Lovely & Amazing Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Kelly Kessler
Common Sense Media
January 2, 2011
Mature story about relationships and family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Blake French
Filmcritic.com
August 2, 2009
Seldom do movies create focus through spontaneity, but Lovely & Amazing feeds on surprise
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Exceeded all my expectations.
Mark Halverson
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
This serio-comic family portrait about self-absorption, self-esteem and family dynamics is excellently acted but more blatantly offbeat than dramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Actresses beware. Catherine Keener is quietly cornering the market on self-assured, sharp-tongued feminism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
April 23, 2007
Has a lovely feel, interactions that are real & unafraid to broach life's insecurities -- ie: personal appearance from hair to body fat. However, doesn't add up to amazing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Emma Cochrane
Empire Magazine
December 30, 2006
Who'd have thought spending 90 minutes with a bunch of neurotic women could be such fun? An intelligent, unassuming drama that's never less than enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Observed without corny resolutions and paced to allow for reflection, the film is understated but spot on.
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com
October 7, 2004
I can't imagine why a guy would go to this movie. That is, unless he talks to me or some other guy who has seen it. Because it's one of the best films I've seen this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Judith Egerton
Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY)
June 25, 2004
Captures the body-image insecurities of women while delving more than skin-deep into her characters' psyches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Rob Nelson
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
May 19, 2004
As in Walking and Talking, her comic lament on the evils that brides do to their maids of honor, [Nicole] Holofcener strikes a careful balance between distaff divertissement and stark, semiautobiographical realism.
Jamie Gillies
Apollo Guide
March 2, 2004
Not long enough to be a 'message movie', but insightful enough to hold our attention while exploring the lives of these characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 71/100
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
January 12, 2004
Click to read review
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Wilson Morales
BlackFilm.com
May 13, 2003
There are a lot of deeper issues in this film that most films don't focus and it's a credit to Holofcener that she brings it out.
Harry Guerin
RTE Interactive (Dublin, Ireland)
March 26, 2003
After this, you'd like to think that the studios might let Holofcener turn her attention to a few more US TV shows. They need talents like her.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
January 28, 2003
A refreshing reminder that not every movie about women must be a hollow, empty, self-indulgent 'chick flick.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
January 10, 2003
"Lovely and Amazing is a story about real people. These people are insecure about their lives. They aren't convinced that there's some inner beauty about them. They see themselves as I suspect most people do, mostly for the flaws. However, these are still
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
January 10, 2003
A film I enjoyed, but not necessarily for exemplary artistic merit.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 16, 2002
Another one of those estrogen overdose movies like "Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood," except that the writing, acting and character development are a lot better.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 14, 2002
All of us wish we could feel we are lovely & amazing, if only to one person. It's about this wish, and about how we prevent it as well.
| Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7