Mini's First Time - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mini's First Time Reviews

Page 1 of 22
Super Reviewer
½ January 20, 2008
Very dark little story - I didn't expect too much from it, so I was pleasantly surprised. The plot is a little silly - a young teenage girl (Nikki Reed) gets her kicks by daring herself to do things (hence the "first" in the title). In this case it is prostitution, followed by sleeping with her stepfather (Alec Baldwin).
I personally am not the biggest fan of Nikki Reed on screen - I am sure she is a lovely person, but she's hard faced and she looks older than the characters she is playing (generally).
In this case, though, it kind of works because Mini is totally unredeemable. She is not a nice girl, and she does not have any revelation by the end that makes her change her ways. Yeah, you get that her mum had issues and she didn't have the most loving upbringing,but this girl is borderline psycho!
Enjoyable film if you don't pick at the flaws too much!
Super Reviewer
November 5, 2006
An ok movie thats pretty predictable.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
September 14, 2007
[font=Century Gothic]"Mini's First Time" starts with Mini(Nikki Reed) giving her speech as the first high school valedictorian with a C average. How she got there begins with her jumping out of her own birthday cake naked at her birthday party thrown by her dipsomaniac mother, Diane(Carrie-Anne Moss). To top that, Mini goes to work for an escort service where unbeknowst to him, she has sex with her stepfather, Martin(Alec Baldwin), a public relations executive. They have an affair and plot to drive Diane insane...[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"Mini's First Time" is a gleefully nasty black comedy without much of a conscience. And I mean that as a compliment. The movie is not terribly original but it succeeds more than any of its ilk, simply through pure attitude which is the only way to go here. A good cast helps including Luke Wilson and Jeff Goldblum. And Alec Baldwin has never been more relaxed.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]I would not suggest looking for a moral here but if you were, it is that maybe with adults like these, it is no wonder the kids are so screwed up. And birth control is definitely a good idea.[/font]
weelee18
Super Reviewer
March 17, 2009
The performances are incredible. The twists and turns are a a blast. Definitely not a film for those who don't like dark comedy, but those with more sick, twisted senses of humor should love it.
Super Reviewer
August 4, 2006
Don't get me wrong, I like the whole "tortured girl without a conscience" concept. But this is a whole bunch of crap. For all the correct reasons.
Super Reviewer
November 8, 2008
This movie is extremely twisted. Normally I like this type of movie, but this one was just bad. Lots of good actors, but it fell short somewhere.
July 13, 2014
This movie has the look and feel of a "better" class B, straight-to-DVD, film. And, it did go to DVD in 6 mos.; after a limited theatre release. It is "better", due to the acting skills of Alec Baldwin and Carrie Ann Moss. The cinematography is also pretty good. The title is a misnomer. This movie has nothing to do with her sexual "first time". When the film opens, high schooler Mini is clearly an experienced, sexual veteran. The lead is Minerva, aka Mini (Nikki Reed). Ms Reed appeared in THIRTEEN; also as a sexy bad girl, as she does here. She was 16 when she performed in THIRTEEN. She was 18 when this movie was made. This movie appears to have been written to capitalize on the limited success of THIRTEEN. And, therefor, also as a vehicle for Ms Reed to star in.

Ms Reed was a co-writer on THIRTEEN. Here she plays virtually the same character. She appears to have intimate, personal knowledge of the life style of a teenage, "bad girl". Ms Reed's acting skills seem to be seriously limited. She has one basic expression thru out this movie.

This is a movie to skip. Baldwin & Moss carry most of the water. But, their efforts aren't enough to justify watching this flic.
May 2, 2013
I'm officially a Carrie Anne Moss fan, she is brilliant in this movie! I shouldn't like this movie, but I do. This movie is too messed up.
½ February 1, 2012
The acting was good and I was laughing through out. Not sure if it was meant to be a comedy or anything but I had a good time watching it.
January 28, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised, it's a fun, brainless, very predictable comedy. Jeff Goldblum is awesome.
July 7, 2011
Shallow, predictable, and more frustrating than entertaining. Not very good in regards to acting, writing, etc. Blah blah blah.
May 29, 2010
My friend brought this over,I'll be honest the choices he brought looked terrible, this looked like the best on since it had the biggest names in it, but I clearly made the wrong choice, This movie fails to take off, it fails to entertain and the lead character is not appealing at all, There was something about this movie that irked me, The story is just plain weird, I turned it of 30 minutes in.
October 17, 2010
A fun joyride that proves that women CAN NOT be trusted. But I will throw in that I was a bit bored at many parts. Baldwin's performance was definatly out there, and I thought he did a great job.

I give it a 75
April 3, 2008
If you liked Cruel Intentions or Very Bad Things, you will love this. Twisted, dark comedy with a great cast.
½ April 23, 2009
Fantastic movie mostly due to Nikki Reed. I am not downplaying the job Alec Baldwin does in this movie, but I am simply praising Nikki Reed and her hotness to carrying this movie! She looks amazing throughout the entire movie and unlike other movies like this, this one actually has a good plot with some twists and turns. Lots of craziness ensues in this one. Overall - I think I might buy this for my collection! Definitely worth watching again (and again)!
½ March 12, 2009
Mini is young, rich and bored. She is constantly coming up with outrageous stunts to pass the time and give her a thrill. How much trouble can one 18 year old girl really cause?
I tend to seek out those B Rate movies that usually don't get a second look. Sometimes It proves to be a huge waste of time, and I end up so bored I want to cry. But once in a rare occasion, I find a winner. This was certainly the case with Mini's First Time. I enjoyed this film immensely. It was a delightfully twisted story.
This film has a very noteworthy cast. Alec Baldwin, who is always top notch and very amusing. Carrie Ann-Moss, one of my new favorites since seeing her in Fido. Even Luke Wilson and Jeff Goldblum come along for the ride. Nikki Reed, who most recently played Rosalie in Twlight, illustrated Mini to a T. She was very deviant and delusive. The kind of girl that makes you love to hate her.
Mini's First Time is a sublime little tale of sex, murder, and blackmail. It is indubitably a movie that needs to be checked out. I noticed few Flixsterites have watched it and most have dubbed it "Not Interested". Please reconsider, you won't be disappointed.
September 4, 2008
dull attempt at black humor, empty predictable story, with almost no clever dialog and two dimensional characters.
February 12, 2007
Not very original. Young girl seduces older man, gets older man to do illegal things, pawns the blame onto him, moves on to greater things while the older man is left insane, broke, incarcerated, or dead. I've seen this before, can't think of specific examples, but it all seems very familiar. I can never stand how the man turns into a sniveling puppet while the young high school girl somehow becomes a criminal mastermind with the coldest heart imaginable and a cool head in every situation to top it off. But this angered me more than usual because Alec Baldwin was the puppet and I hate to see him in a role like this. What is he doing in a DTV film anyway? Carrie-Anne Moss is entertaining as a drunken, pill-addled housewife, though. And, Luke Wilson should never play any kind of law enforcement officer.
½ March 10, 2008
This movie deals with really messed up, weird things, but its really good. Acting is great. Totally bought the chemistry between Baldwin and Reed.
July 13, 2014
This movie has the look and feel of a "better" class B, straight-to-DVD, film. And, it did go to DVD in 6 mos.; after a limited theatre release. It is "better", due to the acting skills of Alec Baldwin and Carrie Ann Moss. The cinematography is also pretty good. The title is a misnomer. This movie has nothing to do with her sexual "first time". When the film opens, high schooler Mini is clearly an experienced, sexual veteran. The lead is Minerva, aka Mini (Nikki Reed). Ms Reed appeared in THIRTEEN; also as a sexy bad girl, as she does here. She was 16 when she performed in THIRTEEN. She was 18 when this movie was made. This movie appears to have been written to capitalize on the limited success of THIRTEEN. And, therefor, also as a vehicle for Ms Reed to star in.

Ms Reed was a co-writer on THIRTEEN. Here she plays virtually the same character. She appears to have intimate, personal knowledge of the life style of a teenage, "bad girl". Ms Reed's acting skills seem to be seriously limited. She has one basic expression thru out this movie.

This is a movie to skip. Baldwin & Moss carry most of the water. But, their efforts aren't enough to justify watching this flic.
Page 1 of 22