Moonrise Kingdom Reviews

Page 2 of 12
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
November 25, 2012
a farce of whimsical philosophical import
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
November 24, 2012
It's like a picturesque, ride down a long countryside road in autumn bursting with wonderful imagery; richly developed characters complimented by an excellent score that quickly brings you into this small in scope, but big on brilliance effort.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Andy Lea
Daily Star
November 21, 2012
Films that can charm kids and adults in equal measure are rare. This is one of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
November 5, 2012
So precise it could be alien, so raw and aching it has to be human. Competes with the best of Anderson. A film to be celebrated.
| Original Score: 4/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
October 23, 2012
This is the best film I've seen so far this year.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
October 21, 2012
With its deadpan dialogue and damaged characters, Moonrise Kingdom casts a unique and charming spell and is surprisingly hopeful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Kofi Outlaw
ScreenRant
October 2, 2012
Moonrise Kingdom remains - for the most part - a gem of a film, and clear indication that Wes Anderson is only getting better with age.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 27, 2012
If you can fully get on Anderson's wavelength you may find this film transportive. I, however, thought it was far too quaint.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Patrick Kolan
Shotgun Critic
September 26, 2012
How Wes Anderson stitches it all together is far beyond the reach of most filmmakers. His approach is artful without pretension, gorgeous and composed without feeling forced, charming and innocent but never trite.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
Moonrise Kingdom is a totally charming and enchanting piece of work from director Wes Anderson, who along with a great cast provide one of the delights of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
September 13, 2012
Moonrise Kingdom is enchanting and warm like fond memories of your first love; but with a self-awareness that sees the hilarity in the eccentrics that abound.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Justin Craig
FoxNews.com
September 10, 2012
Wes Anderson's refreshingly original "Moonrise Kingdom" is an unconventional children's adventure for adults, filled with with striking colors, textures and humor, and teeming with childhood innocence.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
September 10, 2012
...it reminds us of the way we (mis)apprehended the world when we were children, the way we strained to hear the adults in conference, the way we looked for clues in their manner and fastened our attention on ... random or inconsequential details.
Full Review | Original Score: 90/100
September 7, 2012
The reputation of Wes Anderson as one of America's most consistently over-rated directors gets another boost with his latest exercise in stylistic posturing and forced whimsy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
September 4, 2012
The divide between childhood and adolescence as a nature stroll
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
August 30, 2012
So many scenes will leave you with raised eyebrows and a wry smile.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Dominic Corry
Flicks.co.nz
August 30, 2012
The most Wes Anderson-ish film Wes Anderson has ever made, 'Moonrise Kingdom' won't convert any naysayers to the cause, but fans of his work will have a ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Craig Mathieson
The Sunday Age
August 30, 2012
Moonrise Kingdom, which the director wrote with regular collaborator Roman Coppola, feels like his most emotionally honest work since his 1998 breakthrough, Rushmore.
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
August 30, 2012
It's not my favourite Wes Anderson film but I do like it very much.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
August 30, 2012
His singular take on young love on the run from any sort of authority has moments of sheer oddness, but it's all of a piece with his other work and you are either an Anderson fan or you're not.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 12