Middle Men Reviews

Page 1 of 30
Super Reviewer
August 4, 2010
28/12/2012 (DVD)
MANUGINO
Super Reviewer
½ February 21, 2011
Money. Sex. Murder. Greed. Corruption.

A good movie based on a true story. The movie plot is quite interesting and the director picked some good decent actors to play the parts. Ribisi and Wilson were great. Ending was excellent!

In 1995, everyone had a VCR, music was sold in record stores, and the world-wide-web was a new found discovery. Businessman Jack Harris (Luke Wilson) had the perfect life a beautiful family and a successful career fixing problem companies. Then he met Wayne Beering (Giovanni Ribisi) and Buck Dolby (Gabriel Macht), two genius but troubled men, who had invented the way adult entertainment is sold over the internet. When Jack agrees to help steer their business, he soon finds himself caught between a 23 year-old porn star and the FBI all the while becoming one of the wealthiest entrepreneurs of his time. Witness a story so outrageous, you won't believe it's true. A story that proves business is a lot like sex getting in is easy, pulling out is hard.
Super Reviewer
September 20, 2010
Very well made independent film that is equal parts comedy, drama, and true to life story....it's actually Boogie Nights and Social Network all wrapped up in one really good film. Great performances by Luke Wilson and Giovanni Ribisi (my fave). Even though it's about the porn industry, and there is lots of nudity throughout (be warned), it really has little to do with sex. Good movie!
LWOODS04
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2010
Cast: Luke Wilson, Giovanni Ribisi, Gabriel Macht, James Caan, Jacinda Barrett, Kevin Pollak, Laura Ramsey, Rade Serbedzija, Terry Crews, Kelsey Grammer

Director: George Gallo

Summary: After spotting a big financial opportunity in the future of Internet pornography, straightlaced entrepreneur Jack Harris (Luke Wilson) enlists his pals Buck (Gabriel Macht) and Wayne (Giovanni Ribisi) to help him develop an online billing company specializing in adult entertainment. But as the firm takes off, Jack finds some unexpected kinks in the business of kink -- including mobsters, the FBI, con men and terrorists.

My Thoughts: "This is one of those films I went into without knowing nothing about it, just that it had a couple of my fav. actor's in it, that being Giovanni Ribisi and Luke Wilson. If they were not in this film and I had known what the film was about, I would have passed on it. I really could care less how porn came to be on the internet. But in the end it was a pretty good business flick. I was surprised at how well written and directed it was. Great performances from Luke and Giovanni. Like most great independent flicks, this one too got an unfortunate small screening. Which is a shame since so much crap gets shown in so many more theaters then independent films do. Great movie with comedy, drama, and I believe is a bit of a true story. Definitely recommended."
Super Reviewer
February 2, 2011
Very funny and highly entertaining! Luke Wilson's best since "Old School." Says it's based on a true story, but I'd say like 80 percent of it is made up,but it's still awesome.
Bill D 2007
Super Reviewer
½ August 9, 2010
"Middle Men" is a superficial but still fairly good dramatization of some of the events involved in the creation of Internet porn. Just about all males are consumers of Internet porn; so this is a story that hits us where we live.

The main character is Jack Harris (played well but a bit lethargically by Luke Wilson), a man who is basically ethical but is not averse to bending the rules when it suits him. This leads him to dangerous alliances with the Russian mob and other miscreants. Along for the ride are Giovanni Ribisi and hearth-throb Gabriel Macht, playing the original pornographers who get the idea in motion. --unfinished--
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ February 1, 2012
"What starts in laughter, ends in tears."

In "Middle Men," Wayne(Giovanni Ribisi), a disgraced veterinarian, and Buck(Gabriel Macht, of "Suits"), a disgraced rocket scientist, dream of hitting it big in Los Angeles but do not have the energy to accomplish much of anything. On the spur of the moment, Buck creates a program to charge credit cards for pornographic photos they scan into the internet, in order to make a little cash on the side. Eventually, the scheme works better than their wildest dreams. At the same time, they need original material which leads them to a strip club run by Nikita Sokoloff(Rade Serbedzija), a Russian mobster, who in order to let them photograph there, gets a share of the business. Except, they forget to pay. So, Jerry Haggerty(James Caan), a lawyer ten seconds away from being indicted, arranges for Jack Harris(Luke Wilson) to arrange a settlement without anybody getting killed.

Ably performed by a very good cast(of them, Laura Ramsey, playing a porn star, almost steals the movie), "Middle Men" is an irreverent look at the development of an innovation that changed the internet and therefore our lives.(Somebody got robbed of a Nobel Prize that year.) As the movie is inspired by a true story, it should come as no surprise that the wildest sounding part of the movie, a plot tangent in the second half, also rings the truest, considering what we have found out in the past year. That fits in well with the movie going after hypocrisy, considering how open a secret masturbation is. First on the list, is Jack, the protagonist and narrator of the movie. While he has no interest in being a pornographer as a family man, he sure keeps some interesting company in either mobsters or NRA members. All of which the movie is ambivalent about. In any case, what separates Jack from Buck and Wayne is he does not do drugs, allowing him to think clearly about who he is dealing with. On the other hand, if Buck and Wayne had not used drugs, they would not have made so much money, and we would probably be on Mars by now.
Super Reviewer
½ March 10, 2011
"Middle Men" actually surprised me. Though there was room for improvement (the film was extremely predictable), the acting was high quality for such a small production. This is a low-buzz film in a big budget package.
Super Reviewer
April 17, 2010
Some actors just don't get the recognition they deserve. I don't know what it is that has made Owen the bigger star than Luke, but if anything, "Middle Men" proves Luke's ability to carry a movie by himself and he does it so well here. As Jack Harris, a loyal husband and family man, Wilson plays a man who is caught between two worlds. One being his family and the average American existence as well as being at the top of an Internet billing company that deals mainly in porn. It is an engaging story and despite the raunch that you may expect to come along with such a topic, it is inspiringly honest and made in such a way where the topic of the porn itself is just as it is in Jack's world. It stays in the back of our minds, it is everything surrounding, making that world a possibility that is at the forefront and is luckily, the most engaging.

The entire film is from Jack's perspective, he narrates us through his story of going from helping a friends business out to helping two idiots who stumbled upon the biggest thing since sliced bread. Organizing a business around the idea of getting money through the Internet without ever having to meet another person is fascinating, seeing that origin story is even more intriguing seeing as we use it every day now and the circumstances under which it came to be even more so. The two idiots (as they are referred to as multiple times in the film) are played here with fantastical flair by Giovanni Ribisi and Gabriel Macht. Ribisi certainly has the more showy of the role as a cracked out psychotic who doesn't seem to know how to talk in a volume below yell, but he makes it work and is hilarious in every scene he plays. Macht is essentially the straight man to in their duo and makes us believe this could have all actually happened to them, while maintaining a sense of immature irresponsibility. Along with Wilson's commanding lead performance these two make this movie worth watching, if not for their drug induced antics, at least to gawk at how stupid genius can be.

The film is so quick paced and cuts quickly from one scene to the next as Jack takes us through the ins and outs of a business that makes so much money it is unsafe for anyone to stay in too long. It is somewhat of an ugly truth about society that people can and do in fact take in so much money off hidden fantasies, but the film doesn't let us think that, in fact, it shocks us into how relevant the industry actually is in our society. From being able to blackmail elected officials to helping wipe out a few terrorists, it is almost so absurd it can't be anything but true. We know its true, we just don't like to say it. It isn't a part of every day life and what is great about this movie is that it never forgets that. It understands its topics place in society. Throughout Jack gives voice over testimonials as to what is going on in his mind. He goes from convincing himself that everyone on the outside only wishes they could actually be where he sat. From that to finally admitting to himself that the little speck of knowledge does exist. That conscious that tells him what he is doing is wrong.

Which means, that in the end, this is really about the evolution and revelations of a man not sure what he wants out of life when presented with two polar opposite choices. It is part drama, comedy, and could even be a bit of an action flick at times, though in the lightest sense. And though it has many things going for it and many genres that it spans, we always feel as if a little something is missing. even now, as I write this review I'm not certain what exactly it is that didn't make the film feel complete for me. It is a solid movie, with great supporting cast and an intriguing story that is told in a definitive style. There is seemingly nothing to complain about on my end and so I will stop looking for it and say that besides the blunt content of the movie it is a greatly interesting film. One that some may want to ignore, but I dare you to pull your eyes from the screen.
Super Reviewer
October 14, 2012
Really interesting story - also I thought Giovanni Ribisi stood out and gave a great performance.
Super Reviewer
August 8, 2010
Not nearly as fun as I'd hoped it would be. The trailer looked so engaging and my friends even hyped it up, but when I finally got to see it (even with Giovanni Ribisi who I enjoy) I was left half-attentive and bored. Maybe I need to see it again? But then I'd have to work up the will to.
mattsigur1
Super Reviewer
½ April 21, 2011
Not terrible, but not that good either. It wants to be Goodfellas with internet and porn added in the mix. Luke Wilson isn't bad, he had some great scenes.
I was surprised how much the film worked, but it's unbelievable. I kind of wanted the main guy in this to be more of a badass - cinema, in general, needs more of that - but he was just a middle man.
This is a middle of the road flick and not Goodfellas, which is unfair to want this movie to be, but, fuck, it really wants to be that movie so hard.
September 26, 2014
The cast is strong and does a very solid job. The cast is led by Luke Wilson, who is not one I think of when I think of great actors. But he is quite impressive here. But the script of the film is just not there. This is where the film falls apart, and makes the film hard to watch.
September 25, 2012
Its about how internet porn came into existence...but besides that this movie has a lot of action and a great storyline...Awesome ending too.
July 13, 2012
A movie about the birth of internet porn? Okay I'm down. Had to say this was really engaging(and not for obvious reasons). Luke Wilson did a bang-up job and the addition of James Caan helps greatly and oh yeah, TERRY CREWS KICKS ASS.
June 24, 2012
You'd think a movie about a thieving pornographer would be more entertaining. I wouldn't call it a mess, because it's pretty clear that most of the movie is a flashback if you pay attention. What I would say though is that even in the face of death and disaster the lead (Luke Wilson) isn't just calm; he just doesn't care. The film had its moments, but they were few and far between to give this movie a second chance.
August 4, 2010
While Luke Wilson has never really got my attention he has done a movie now and again that does. This being one of them. Middle Men is not your typical Luke Wilson comedy. It's much rather Guy Ritchie meets Martin Scorsese. That's not a bad thing by any means. What Middle Men will do is keep you entertained and engaged from beginning to end. The cast is pretty impressive with James Caan and Kevin Pollack also lending their talents. Most of the actors in this are here for a scene or two but they all work and blend into the story nicely. Everyone played their part well especially Giovanni Ribisi's performance as the coked up Wayne Beering. His mannerism's and habit's were entertaining. It's an intelligent film full of dark humor about pornography and crime rings. My only gripes with Middle Men would be the pacing of the story, I felt if they had a longer runtime it would have flowed through effortlessly. They are minor issues though, they balanced the comedy well with the crime elements of the plot. It should be said that Middle Men is very underrated.
March 22, 2011
An interesting movie that may or may not educate you about the early internet and porn industry. A movie that is satisfying and almost motivational as money is the main theme.
September 19, 2011
the movie starts with an incident then through a series of flashbacks and 96.30 minutes goes back to the start of the movie another "boogie nights" but modern day involving the internet.
½ August 17, 2010
This was a frenetic, drug laced adventure. You do have to cheer for Jack through all the missteps that he makes. The ending was just perfect.
Page 1 of 30