Movie 43 Reviews

Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
Top Critic
February 4, 2013

Despite all the gross-out humor, the most offensive thing about this is the lazy filmmaking; every shot feels like a first take, and the haphazard editing precludes any comic timing.

Clark Collis
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
February 4, 2013

It is utterly disgusting throughout.

Full Review | Original Score: C+
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
Top Critic
February 4, 2013

As a film critic, I've seen nearly 4,000 movies over the last fifteen years. Right now, I can't think of one worse than Movie 43.

Sheri Linden
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
January 28, 2013

How many directors does it take to screw in a star-studded piece of aggressive stupidity and call it a movie? An even dozen, and there is no punch line.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
Top Critic
January 28, 2013

The line between gross-out humor that's inspired and the kind that's witless is fine indeed, and "Movie 43" obliterates it with poop and movie stars.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Richard Roeper
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic
January 26, 2013

"Movie 43" is the "Citizen Kane" of awful.

Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Richard Brody
New Yorker
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Deadly dull, unfunny, offensive, and stultifyingly clumsy.

Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Movie 43 is a near masterpiece of tastelessness. The anthology of 12 short, interconnected skits elevates the art form of gross-out comedy to a new height.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Stephen Holden
New York Times
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Once you're attuned to the movie's desperation to shock, you begin to have that jaded, ho-hum feeling.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out New York
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

You won't believe how tiresome bad taste has become.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Farrelly and his brother are two of my low-comedy heroes, but Movie 43 is amateur hour.

Peter Howell
Toronto Star
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Your laugh mileage may vary (God forbid), but we can all agree on one thing: this is the biggest waste of talent in cinema history.

Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Joe Leydon
Variety
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Some movies should be reviewed; others should simply be warned about. Movie 43 is now showing at theaters and drive-ins everywhere. Beware.

Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

I see a bright future ahead for this sui generis work, which will be passed around sixth grade classrooms by odd-smelling kids for years to come.

Nathan Rabin
AV Club
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

[A] gauntlet of smutty, profane awfulness ...

Full Review | Original Score: D-
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

If you mashed-up the worst parts of the infamous Howard the Duck, Gigli, Ishtar and every other awful movie I've seen since I started reviewing professionally in 1981, it wouldn't begin to approach the sheer soul-sucking badness of [Movie 43].

Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Alonso Duralde
TheWrap
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

Movie 43 is gross, juvenile, disgusting, scatological, vile, reprehensible and in the worst possible taste. But heaven help me, I laughed.

Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

An awesome array of talent doesn't prevent this witlessly profane anthology of comic shorts from being an utter disaster.

Laremy Legel
Film.com
Top Critic
January 25, 2013

A gaping wound on the side of cinema, a January release that's yearning to be hidden from audiences, the ugly stinking maw of a Hollywood system that thinks you're an idiot.

Full Review | Original Score: F