• PG-13, 2 hr. 9 min.
  • Drama, Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Garry Marshall
    In Theaters:
    Feb 26, 1999 Wide
    On DVD:
    Apr 17, 2001
  • Buena Vista

Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
48% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
62% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
14% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
79% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

The Other Sister Reviews

Page 1 of 70
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

January 11, 2012
Good acting and even entretaining, but The Other Sister present a strong sentimentalism and an embarrassing way to use the mental problems as a good plot.
Apeneck F

Super Reviewer

September 8, 2007
The puppet strings are readily apparent in this manipulation by Garry Marshall, but the puppets themselves, Lewis and Ribisi, are charming enough to fill the time.
Sajin P

Super Reviewer

January 15, 2011
One of the most pleasant movies made about the mentally retarded people. It had that 'celebration of life' kind of feeling to it. Every time I hear 'Animal Song' this movie just pops into my head. The video of the song was a perfect testimonial to this movie.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

June 20, 2007
How does juliette lewis ever get work?
Michael G

Super Reviewer

April 12, 2007
I saw this a few years ago and remember enjoying it. Unfortunately Giovanni Ribisi did such a convincing job playing a handicapable person (compund this with his performance in The Gift) that I'm now convinced he's retarded. I expect him to go into that mode every time I see him.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

November 7, 2006
Lewis does a wonderful job.
John B

Super Reviewer

February 7, 2012
Horribly annoying.
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

April 28, 2007
Such a sweet movie. I wish I had written it.
Naughtia
Naughtia

Super Reviewer

May 15, 2010
This was a very touching story about a mentally retarded girl who wants to grow up to live a life like any other normal girl. Her mother is very protective and doesn't believe that her daughter can make it on her own but she keeps on proving her wrong. She gets to move to her own apartment, gets a boyfriend and begins going to college against all odds.The actors were great and made this movie very believeable and sweet. I really loved this movie and wouldn't hesitate to watch it again. Superb.
Nicolas K

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2008
Nothing I had not seen before, but still OK.
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

January 20, 2008
A bit overdone but there is some genuine heart to this.
Erin C

Super Reviewer

January 3, 2009
This movie was really cute. It made me sad to see how people treat those who are mentally challenged.
Lee K

Super Reviewer

May 20, 2008
Great acting in this chick flick. I love giovanni ribisi, he is such a talented actor.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

April 16, 2007
Love it!
MyPainYourThrill
May 15, 2010
Oh gosh, I remember my sister used to watch this when I was young but I really enjoyed it. It's so cute and amazing. I haven't seen it in awhile but came across it, so I seriously just had to review it. If you have not seen it, WATCH IT!
June 22, 2006
When screenwriters write films about children or the mentally challenged, the difficulty seems to be the same thing - the "aww" factor takes over. Both end up being mere entertainments for us. This completely dehumanizes them and makes them *characters*, not people. That is the trouble with this movie. The dialogue is too cutesy and saccharine to be taken seriously, and although the main character demands we treat her as a person, the movie fails to see that it isn't treating her like one, either.

I'm not sure whether it makes it better or worse that every character was written like this. They are all clearly there just to serve the script's purpose, not because they actually are characters in and of themselves. Even Diane Keaton, who is a very interesting actress, can't save this film. She's forced to play a character who, from the evidence, is quite possibly bipolar... or at the very least emotionally unstable. She switches emotions faster than [insert punchline here of whatever you want].

This movie is a collection of nonsensical sappy scenes and is at the very least mildly offensive in its refusal to explore Carla's actual personality. Instead it just shows us a bunch of cute "aww" moments that are ineffective if we don't care about the people we're watching. It might possibly rate half a star, but I've decided to be gracious and give it a whole one.
June 25, 2009
okay movie...would never buy it...or ever watch it again...but if i had a time machine, this would not be at the top of my un-watch list.
natalielehigh77
June 8, 2009
A mentally retarded girl proves herself to be every bit as capable as her perfect sister whens he movies into an apartment and begins going to college
ghettoqueen747
November 20, 2008
CUTE MOVIE ABOUT A SPECIAL NEEDS GIRL WHO WANTS TO MAKE HER MOTHER PROUD AND LIVE A NORMAL LIFE. I THINK JULLIETTE LEWIS DID A GREAT JOB. I HAVE WATCHED THIS MANY MANY TIMES.
June 28, 2008
i loved this movie.....everyone can love even mental impaired people.....carla's mother didn't understand what carla needed....she just wanted to keep her sheltered from other people who probably didn't understand and would easily judge because she was different....but carla met and fell in love with another mental impaired person and he loved her too...her mother didn't think that daniel was for carla, but carla knew how she felt about daniel...very good movie....the song, at last was right for this movie......
Page 1 of 70
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile