Mr. & Mrs. Smith Reviews

Page 1 of 28515
Super Reviewer
½ July 22, 2008
If you're curious about the film that broke up the biggest power couple of the nineties, then veer from this film. There may be one or two passionate embraces, but for the most part, this is a dispassionate and contrived film. The two lovebirds play a married couple in this film, though it's debatable about how well their chemistry works onscreen. Between the cluttered script, the lack of comedy, and the banal sex scenes that pile up whenever and wherever, this film faces a plethora of problems. It's trying to be a lot of different things and always seems to fail at what it's trying to be. This can be easily figured by the fact that the script was handled by several dozen people, and that many cooks in the kitchen isn't going to yield a good result. Most of the time it's trying to be a spy thriller, or at least I think that's what it's trying to accomplish with its implausible and invisible villains and over the top shootouts. Most of the time these scenes are underwhelming or simply staged incorrectly. This could be forgiven if there was a sufficient balance of action and comedy. The comedic sidekick to Brad Pitt's character is Vince Vaughan, who doesn't do anything but gibber away in the background and yell at his disembodied mother. Not even the premise seems to be clever, because there barely is one. The married couple take forever to figure out each other's secret, and the audience isn't even aware of it until twenty minutes in. Their squabbling is mostly pretty adolescence except for one huge fight scene that does lend to creative instincts. The ending is one big "screw you" to the audience, as there isn't even a climax to contend with. The only thing ending the film is a running joke, which certainly isn't funny at the very end. It's just sickening to watch something so shoddily put together, and which obviously made a lot of money thanks to people's curiosity about Brangelina.
Super Reviewer
½ August 22, 2008
The two stars' chemistry could possibly be the best of all-time, I guess now since they're really married in real life! But before their holy matrimony, this film brought the two together with bullets and bombs. Mr. & Mrs. Smith's cliched script and attempted humor is shrouded by the unbelievable chemistry of Jolie and Pitt. 4.5/5
Super Reviewer
December 26, 2006
Action
Super Reviewer
½ July 5, 2007
Loads of charisma as Brad and Angelina play assassins ala James Bond who have happened to've married each other. Lots of action shootouts interspersed with quippy dialogue exchanges by the bickering but in love couple. Fun.
Directors Cat
Super Reviewer
December 4, 2011
Mr and Mrs Smith isn't without its faults. The film's entire second half is populated with a lot of explosions that grow slightly boring but the lead roles perform perfectly well together and its enough for it to be an overall enjoyable flick.
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2011
I actually liked, it amused me, gave me action and didn't shy away from the 'all guns blazing' theme, Brad and Angelina are now both top grade actors and I believe they got that reputation from this.
Super Reviewer
½ September 30, 2011
Who doesn't wanna see Angelina Jolie get all hot and fiesty?! It was an enjoyable movie.
Super Reviewer
½ October 22, 2009
This is what happens when you try to combine action and romantic comedy without any idea how. The sense of humor is irritating and the story has no ending, finishing on a completely unsatisfying note. Still, the chemistry between Pitt and Jolie saves it from being a disaster.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
September 3, 2011
Mr. & Mrs. Smith had an interesting premise for a film, but unfortunately the film misses the mark on so many levels. I thought that the idea for the film was terrific, but the film was overall a terrible waste of time. I felt that everyone in this film was wasted, and some talent that was involved in this film was questionable, not that it matters because the film was a waste of time altogether. The only real talented actor here is Brad Pitt, and I felt he really didn't deliver anything great on screen. I'd say that this was one of his worst films. Considering that this was made by the same director who made the stellar Bourne Identity, you'd expect something terrific with this film. But I thought the film was a mess, and the script and acting was terrible. I think it sucks because like I said, the film had potential to be something totally great, but it's a mediocre film going experience that makes you wonder why they made this film in the first place. Yes, at times the film is entertaining, but it doesn't redeem the overall film from its mediocrity. This is a poorly made action film, and one of Doug Liman's worst films. I felt that some performances were so over the top, that I couldn't enjoy the film, and in the end, I felt like I wasted my time with this film. The idea might've been good, but the script, story development, acting and directing were all very sloppy in the long run. The film didn't work, and it overall a stupid film.
Super Reviewer
½ July 21, 2011
Mildy entertaining at best, this Action-Romedy isn't just silly, but largely overplayed. Also doesn't help when there's an excess of generic dialogue and overall lack of charm.
murphmann93
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2008
Great film, Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt set this film alight with their undeniable chemistry. Surprisingly funny also.
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
½ May 12, 2007
i really like this movie, the chemistry is excellent just what you want from a couple playing husband and wife.
Its a very enjoyable sexy, funny, action pack blast of a movie.
Really worth the watch
Super Reviewer
April 20, 2011
Might not make all the sense on the world, buy come on, it's fun. And funny. In a good way. Watching the two leads argue and then kick ass is very entertaining. But it's a far from perfect film.
DreamExtractor
Super Reviewer
½ February 13, 2011
Great action with a weird story plot. The passion and tension between the married couple was great. The abnormal places they fought sometimes were pretty random. Overall the movie was good. B+ I guess.
Super Reviewer
January 21, 2011
Action packed and really funny! B
Super Reviewer
November 19, 2009
I really can't sing this movie's praises enough, it's just about the most interesting way of dealing with an unhappy marriage. It's packed to the brim with amazing action sequences, great comedy and character moments. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are really the only two people that could humanize an assassin husband and wife, but at the same time make them believable. What's really cool about this is that it's so much more than it needed to be. They could have made this a lot more simple and boring, but they made the story and visual style virtually flawless. This goes above and beyond the romantic comedy genre and becomes something extremely unique and lovable. Every time I watch this it just reminds me of how strong the performances and execution are.
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2010
I might say, Mr. and Mrs. Smith is full of cool action, delivers from Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie. Very recommended.
Super Reviewer
½ June 24, 2010
B
Super Reviewer
½ January 13, 2010
Mr. and Mrs. Smith is not at all a great film, but it's just a really fun ride, filled with action and laughs. I cracked up and fell in love with the action, but it's just that I really don't have much more to say!
garyX
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2007
A middle class couple with seemingly the ideal life are unknowingly a pair of highly paid assassins working for rival companies. When the suits heard that they'd got the Brangelina monster on board for this project they probably soiled their jockeys and I'm surprised they even bothered to write a script before wheeling out the money printing machine. With the most popular male and female leads on the planet starring and a concoction of rom-com for the ladies and action for the lads this film was never going to fail financially but complacency could've made it go oh-so wrong in all other departments. Luckily Pitt and Jolie's chemistry actually works really well and their heavily armed bickering provides a fair few laughs. Essentially Kramer vs Kramer with artillery, Mr And Mrs Smith plays out like True Lies if both man and wife were secret agents and while they're at each others' throats it works really well. Inevitably once they kiss and make up it turns into the usual Hollywood mix of schmaltz and ever escalating slo-mo ammo porn but as a whole it's a pretty entertaining piece of undemanding mainstream fluff. Grosse Point Blank did something similar with more wit and subtlety but it's a lot better than Prizzi's Honour.
Page 1 of 28515