Macario - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Macario Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 18, 2012
Macario is by far one of my favorite foreign films. Has a great story and explains how well a person can be with a gift to heal the people.
November 14, 2012
Despite some hilariously hokey acting, this suspenseful tragedy manages to make you care for the characters at its center.
May 14, 2010
A dark and intense fantasy about a man who has nothing of value but what he has, he treasures. This has to be one of the best films to come out from mexico. It's funny but scary at the same time, a true master worck.
October 20, 2009
A tad simplistic, and predictable in the way that all fables are pretty predictable, but interesting in a Bunuel-ripoff kind of way.
½ July 1, 2009
Interesting premise, funny performances, very eventful - though sort of tedious - and positively ambiguous.
Super Reviewer
October 27, 2008
Interesting adaptation of the book. I like it and I think parts are even humorous :) Overall a good movie with a good lesson to be learned!
½ June 21, 2007
macario is a great movie, that talks about the way people in mexican celebrate the great tradition of dy of the dead... or dia de los muertos. its a good movie of macario giving his soul to the devil and then he dies
½ April 12, 2014
Basada en un popular cuento de los hermanos Grimm, Macario es sin dudas una de las mejores películas mexicanas que he visto, y un gran exponente del cine latinoamericano.
½ March 5, 2010
"La vida no fue fácil Macario, pero fue buena vivirla juntos"
July 4, 2013
The best mexican movie that I've ever seen. The argument is so creative, Macario represent a good man that is tempted by the devil, the death and God.
December 18, 2012
Macario is by far one of my favorite foreign films. Has a great story and explains how well a person can be with a gift to heal the people.
November 14, 2012
Despite some hilariously hokey acting, this suspenseful tragedy manages to make you care for the characters at its center.
½ October 16, 2011
Excelente cinta. De las pocas que he visto tratando el tema de la muerte según las tradiciones de nuestro Mà (C)xico y de una manera tan surrealista y a la vez inmersa en la realidad mexicana del hambre y la esperanza de nuestros pueblos. Tiene unos giros interesantes que me hacen pensar que está compuesta por diferentes historias muy pequeñas, como si hubiesen sido escritas por separado. Ignacio López Tarso es uno de mis ídolos mexicanos y con esta cinta lo vuelvo a reiterar. Además, la fotografía es excelente y la selección del elenco es tan primordial como extraordinario.
August 5, 2011
An excellent mexican movie, it has good screenplay and good performances, it shows how to appreciate the life and the madness.
½ January 13, 2011
Una de mis películas mexicanas favoritas, con un sonido y fotografía que muchas películas mexicanas actuales envidiarían.

La historia seguramente fue revolucionaria para su tiempo y logra retratar nuestras costumbres relacionadas con la fà (C), la muerte, la religión, la ciencia y la charlatanería.

La escena de las grutas de Cacahuamilpa es inolvidable.
½ September 28, 2010
Una gran pelicula del buen cine Mexicano... no le da comida al diablo, no le comparte a Dios, pero a la muerte... si... una fabula genial!!
May 14, 2010
A dark and intense fantasy about a man who has nothing of value but what he has, he treasures. This has to be one of the best films to come out from mexico. It's funny but scary at the same time, a true master worck.
½ April 12, 2010
When I was a child, I saw a commercial containing scenes of a grotto with many candles and I was amazed; after years I was able to buy this movie, and I was overwhelmed about the creativity carried in this film. First of all, the plot: By handling the good and evil ideas, (we are used to them) but including death, as well as having a clear relation with mexican customs and traditions. You ought to see it. The most amazing part, is when Macario arrives to a grotto illuminated by millions of real candles simulating souls. Great mexican movie.
January 31, 2010
If Ugetsu and Seventh Seal had a Catholic baby in Mexico it would be this film! It's shot by Gabriel Figuroa, the acclaimed cinematographer of Mexico's Golden Era, and it's just beautiful. Its mood is closer to Ugetsu, but the main character is far more endearing. This film deals with class and spirituality in a really interesting way. I wish this film got more attention and acclaim.
January 12, 2010
ES UNA DE LAS MEJORES PELICULAS DEL CINE MEXICANO ...DEVIO SER GANADORA DE UN OSCAR NO CREN..
Page 1 of 2