on reviving every old franchise that they started back in the 80's and 90's this one works very very well. For me this movie got lost in all the big movies that came out this summer, and turned out to be better than most of the movie I paid money to see. The action is also a big and in many places original in this movie, even though in most cases it unbelievable. But lets face it the actions scenes in real life just are not as breathtaking as Hollywood's over the top ones anyway. I could go on with the praises but I will leave it at that, this is a must see movie. Any complaints I would have are minimal, and not worth writing about here, on this journal entry. And don't let not seeing the first three stop you from seeing this one, it is a stand alone movie that not really connected to story plots that were in the first three.
solar3282
December 10, 2007
:fresh: - It's everything you'd expect it to be and it's wonderful.
jennifer's picks & pa
August 27, 2007
So funny I forgot to laugh.....or something. Reviews of Blades of Glory, Wild Hogs, Darwin Awards, Gray Matters and Live Free or Die.

[b]Blades of Glory (2007) - 2.4/10[/b]
Director - Will Speck
Starring - Will Ferrell, Jon Heder, Craig T. Nelson, Will Arnett, Amy Poehler, Jenna Fischer.

Good god this movie sucked. I'll admit I'm not much of a Will Ferrell fan although I did like [i]Stranger Than Fiction[/i]. This "satire" or I should say foray into silliness, is more similar to Taladega Nights, but it's not even in that overrated comedy's league. It's just brutally stupid and unfunny. Ferrell and Heder play rival male figure skaters who "tie" for the gold medal, which leads to a brawl and the subsequent banning of both in competitive ice skating. Through a loophole, the two emerge as "partners" a few years later, the first male pair in the history of the sport. You get a lot of homoeroticism, lame crotch jokes, and your usual Ferrell schtick. Whatever.

[b]Wild Hogs (2007) - 3.2/10[/b]
Director - Walter Becker
Starring - Tim Allen, John Travolta, Martin Lawrence, William H. Macy, Ray Liotta, Marisa Tomei, Jill Hennessey, MC Gainey.

Four middle-aged guys hit the road on their hogs.....mmm motorcycles in this tepid comedy. The premise is good. I mean you could shoot for Easy Rider meets Sideways, but instead they aim low, really low. We are talking National Lampoon low. Yep that's where they got the director. Stale slapstick and a ridiculous sub-plot involving a "real" motorcycle gang led by Ray Liotta dooms this ridiculous film.

[b]Darwin Awards (2006) - 4.5/10[/b]
Director - Finn Taylor
Starring - Joseph Fiennes, Winona Ryder, Wilmer Valderrama, Tim Blake Nelson, Chris Penn, David Arquette, Juliette Lewis, Lukas Haas, Judah Friedlander, Julianna Margulies & Metallica.

Great idea for a film, but serious problems with it's execution. The premise? The Darwin Awards are given to people who die in the most ridiculous ways. Enter Winona Ryder and Jospeh Fiennes, who work as insurance claims adjusters investigating odd accidents. Wilmer Valderrama, a documentary filmmaker, is along for the ride. Along the way they investigate a series of mishaps, each one more bizarre than the last. Granted all of the mishaps are downright silly. And some are even pretty funny. The problem is they are not pieced together well, and the subplot involving the serial killer is a total distraction. Too bad because this film had some potential.

[b]Gray Matters (2007) - 3.5/10[/b]
Director - Sue Kramer
Starring - Heather Graham, Tom Cavanaugh, Bridget Moynahan, Sissy Spacek, Molly Shannon, Alan Cummings, Rachel Shelley.

How could they screw this up so badly? The premise is great. Brother and sister (Tom Cavanaugh & Heather Graham) fall for the same girl (Bridget Moynahan). Unfortunately it feels like a TV sitcom. It desperately wants to reach a mainstream audience while championing the difficulty of coming out at the same time, and it never really succeeds at either. Heather Graham looks fabulous, and quite frankly her and Bridget Moynahan would make a great couple, but this film played it too safe IMO. The director totally wasted Sissy Spacek and Molly Shannon, and she had to dress up Alan Cummings in drag to get him in a lesbian bar. Did I mention the appearance by Gloria Gaynor? Well I did survive this film, but it should have been so much better.

[b]Live Free Or Die (2007) 4.4/10[/b]
Director - Andy Robin
Starring - Aaron Stanford, Paul Schneider, Zooey Deschanel, Michael Rapaport, Judah Friedlander, Kevin Dunn.

An indie slacker comedy about a bungling small-town criminal and his equally feeble buddy. A few laughs, but it pretty much meanders aimlessly as slackers tend to do.
dibot
August 10, 2007
More reviews from the binge.

[b]Starter for Ten [/b]is one of those coming of age stories where a boy becomes a man and finds out what kind of person he really is. This time, James McAvoy ("The Last King of Scotland") stars and the setting is 1985 Bristol University with McAvoy learning about himself as he tries to make it in college, falls in love and enters the college game show. It's pretty typical storywise, but the characters and entertaining and the dialogue is witty. Very fun.

[b]Connie and Carla [/b]has two women (Nia Vardalos, "My Big Fat Greek Wedding," and Toni Collette, "Evening") on the run from the mob who hide out as drag queens. It's not as bad as it sounds. There are several laugh out loud moments, musical numbers and, most importantly, David Duchovny ("Trust the Man"). Worth watching if it's on TV, but don't pay for it.

I had a physical reaction of disgust to [b]Live Free or Die[/b]. There's voiceover which is supposed to make us interested in the main character who has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. He's a two-bit criminal with the lamest schemes ever. And he's stupid. He suckers a slow-witted guy into being his accomplice. This guy, Paul Schneider ("The Family Stone"), is the only good role in the film. Schneider is consistently entertaining and funny. Zooey Deschanel ("Surf's Up") has a small part and I don't even know how she got involved in this crap. Just avoid it no matter what. Kill if you must.

[b]Shortbus[/b] is the newest film by John Cameron Mitchell ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"). When it opened in theaters, I heard a couple of positive reviews, but mostly I heard about the sex. It's real. The actors are unknowns and they are actually having sex on screen. Gay, straight, all kinds. The story is loosely set around a sex therapist who has never had and orgasm. She sets out on a quest to have one and meets other interesting characters with their own troubles along the way. I found these relationships to be fascinating and the stories often sad. And though sometimes shocking, I didn't feel the films set out to be. Just don't watch it with anyone with whom you would be uncomfortable watching porn.

[b]Bobby[/b] is another film about multiple characters centered around a larger theme. We spend the day before Robert F. Kennedy's assassination with workers and guests at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles, as well as people involved with Senator Kennedy's campaign.Though some stories were better than others, I especially enjoyed the Shia LaBeouf ("Transformers") segment, I found them all to be very interesting glimpses into several lives which were all devastated when RFK's ended. Very moving.
Page 1 of 14
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile