Ma Mere - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ma Mere Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Super Reviewer
½ December 21, 2009
European cinema at its best! Producer Paulo Branco has been producing some of the best films and best directors in Europe and this is one of the latest ones. Absolutely amazing, in depicting obsession, incest, dysfunction, love, selfishness, acceptation, pain... It's particularly brilliant how time and space is (not) presented.

The ending is terrific and the perfect conclusion to the story. Absolutely superb, a film I think only French could have the audacity to do... I hope European Cinema gets more protection so that we can keep watching these master pieces, otherwise we'll just have to stay dumb watching the main pop corn stream...
flixsterman
Super Reviewer
½ January 11, 2009
Pierre is the product of a very unconventional marriage. Both his parents lead promiscuous lives and he spends most of his childhood in a Catholic boarding school. Soon after he returns home, now a young man, his father dies and his mother, undeterred by her husband's death, draws her son into her perverse lifestyle.

I'm not sure I'm open-minded enough to fully appreciate Ma Mere. It attempts to titillate by venturing into those dark places where most people feel VERY uncomfortable. If there is a moral to this story it's simply this: "Don't hump your mother". (Frankly, I didn't need an artsy French film to figure that out.)
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ July 6, 2006
[font=Century Gothic]"Ma Mere" starts out with Pierre(Louis Garrel) arriving at the vacation home of his parents in the Canary Islands. Soon after, his father has to return home to[/font] France on business where he is killed in an accident. Distraught, Pierre withdraws almost completely while his mother, Helene(Isabelle Huppert), hardly misses a beat. In fact, she gives him the key to his father's study before she heads out to party. Inside the study, Pierre finds a rather large stash of pornography. At first, he masturbates, then urinates all over it. Later, while he is nude sunbathing, Helene approaches him and tells him that it is time he got a first hand look at her hedonist ways, starting out with an introduction to her friend, Rea(Joana Preiss), who is even wilder than she is...

"Ma Mere" is a sexually explicit and provocative movie about intimacy and sex, and how dissimilar they really are. Helene has sex in copious amounts, but it is intimacy and love that Pierre desperately needs.(Pierre was raised by his grandparents since apparently Helene is so carefree as to be incapable of raising a child.)

And the scenic locations are very well photographed.
Super Reviewer
April 2, 2007
Pretty disturbing, controversial, but stunningly acted French film. Pierre, fresh from boarding school, returns home to his somewhat estranged mother. After learning about the death of his father in a car crash, Pierre soon enters a world of alcohol drugs and sex.

What follows is something of a numbing experience: full frontal nudity, strong sex scenes and incest are all thrown up on screen. Had it not been for the powerful performances from Louis Garrel and Isabelle Huppert and some interesting camerawork, I may have lost interest in the whole thing (despite the subject matter), especially considering its inordinate running time.
Super Reviewer
September 15, 2009
SPOILER ALERT - I really thought I knew what I was getting with this movie. I knew there was a sexually confused son, back from boarding school who has an odd relationship with his mother. And I knew it was NC-17. And I actually thought most of the movie was pretty B/B- worthy. BUT the last 20 minutes or so goes from unconventional, to uncomfortable, to just plain FUCKED Up. And just when I thought it was over, the son jerks off to his dead mom.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
½ August 30, 2008
It lacks a proper and developing potion so it can be revived as a unique work of art.Honore's magic couldn't possibly advance the logic of this project to an erotic masterpiece (perhaps as a commentary to family ties..),Bataille I bet wasn't too insulted by the result,I 'm feeling here though that there wasn't much passion/lust for depravity...
½ October 7, 2010
It shouldn't even get a rating. It's one of the worst movies out there. DO NOT WATCH IT. An hour and 49 minutes I will never get back. It's something.
May 22, 2008
it was so disturbing and inappropriate. I dont even want to know the mind of someone who would make a film like this.
½ November 7, 2007
In most cases I applaud the French for dishing out some of the best movies I've ever seen. But then theres movies like this that just make me sick to my stomach.
June 1, 2007
Yeah, not even another great performance by Huppert could redeem this. A lame story, forced plot twists, and an ending much blacker than what it should've been, all add up to me wishing I had the time I invested in this not very stylish movie back.
October 31, 2014
While it lacks from human touch, '' Ma mère'' achieve it's purpose: disturb, and it's quality is incremented by Huppert's performance.
½ January 12, 2015
This film looks at taboo subjects honestly. I do not like films that profess to be erotic or to portray sexual subjects while showing explicit female nudity but not male. In Ma Mere this is not the case. As such it is, in my opinion, far more equitable then "The Dreamer" by Bertolucci which shows no frontal male nudity and thus is heterosexist and sexist. Ma Mere is not this. Kudos to an open fearless exploration.
October 1, 2013
Once again, I was the lone man out in loving this film when it was released in the US. Dark, grim, transgressive, disturbing and unsettling -- Ma Mere is a sort of allegorical look into the slow collapse of western culture. The film is perverse for a reason. Isabelle Huppert is perfectly cast and holds nothing back in Christophe Honoré's experimental film of family dysfunction and Existential Ennui. A bold and brave performance that cannot be ignored. And it would be unfair to not comment on the exceptional cinematography by Hélène Louvart. Certainly not for everyone, but I feel the critics missed the mark on this film.
December 4, 2012
Sick, weak, unimpressive.
½ August 5, 2012
As a great admirer of Isabell Huppert and her ego-free attitude towards her profession it is sad to see her in such a snooze inducing piece of sleazy art house load of bullocks that this film turns out to be. Interesting enough is not even the idea that lacks any sense, it is the execution, Christopher Honore may not be the worst film director in the world but Haneke he's not. A controversial subject doesn't need to look ugly for audiences to connect on the contrary many directors already proved that point. Honore seems to disagree and as such created one of the most visually ugly films since Catherine Breillat's Romance. Poor choices in cinematography and editing adds confusion to the ugliness of it all. On the other hand cheap philosophy wrapped in the most unerotic sex scenes since the birth of cinema makes this less exciting then watching 110 minutes of pure white on screen. The only things that saves it from a failure of epic proportions are the actors, but neither Huppert's Piano Teacher influenced performance nor unf inspiring ladies man Louis Garrel manage to give to its viewers the sense of fun and pleasure that they seem to been having on screen. In the end it tries to be what it is not and ends up being nothing but a silly film with a even sillier ending that is only there for reasons of massive plot contrivance.
½ May 25, 2012
This was a good movie. It has great acting in it. And the characters are compelling. It looks deep into emotional/sexual abuse, incest, co-dependency, sexual addiction, sadism, masochism, love, hedonism, and perversion. I think you do have to go into the film with an open mind but I don't think its completely garbage like a lot of the other reviewers seem feel. It's a really sad and depressing film though and it does leave you with a hollow feeling at the end. But i don't think it is just sensationalism. I think one way to look at the film is it is a film that explores the consequences of emotional/physical incest and abuse in a family environment devoid of spirituality.

the actors are really top notch and they take daring risks with the material given it's taboo nature.
February 19, 2012
This film disturbed me in so many ways. Yes, it's perverse, but not to mention the dedication of the cast and value it, would be an insult.
July 24, 2011
haven't disliked a huppert film yet
April 4, 2011
Why? WHY?? WHY??????????
December 29, 2010
Thanks the French for such good movies. Very provocative, unconventional and above all, deep.
Page 1 of 14