Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
29% As Above/So Below Aug 29
34% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
75% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
38% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One
100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Me Myself I Reviews

Page 1 of 2
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

January 11, 2008
This clever Australian fantasy, superficially reminiscent of Sliding Doors, charts its own course while painting an intriguing picture of an alternate life. WIth the onset of another birthday, an investigative journalist suddenly decides that her life is meaningless without the husband, children, dog, and mortgage in the suburbs that traditionally define success. Then, one morning, she encounters... herself: a different self, the one who married the "guy who got away" a decade earlier.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

November 7, 2006
Cute movie.
February 28, 2009
A nice move about how no matter what choices we make in life we will always wounder what it would be like if we made different choices.
October 4, 2007
I only own a handful of romantic comedies (at least, making exceptions for the ones that are masquerading as other things, like Shaun of the Dead) despite the fact that I'm a softie at heart, and have difficulty shrugging at romantic sentiment. I've seen far, far more than a handful through the clever use of leaving the television on, but since I stopped watching television around three years ago, I've seen very, very few of them. Grand, artsy romances, sure, broken and twisted ones--absolutely. Movies that have romance? Oh yes. But straight-on romantic comedy based around a gimmick? Not in some years now.

But, as you might guess from this context, yes, that's what we have here. We open to find Pamela Drury (Rachel Griffiths) as successful journalist, working on an article on modern girls, and their desires, aspirations and dreams, with awards piled up to the point of eye-rolling clutter on her part, and self-affirmations taped all around her bathroom. We pan down to see a photo of a handsome devil, and soon we see him in person, across a dinner table. He doesn't quite look as airbrushed, he seems a little nervous, and is talking about how normally if he approached a woman she'd think he was a sleaze, but he wasn't, and it was completely normal for people to use personal advertisements (...aha!) and so on and so forth, rambling on and on. We cut to hear the familiar sounds of sex, panning across the clothes strewn across the floor and on up to Pamela....still in her dress, drinking straight from the bottle and watching porn. Clever, I must say. Certainly not what we are expecting (even as we are not particularly enthused about who she was just with), and even more a bit of a feminist inversion of overall expectation, which was a very pleasant surprise.

She begins going through the boxes littering her apartment, and begins tossing off photos one by one from a pile--"misogynist...loser...dental surgeon..." and so on, until she finally rests on Robert Dickson, and wonders how she ever let him go. We next see her in the park with her friend Terri, pushing her son in a stroller. Pamela is bemoaning her single life, saying she "should have been married with two kids by now," with Terri looking at her like she's grown a third arm as she says this. "But, you hate kids," she tells her. "What has that got to do with it?" Pamela says, holding Terri's son Otto in her lap in the most amusingly ignorant sort of way--at arm's length and not very carefully. We can see that this Pamela is not, for all her desire, terribly well-suited to the family life as she is.

She meets someone in the course of her work is an attractive man with a good outlook who happens to know and appreciate her writing. She decides to ask him out, and manages to discover him with a woman and children. Terribly depressed, she finds the best solution is to just end everything, because she is infused with the societal belief that family is the goal of life. She fails--of course, this is a romantic comedy--in a fairly amusing fashion, and spends most of the next day rather surly; she ends up wandering away from an evangelical survey taker, angrily, and does not see the car that hits her. She's not sure what has happened when she opens her eyes to see herself looking down and asking if she's all right.

Strangely, she has run herself over. This woman is her; the same name, appearance, and they even share memories as they test each other's recollection of events. Only this Pamela didn't turn Robert down, and is now Pamela Dickson, with three children. Drury finds herself unexpectedly left alone in this life she has been wishing for, with Pamela Dickson no longer anywhere to be found.

What's interesting here (the essential plot was re-used in the Nicolas Cage flick The Family Man, which, yes, I did see, and enjoyed well enough) is that we're seeing it from a female protagonist's point of view, and the hardships of the relationship she has wandered into the middle of are not simple, easily overcome, or changed simply by her fresh outlook. We can see that it's not the perfect solution to her life; she's used to being her own woman, and it's difficult to lose almost all of that to four other people in her life. It doesn't play out exactly how you might expect, though it all makes perfect sense in the end for the characters.

Certainly my favourite part of the plot is that this alternate universe is never explained or clarified; it's not necessary for Don Cheadle to mysteriously appear and "offer" Pamela this other life, she just stumbles into it with no warning. What some writers don't seem to understand is that simple fact--this is not something we expect to happen. As long as you show that the characters are thoroughly mystified by it, we don't need to know why it happened or who caused it or anything like that. What matters is that it DID happen in the film--let's move on.

As with most romantic comedies, though, it's not a movie I'm jumping up and down to suggest people just "need" to see. There's nothing terribly new here, but it's quite entertaining, and I'm a sucker for Aussie accents. Yes, Rachel is in her natural element this time--unlike her more famous role as Brenda on Six Feet Under--and is not hiding behind an accent that is not hers (though it's sort of mind-bending when you're used to her having an American accent and you keep thinking she's screwing up her actual one, when, it's her actual one) and we get to just revel in a good actor playing with simple material. Without a huge gigantic message or serious drama behind it (though there's a very interesting tug-of-war between individuality and family here that doesn't seem to get addressed often--it seems to be one or the other, despite the fact that the balance is more relevant to reality) she can just get into the part. I think I found myself at one point thinking more of whether Pamela Drury could easily masquerade as mother than whether Rachel was successfully acting the part. A few moments later I realized I'd been neatly drawn into the world and was thoroughly pleased--that's the best feeling, when you are just drawn in, even if it's just a pleasant diversion.
Joseph J. G.
November 16, 2010
A little-known gem. Warm, funny, and touching. I like the "what if" genre, and in particular really enjoyed the interaction between Griffiths and her other-life children.
Frank H.
January 8, 2010
A Tour De Force for Rachel Griffiths. Good movie for both men and women. Funny, poignant, revealing look into real life.
kingofthecorn
February 28, 2006
Here's another film rating.
Karieh
October 16, 2004
[font=Book Antiqua][color=blue]I like Rachel Giffiths, and again, am a sucker for the whole "What If?" concept flick - so this was right up my alley.[/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff][/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff]I think Renee Zellwiger must have watched this movie prior to making "Bridget Jones" - the whole get drunk and be sad that I am single scene seems like a training film for BJ - though this one then goes a totally different way.[/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff][/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff]The movie gets a little sparse when it comes to an explanation for how Rachel G gets to experience both lives she might have had - I would have liked to see a bit more on that front (just because I like things tidy) - but there are some funny scenes (like the one with the diapraghm) and I love the youngest son - so cute!!! Oooh - and Ben is cute, too (love interest).[/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff][/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff]There is a bit missing in this movie - but it's certainly worth a watch.[/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff][/color][/font]
[font=Book Antiqua][color=#0000ff]Also? If you are planning on killing yourself with a bit of electrocution? Try to plan for a time when the power doesn't go out. Cuz then? You just end up alive and needing to buy a new hairdryer.[/color][/font]
Page 1 of 2
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile