My Dog Tulip - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Dog Tulip Reviews

Top Critic
David Jenkins
Time Out
May 3, 2011
Manages to say more about man's relationship with dogs in a single, lush frame than 'Marley and Me' would if it were to run on a loop until the end of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
February 10, 2011
It's an oddity, this film: a wry, wobbly cartoon made expressly for grown-ups, featuring quirky hand-drawn animation and very little dialogue outside the central voiceover.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
February 4, 2011
The scratchy animation, reminiscent of Jules Feiffer's beatnik-era doodles, is a homey complement to Plummer's autumnal narration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
February 3, 2011
A beautifully illustrated love letter to dogs and the people who own them...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
January 7, 2011
A marvelous animated feature, full of quiet joy, honest sorrow, wisdom and a wealth of clinical detail both excremental and reproductive, all rendered in a charming style approximating the dog drawings of James Thurber.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 6, 2011
It is told from and by an adult sensibility that understands loneliness, gratitude and the intense curiosity we feel for other lives, man and beast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
November 18, 2010
Here's a boy-and-his-dog story featuring a very old boy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
November 5, 2010
It's hard not to feel a certain affection for a tale that is so unapologetic about just that: affection.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
October 21, 2010
Words of wisdom keep popping up in My Dog Tulip with gratifying regularity. They're more likely to gratify dog lovers than anyone else, but that's a large group to which I belong...
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
October 21, 2010
My Dog Tulip is as disconcerting and unusual a piece of animation as the 1956 memoir that inspired it, and that is saying a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
October 14, 2010
For the most part, the images undulate. They often appear to be melting. That, or they're streaked or smeared and wholly unruly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
September 30, 2010
Like the best of Disney's animated films down through the years, the Fierlingers' cartoon celebrates its medium and transcends it. There's great storytelling here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
September 2, 2010
Sometimes quiet pleasures -- like having a big dog snoozing at your feet, just within petting reach -- are the best.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Lisa Rosman
Time Out
September 1, 2010
Never saccharine, My Dog Tulip does justice to the rare experience of heartfelt, mutual love in any form.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
September 1, 2010
One of the most sophisticated dog movies ever created.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
September 1, 2010
Dog lovers won't want to miss My Dog Tulip. Adult dog lovers, that is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
August 31, 2010
Transform[s] the seemingly banal relationship between pet and owner into something singular, inimitable, sacred.