Opening

43% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
40% If I Stay Aug 22
27% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
4% Are You Here Aug 22
95% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
20% Into The Storm $7.9M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Kataude mashin gāru (The Machine Girl) Reviews

Page 1 of 58
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

November 7, 2008
The brother of a high school girl is bullied to death by the son of a Yakuza and she wreaks her revenge using a prosthetic arm fashioned from a machine gun. Gore can work. The over the top loony tunes violence of Ichi The Killer, the visual invention of Tetsuo and pure slapstick comedy of Evil Dead 2 made for some great films. Unfortunately the kinds of witless goons they inspire tend to concentrate on adolescent fetishism and just use it all as a excuse to dress girls in school uniform and spray fake blood everywhere. Machine Girl is one of those films that would've made a funny trailer in Grindhouse but stretched out for 90 minutes the puerile script, dimwitted dialogue, amateurish direction, terrible performances and rubbish visual effects make it as painful experience for the audience as Ami's victims. Of course, none of this would've mattered if it had been funny. It isn't. Maybe not quite as crass and tedious as Tokyo Gore Police, but it's still nothing but cheap and nasty and immature.
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

December 17, 2007
Noboru Iguchi takes low budget to another level with The Machine Girl.There isn't a much to think about when it comes to the plot and what it all comes down to is a 90 minute story of bloody revenge; emphasis on the bloody. The introduction hooks, delivers, and then never lets go until the closing credits with a well paced story in between.Unsurprisingly, the highlight of this picture is the violence and the gore. While shying away from realism, The Machine Girl has fun with its over the top blood fest and it's also not afraid to think outside of the box. A machine gun attachment for an arm and a drill bra are prime examples. To top it all off, buckets and buckets of fake blood rain down throughout the movie.A lot of the characters are overacted, but with the nature of this film, it fits right in. Minase Yashiro has got the looks, and combining that with her kick-a** character is a bonus. Asami also falls into the same boat. Talk about girl power.The Machine Girl may not have a sophisticated story, but it does have cute girls dishing out some pain. Isn't that all that is required for a good time?
WrenchLT
WrenchLT

Super Reviewer

February 9, 2011
Outlandish Japanese (where else?) gore-fest about a high school girl on a quest for revenge against the boys responsibe for the death of her young brother - the ring leader of which just happens to be the son of a sadistic Yakuza boss. It's completely OTT and tongue-in-cheek with some awesomely brutal death scenes, some of which are hilarious! And things get even more explosively blood-soaked when the heroine gets a modified machine gun to fit on to her newly severed arm - the result of a nasty Yakuza torture session. Very entertaining and never a dull moment rolls by, but of course it's an aquired taste and not for everyone. Didn't quite find it as good as "Tokyo Gore Police", but gore hounds can't go wrong with this one.
Kylie B

Super Reviewer

September 13, 2008
It's hyper-violent and over-the-top in gore which makes it unrealistic and amusing. We're talking ordinary people breaking out in skilled violent attacks while laughing hysterically, and fountains of blood. Lots of blood everywhere. Many of the CG'd effects are a bit clumsy but they're still fairly effective.

However, the emotional content, especially at the begining actually made me cry - as despite the overblown nature of events the idea is still familiar from reality. This is possibly the ultimate revenge fantasy for anyone who'd dreamed of paying back those who bullied them.
Lanning :

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2009
Wonderful. Definitely fits the label: So bad it's good. A must see.
Daniel H

Super Reviewer

July 14, 2009
A whos-who of low-budget over-the-top death sequences. You have such classics as Chainsaw stab, Chainsaw slide (both perpendicular and, gasp, parallell), the "shot with such a big gun it leaves a hole in your torso", and the only-seen-in-cartoons "I sliced you in 5 pieces, but it takes you 5 seconds to notice and then you slide into little pieces of pepperoni." It even has a few original moments, such as the "manually stuffing a shuriken into your mouth", the incredibly rare "Flying Guillotine", and the inspired "bra mounted with mechanical drill nipples". And who can forget, "covering your arm with batter, than shoving it in a pot of boiling oil to make your entire right limb a piece of bloody tempura."

All in all, an utterly fun and thoroughly disgusting time. It realizes its power doesn't lie anywhere near plot, acting, or even basic decency. Surprisingly, the power it does have, as an utterly gross low-budget gore-fest, actually manages to quite effectively compensate.

Bring popcorn. Bring friends. Yell loudly at the screen. Have fun.
_kelly .

Super Reviewer

March 5, 2009
Looks like I'm the only person on my friends' list this underwhelmed by this movie. Following Tokyo Gore Police may have effected my downgrading of Machine Girl's rating.

This is a boring revenge flick that plays off comedic/cartoonish stylings as seen in Evil Dead. None of the gore is inventive - and gore action is the only thing this movie is about. Some of the fight scenes look like practice choreography instead of the filmed version.

This movie wasn't terrible, and if you want action gore it may satisfy, but I didn't find anything unique or memorable in this one. Well, except the drill boobs.
Luke B

Super Reviewer

January 1, 2009
Fantastically insane. Marvel at the pure cinematic wonder of the "dril bra". Machine Girl is cheap and tacky, but to hilarious effect. The gore is surprisingly gross out but also very funny. Seeing somebody's face shot into a million pieces is just brilliant. The blood flows and the action is wonderfully exciting. Sure it's a tad insane, but it's the way it relishes it's basic idea and sees how far it can push it, that makes this film an absolute scream.
vieras e

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2008
Kuolee, kuolee, kaikki kuolee!

This film is an insane gorefest and can be likened to the rather brutal revenge/exploitation films of the 70's as well as some FPS games (the style of the shoot-outs). The violence is gratuitous and ludicrous, the characters are caricatures, and nearly everyone under 30 is really pretty (at least one of women is a porn star).
Beefy
Beefy

Super Reviewer

June 7, 2008
Turn off your brain, grab some popcorn, and prepare for some inventively grotesque gore with Tokyo Shock's first self-produced feature. The quality of the effects varies widely, but the amusement level maintains throughout. It's neither great art, great comedy, great horror, nor great action, but rather an amusing 90 minutes of mayhem set in a world too exaggerated to ever be taken seriously. Recommended for folks who enjoy films like Dead Alive and Evil Aliens. There's even an English language track for those who don't want to be distracted by subtitles!
Marcus W

Super Reviewer

April 15, 2009
This is a delightful Japanese grindhouse movie about a girl seeking revenge with a machine gun for an arm - that should tell you all you need to know. The gore quotient would impress Peter Jackson, and it's fucking mental. Think Sam Raimi remaking Kill Bill, and you'll be close.
ualush
ualush

Super Reviewer

May 7, 2008
Obviously you don't really watch this one for the story, you watch it for the freaking girl with a machine gun for an arm and the over the top violence. But sadly, the violence didn't even meet my expectations, it had it's moments, but I feel weird saying i wanted more. Just an average movie in the end.
Patrick D

Super Reviewer

July 11, 2008
This film is almost the cinematic equivalent to a middle finger.
Personally, I love melodrama. That's basically what a 3rd of this film is, straight up melodrama, done, almost over the top, but not quite. Hence that's not where the comedy lays. All the jokes and gags are in the hardcore violence and gore. That's where this film goes over the top, and as a result becomes an extremely effective modern grindhouse-type flick. This really seems like the filmmaker, Noboru Iguchi, said, "Fuck it, this is what I wanna make and I don't care what becomes of it." Because of this, some of the effects aren't great, and you can totally tell sometimes that the main characters' real arm is tucked in her super loose shirt (this is after she uses it), but this is all forgiveable because of the great kick-ass b-movie-ness of it.
Anthony V

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2008
Delivers all it promises. Way, way over the top. If you are not a fan of gore, subtract about 3 stars.
Christopher B

Super Reviewer

June 4, 2008
I sometimes wonder if I have a bit of an Asian fetish. Since around 2000, the majority of films I've been watching and digging come from one Asian country or another. I recently made a list of my favourite films of the 2000s thus far, and the majority are Asian. Heck, my wife is Asian. So, the question is, do I have an Asian fetish? The answer; if they keep making films like this I'll be more than happy to have one if that's what they want. Fuck, they make some kickass movies that really stand apart from the crowd.
Most "crazy" cinema tries to get the audience to accept the lunacy that is happening onscreen (eg: Planet Terror, Slither, etc) whereas a lot of the successful ones just seem crazy whether the audience likes it or not. Sure there are a couple winks to camera, but Machine Girl is plain loopy fun. Moments of extreme violence fused with ninjas and over sentimentality with a dash of vengeance of course. This film played in a theater here in Toronto a little while back and I regret missing it; this is the type of flick that would have been great to see with an audience. The story is reminiscent of many flicks, but the filmmakers have so much fun with it, it becomes nitpicking to complain. This film is about the blood, dismemberments and fun, the entertaining story is just icing on the cake.
With this film, Meatball Machine and the upcoming Tokyo Gore Police I wonder how long it's going to take the internet whiners to start realizing they have more than just ghost stories to complain about coming out of Japan (though I did read a "coming soon" DVD room from a horror website that complained about too many vengeful Japanese schoolgirl films. Though I doubt he could quickly name 5 on the spot, the internet crowd will always prevail when it comes to finding something to bitch about... much like I will probably always loathe (and complain about) most internet reviewers).
March 12, 2013
There is a point when over-the-top just becomes flat out bad. Still can't believe I sat through this entire thing.
Page 1 of 58
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile