• PG-13, 1 hr. 20 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Bob Balaban
    In Theaters:
    Aug 6, 1993 Wide
    On DVD:
    Sep 3, 2002

Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
69% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
91% The Guest Sep 17
83% Tracks Sep 19

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

33% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
61% Red Band Society: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

My Boyfriend's Back Reviews

Mark Caro
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The movie is full of nonsensical plot twists, embarrassingly broad performances and unappealing characters.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 1/4

July 15, 2014
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

An awful teen horror comedy.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times

July 15, 2014
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Simply put, absolutely none of it works. The movie utterly fails to set a foundation for its dark fantasy, effectively turning every character into a moron.

Full Review Source: Seattle Times | Original Score: 1/4

July 15, 2014
Ty Burr
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Boyfriend's Back is obviously aiming for the subversive high school yuks of 1989's Heathers, but the story line never bothers to make sense.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: D

November 6, 2009
Variety Staff
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Napkin-thin pic starts falling apart in the first reel.

Full Review Source: Variety

March 26, 2009
Stephen Holden
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

If My Boyfriend's Back is an irredeemably silly movie, it has an engaging lightness of tone and uniformly impeccable performances by a cast that maintains just the right attitude of deadpan parody.

Full Review Source: New York Times

May 20, 2003
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A gross comedy about a teenage zombie's romance with the prettiest girl in school, it is cheaply made, thoroughly cliched and absolutely guaranteed to turn your stomach.

Full Review Source: Washington Post

January 1, 2000
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As it is, My Boyfriend's Back is as mindless as a movie can get. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but it certainly isn't a heartfelt endorsement.

Full Review Source: ReelViews | Original Score: 2/4

January 1, 2000
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile